Like Tree9Likes

3racing F109

Old 10-29-2010, 07:28 PM
  #1336  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
FrankB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

FYI

I have a F109 for sale with extras. Used once.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...ml#post8141127
FrankB is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 01:38 AM
  #1337  
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 169
Default

Another race behind us, 17 racers involved, finished 2nd. Winner is again that Honda. This track was bigger, I lacked a bit of speed with 2s and 10,5T
Handling was absolutelly OK. What makes me angry is, since you have to have 5mm ground clearance, you barelly use your tires and they are useless. So I decided to make pancar wheels adapters and use WGT wheels. They'll last more than 2 races and there's better availiability of them either.

track
http://www.masters.cz/gallery/2010/x...010/topimg.jpg
group photo of F1 cars
http://www.masters.cz/gallery/2010/x...0/P1020103.jpg
some low quality video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFhfQ...yer_embedded#!
Acid_CZ is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 06:38 AM
  #1338  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,161
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Tracks usually let the pancars (f1 would be considered this) run a lower ground clearance than the touring cars (think my track is 3 or 4 mm).

Is there a specific reason why you guys need to run 5mm?

Last edited by j.d.roost; 10-31-2010 at 06:50 AM.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 07:39 AM
  #1339  
Tech Master
iTrader: (65)
 
GMS_Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Palm Harbor
Posts: 1,700
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Default

I remember reading somewhere that theres a aftermarket diff that makes it so its not on the same nut as the tire..anyone know where i can find this?? thanks..bout to pick one up and other mods i need??
GMS_Racing is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 07:41 AM
  #1340  
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 169
Default

Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
Is there a specific reason why you guys need to run 5mm?
It is because of carpet ripping caused by protruding loose screws. Organisers are quite strict about this.

Originally Posted by GMS_Racing View Post
I remember reading somewhere that theres a aftermarket diff that makes it so its not on the same nut as the tire..anyone know where i can find this?? thanks..bout to pick one up and other mods i need??
http://os.3racing.hk/products.php?products_key=4097
i think just shorten the axle, or get F104 one
Acid_CZ is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 07:50 AM
  #1341  
Tech Adept
 
monkeyracing.cz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brno, Czech Rep.
Posts: 214
Default

Originally Posted by Acid_CZ View Post
Another race behind us, 17 racers involved, finished 2nd. Winner is again that Honda. This track was bigger, I lacked a bit of speed with 2s and 10,5T ...
Really nice fight at the end of final round! I can see track is quite bigger then in Brno last year.
What motor was in winning car?
monkeyracing.cz is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 08:10 AM
  #1342  
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 169
Default

Not just this round, all of them
Second ended up with 0,07s gap between me and Petr. He run Novak 10,5T and Novak speedo (GTB I think)
Acid_CZ is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 12:28 AM
  #1343  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 24
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post Rubber Tires

Can anyone tell me what diamater the F-104 rubber tires are??

Am trying to work out a good roll out for a Silvercan powered F109 with the Tamiya F104 tires... or at least the Ride tires that InZane was using in his setups he posted. Am not sure what tires Inzane was using and do they just "bolt onto" the standard F109 without any mods?

Any help would be great. Thanks guys.
McLarenFan is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 03:55 AM
  #1344  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
InZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 267
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Rides are 62mm and Tamiya F104 rubbers are 64 if I remember correctly.
InZane is offline  
Old 11-03-2010, 05:14 AM
  #1345  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,161
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by McLarenFan View Post
Can anyone tell me what diamater the F-104 rubber tires are??

Am trying to work out a good roll out for a Silvercan powered F109 with the Tamiya F104 tires... or at least the Ride tires that InZane was using in his setups he posted. Am not sure what tires Inzane was using and do they just "bolt onto" the standard F109 without any mods?

Any help would be great. Thanks guys.
Outdoors on a flowing track we were running 48-53mm rollout. (silvercan)

Indoor carpet on a grippy tight layout I can only push about 47mm without
running into overheating/com. movement.

We are running trg or ride 103 rubber on our 109's.(outdoor)
Stock 109 or 103 foam indoors/outdoors.

Just want to put it out there that the stock 109 foam works GREAT on indoor carpet with a little Jack the gripper.We just need to run some ca on the front sidewalls to calm down the car.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 12:39 AM
  #1346  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 24
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post

Thanks so much for the quick feedback on the tires , but i still have a few more questions.

With the Ride 103 tires , what compound is what?? All i have found at rcmart is a Type A , Type B and a Type S compound, but i am not sure what that means. ( Hard , Medium and soft perhaps?? )

I am using the TRG tires at the moment but have found they are a bit fragile so want to try the Ride F014 Mediums that Inzane used in his Sweedish F1cup setup , but do i have to modify anything on my stock f109 to make them fit??? i saw before i might need differnt size bearings in the front to make it work, is that true???

Sorry if these seem like silly questions , i just dont want to buy the wrong things again , i've done that way to much before with my touring car, haha.
McLarenFan is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:04 AM
  #1347  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,161
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Trg-103 rims/tires will bolt right on 109.
Watch out for the trg superion tires as they are VERY soft and really only good for a qual round when the track is loose.

Front f104 bearings are 5x10mm so if the Ride rims are true 104 wheels you would need 4 of them,

I would not bother with the soft fronts (waaay to soft for the front of an f1 car).
You might want to look around for different inserts too as they make a major difference in the way the rubber tires work
(Some of us have been cutting out old tc inserts and gluing them together).

The trg inserts come split and need to be glued together but because the foam is so soft it's hard to glue them without being able to feel the glue line through the tire.
I prefer the one piece Ride inserts.

If I remember correctly Ride B's are med.Not sure on A and S.
Inzane should know.

Last edited by j.d.roost; 11-04-2010 at 07:43 AM.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:21 AM
  #1348  
Tech Rookie
 
airband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cricklade UK
Posts: 4
Default 48P Spurs

This is probably listed earlier but as it would take about 3 years to read all the F109 posts, I'll save you the grief.
RW Racing Scythe spur gears have 8 x 1/8th ball holes at exactly the same diameter as the kit gear. We use 48s but I imagine the 64s are identical.
The 82 tooth version requires a tiny amount of chassis relief. Anything less pops straight on.
Hope this helps.
Nick S
PS A big thank you to regular contributors. Your experience and knowledge has been a source of inspiration.
airband is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 06:14 PM
  #1349  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default

I have an F109, I put f104 rubber tires and rims on it. Now the ride height is 9 mm in the front. How can I get it down to 4 or 5 mm? Is there an easy solution? There's no way to shim it. We have to run rubber tires at the carpet track I race on. If the front king pin longer, I could put a shim under the steering block. What other car runs that size king pin? Does f103 make an optional front end? I know that tamiya makes shims for their front end.
Thanks, Floyd.
floyd is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 07:15 PM
  #1350  
Tech Master
iTrader: (25)
 
timmig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trabuco Canyon-- in the Pines!!
Posts: 1,769
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by floyd View Post
I have an F109, I put f104 rubber tires and rims on it. Now the ride height is 9 mm in the front. How can I get it down to 4 or 5 mm? Is there an easy solution? There's no way to shim it. We have to run rubber tires at the carpet track I race on. If the front king pin longer, I could put a shim under the steering block. What other car runs that size king pin? Does f103 make an optional front end? I know that tamiya makes shims for their front end.
Thanks, Floyd.
Change the tires to the F 103 wheels and Ride rubber tires!! Their MUCH closer to the correct size!!! F 104 tires are taller!!
FYI
T
timmig is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.