R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2009, 10:11 AM   #46
Tech Addict
 
Jackster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 646
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

For those of you who don't know:
http://www.teamtekin.com/hotwire/ESCsetups/index.html
Jackster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 04:29 PM   #47
Tech Fanatic
 
blackdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario Canada
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Thumbs up In need of 21.5 vta set up with Tekin v203 software

Hi
I just downloaded the new software and Im kinda lost. I'm am looking for a base setting .car is a TC5, reedy lipo (5000) 35c with 21.5 novak and Im running vta in St.Catherines Ontario (Niagara indoor ) .Im not sure of the track size but it is a a far size track that changes every weekend.

I have set all base setting to what I had previously
Im going to use the 203 version ???
End RPM I set to 4000 and start RPM to 13000 I have no clue if this would be ok or not
Turbo ramp is at 2

LMK
Thanks in advance
Matt
blackdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 04:41 PM   #48
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

high end rpm will stretch the range if you need more you can lower it until you find what your looking for,it is something you need to play with.like Jim,randy and others have said start with timing boost to find your acceleration and then add turbo on the straight.what motor are you using.
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 04:49 PM   #49
Tech Fanatic
 
blackdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hamilton Ontario Canada
Posts: 755
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

A novak 21.5 SS pro with rs tekin
blackdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 05:49 PM   #50
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackdog View Post
Hi
I just downloaded the new software and Im kinda lost. I'm am looking for a base setting .car is a TC5, reedy lipo (5000) 35c with 21.5 novak and Im running vta in St.Catherines Ontario (Niagara indoor ) .Im not sure of the track size but it is a a far size track that changes every weekend.

I have set all base setting to what I had previously
Im going to use the 203 version ???
End RPM I set to 4000 and start RPM to 13000 I have no clue if this would be ok or not
Turbo ramp is at 2

LMK
Thanks in advance
Matt
See your other post on the RS Sensored thread. You have the Start and End RPM's reversed here. The Start should be 4000 and End 13000. As listed in your question, your Timing Boost would literally be over with before it got started.

Aaron
__________________
Dude, Go RRReally FFFast - When something gets in your way - Turrrnn
VRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 09:21 PM   #51
Tech Master
 
rcman1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,005
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I need a setup for a off road 2wd buggy on carpet with a team epic 17.5 motor, it's the newest one. Need something with speed and punch. It's on a smaller track I guess you could say. I'm using the 203 software. Thanks for any help in advance
__________________
X-Factory X-6 Squared w/17.5 Duo 2, Tekin RS Pro, 3PK
AE, X-Factory, Tekin, Trinity, Futaba, Proline, JConcepts, Team Orion
AMS Raceway, Larrys RC
rcman1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 11:39 AM   #52
Tech Adept
 
Way2Evl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: N. California
Posts: 154
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Any updates? Lets keep this thread alive.
__________________
X-Ray T3|Tekin|KO Propo|Spektrum|Thunder Power|Hyperion|Sorex
www.speedworldraceway.com
Way2Evl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 10:32 PM   #53
Tech Adept
 
metalflakeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey, just picked up my first RSpro and love it. Here is a setup I used my first time out. I used a 17.5 motor in a 13.5 sedan class where no one is using electronic timing and got 2 extra laps on everybody in the main.

track:asphalt-rubber tire
grip:medium,sandy
size:80x60
car:tc5
motor:tekin 17.5 redline
motor timing:0
sensored only,Vegas203
FDR:6.21 (87spurx28pinion)
boost:50deg
start:1,425
end:5,997
turbo:10deg
delay:0.1
ramp:3.0
battery:4200 40c thunder power

After a 6 minute main at 87f ambient air temp the motor temerature scaned at 175 degrees. Faster straightaway speeds and same out of the hole as an untimed 13.5, what's not to love? two thumbs up for Tekin.
__________________
MAX SPEED
metalflakeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 04:35 PM   #54
Tech Fanatic
 
flatspunout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere between raising hell and Amazing Grace
Posts: 759
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalflakeking View Post
Hey, just picked up my first RSpro and love it. Here is a setup I used my first time out. I used a 17.5 motor in a 13.5 sedan class where no one is using electronic timing and got 2 extra laps on everybody in the main.

track:asphalt-rubber tire
grip:medium,sandy
size:80x60
car:tc5
motor:tekin 17.5 redline
motor timing:0
sensored only,Vegas203
FDR:6.21 (87spurx28pinion)
boost:50deg
start:1,425
end:5,997
turbo:10deg
delay:0.1
ramp:3.0
battery:4200 40c thunder power

After a 6 minute main at 87f ambient air temp the motor temerature scaned at 175 degrees. Faster straightaway speeds and same out of the hole as an untimed 13.5, what's not to love? two thumbs up for Tekin.
I think you are overtimed...50 timing boost over that short of an rpm range is way too much. 1500 +/- start rpm is fine for pan car, but in TC you should probably be closer to 5k for start or else you are always in the boost. Try 5-15K with everything else the same and I'll bet dimes to dollars your temps will drop with no performance loss.

-rocky b
flatspunout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 05:23 PM   #55
Tech Adept
 
metalflakeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 140
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the suggestion. I am going to try it next time out. I have a feeling I will be playing with the Hotwire alot just to see what changes do what.
__________________
MAX SPEED
metalflakeking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 05:28 PM   #56
Tech Elite
 
cyclone x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gaithersburg MD
Posts: 2,547
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

track:asphalt-rubber tire
grip:high
size:100x55
car:xray t3
motor:tekin 10.5 redline
motor timing:0
sensored only,Vegas203
boost:35deg
start:3300
end:13000
turbo:8deg
delay:0.1
ramp:3.0
battery:5200 40c SMC
__________________
Chase Chandler
Sponsors:HOTBODIES Express .The Track. Stevo Racing
Cars: VE8, F104 PRO, B4.1, HPI BLITZ, Losi SCTE
cyclone x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 05:33 PM   #57
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 275
Default

how can anyone have let this thread die? tekin rs thread is still choked full.

+1 for this thread existing and +1 for being revived
benben10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 02:23 PM   #58
Tech Adept
 
Way2Evl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: N. California
Posts: 154
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metalflakeking View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. I am going to try it next time out. I have a feeling I will be playing with the Hotwire alot just to see what changes do what.

Please keep us updated. Interested to know the results .
__________________
X-Ray T3|Tekin|KO Propo|Spektrum|Thunder Power|Hyperion|Sorex
www.speedworldraceway.com
Way2Evl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 04:50 PM   #59
Tech Adept
 
Way2Evl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: N. California
Posts: 154
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Is drag brake bad for a 17.5t setup. I was on the Tekin site and I saw that a pro was using 20 drag brake on his setup. But most at local track say drag brake is bad for 17.5 because the motor isn't that fast and you should harly ever need it. They say it will just slow you down in the corners on a technical track that we run on. What are your thoughts?
__________________
X-Ray T3|Tekin|KO Propo|Spektrum|Thunder Power|Hyperion|Sorex
www.speedworldraceway.com
Way2Evl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2010, 05:10 PM   #60
Tech Regular
 
Micro-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 329
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Way2Evl View Post
Is drag brake bad for a 17.5t setup. I was on the Tekin site and I saw that a pro was using 20 drag brake on his setup. But most at local track say drag brake is bad for 17.5 because the motor isn't that fast and you should harly ever need it. They say it will just slow you down in the corners on a technical track that we run on. What are your thoughts?
17.5 w/ Tekin RS not fast?!? hmmm. I tried with different levels of DB and without, and I settled on 15. Got my best laptimes to date...

YMMV
__________________
- Erik
Micro-E is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net