R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2010, 01:54 PM   #61
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Latest Tekin RS/RS Pro setup sheet:

http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESC...etup-sheet.pdf
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 07:19 PM   #62
Tech Champion
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,236
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalflakeking View Post
Hey, just picked up my first RSpro and love it. Here is a setup I used my first time out. I used a 17.5 motor in a 13.5 sedan class where no one is using electronic timing and got 2 extra laps on everybody in the main.

track:asphalt-rubber tire
grip:medium,sandy
size:80x60
car:tc5
motor:tekin 17.5 redline
motor timing:0
sensored only,Vegas203
FDR:6.21 (87spurx28pinion)
boost:50deg
start:1,425
end:5,997
turbo:10deg
delay:0.1
ramp:3.0
battery:4200 40c thunder power

After a 6 minute main at 87f ambient air temp the motor temerature scaned at 175 degrees. Faster straightaway speeds and same out of the hole as an untimed 13.5, what's not to love? two thumbs up for Tekin.
I agree with Flats about your car being a bit overtimed. I try not to exceed 160F for a long lasting motor.

But, I would also upgrade to V2.08. Motor runs cooler.

Try an older Duo1 motor. If allowed, get a 5000/5200 battery for more voltage towards the end of a run.

Bill
__________________
Constantly evolving CRC WGT and WGT-R/T...Carpet & Asphalt...All thanks to Team CRC.

And a pair of Associated B6 buggies for turf and clay tracks.
Still Bill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 10:11 PM   #63
Tech Adept
 
racegoer711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 154
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What's a good setup to start with on a RS esc with a 17.5 redline motor that must be ran in blinky mode. The track is a carpet with wooden ramps. It is usually a mid speed track with maybe one lone straight to open it up a bit . The truck is a stock 2wd slash . I need a gear ratio too.
racegoer711 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 01:49 AM   #64
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 68
Default

I'm using a Tekin Rs esc for silvercan racing. I have it wired in the 2 wire for forward/reverse but heard it may be better/more power wired in the forward only method,can anyone comment?

I also run 20T brushed.
retro_ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 11:47 PM   #65
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

bit of a thread resurrection here but im kind of in a rutt with my redline 17.5t

I run it in 12th scale stock. open esc.

i met with some success with the following RS settings;
Throttle profile: 3
Timing advance: 100

Boost: 50
Start/Stop RPM: 14xx/7500
Turbo: 10
Delay 0.44-5
Ramp: 2
Rollout: 78-82mm

I tried swapping out to a high torque rotor and the car seems fast for about a minute, then drops off as would expect around the 5 minute mark. I can full throttle every turn and the car is still slower than pretty much everyone.

I might put my stock rotor back in but i have this problem with a my LRP X12 as well.

I tried running ramp 3 for a while. could that have hurt the esc or motor?

should i be running less timing with the torque rotor? and if i go back to the stocker, any suggestions? there is an overwhelming duo presence in our club and all the other cars have realyl hard hitting turbos on the straight, and lots of balls out of corner.. my car is as fast by the end of the straight but just doesn't have the grunt.
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 11:35 AM   #66
Tech Regular
 
racing_jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Spokane
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by valk View Post
bit of a thread resurrection here but im kind of in a rutt with my redline 17.5t

I run it in 12th scale stock. open esc.

i met with some success with the following RS settings;
Throttle profile: 3
Timing advance: 100

Boost: 50
Start/Stop RPM: 14xx/7500
Turbo: 10
Delay 0.44-5
Ramp: 2
Rollout: 78-82mm

I tried swapping out to a high torque rotor and the car seems fast for about a minute, then drops off as would expect around the 5 minute mark. I can full throttle every turn and the car is still slower than pretty much everyone.

I might put my stock rotor back in but i have this problem with a my LRP X12 as well.

I tried running ramp 3 for a while. could that have hurt the esc or motor?

should i be running less timing with the torque rotor? and if i go back to the stocker, any suggestions? there is an overwhelming duo presence in our club and all the other cars have realyl hard hitting turbos on the straight, and lots of balls out of corner.. my car is as fast by the end of the straight but just doesn't have the grunt.

First thing i would make sure there is no timing on the motor and also go back to the stock rotor. Also thats alot of boost for 1s. I would try like 40. Almost sounds like the car starts to dump. Also try running ramp 3 with like 12 ish turbo. Also you should be able to gear up a little bit as well.
Try that and that should get you closer.
Thanks Jason
Thanks Jason
__________________
Thank you to my sponsors-
Team Associated-Reedy-ProLine-B&B Hobbies Racing
racing_jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2012, 04:15 PM   #67
Tech Regular
 
Satish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa. ON
Posts: 496
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Would someone be able to post there 12scale 17.5 with boost setup?

I am having a hard time getting it right.

Running the tekin RS and redline motor

thanks in advance

s
Satish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 09:02 AM   #68
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Looking for help guys


I have a 17.5 redline motor
Tekin rs pro esc
and a hotwire


I am looking for a set up for my car detail:-

T.O.P Sabre FD mini (front wheel drive)
using rubber tyres on carpet, high grip

I have pluged in the esc to the hotwire, but I am getting completely lost as to what settings to start with, this will be my first brushless system and dont really want to damage it


thanks so reading this

Tony
Tony G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 05:09 PM   #69
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 146
Default

Yeah guys

Need a set up for a 17.5 boosted with tekin esc ( for onroad ) any ideas

Cheers
onroad racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 12:23 PM   #70
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SGP
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi everyone,

anyone can share with me a 13.5t open brushless setup for 2013 TITC?
faifaisalfal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 02:21 PM   #71
Tech Master
 
fpart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,967
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to fpart
Default

I apologize but I thought I would ask. I didn't do anything after i last used my RSPro but now it shows me lights 1,2 and 5,6 which is not proper motor type. I redownloaded the firmware and even reburned to an older version but it still occurs. Any thoughts?
__________________
teamTrinity.com Sweepracingusa.com
スクービーは私のヒーローです!
Why is Scooby so slow, you might ask?
fpart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 07:22 PM   #72
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fpart View Post
I apologize but I thought I would ask. I didn't do anything after i last used my RSPro but now it shows me lights 1,2 and 5,6 which is not proper motor type. I redownloaded the firmware and even reburned to an older version but it still occurs. Any thoughts?
Anytime you change firmware, Recalibrate your TX as per directions. You may have to adjust your set ups.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014, 05:24 PM   #73
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 196
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Using the tekin rs with a brushed motor but can't seem to get drag brake to work.
Is it possible?
Atechbh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:50 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net