Like Tree9Likes

3racing F109

Old 10-21-2010, 07:35 AM
  #1321  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N. Ireland, UK
Posts: 49
Default

I managed to break one of the small circlips on the front bulkhead - the 2.6mm ones. It's an odd size, so does anyone know of a suitable replacement?
colmo is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:35 AM
  #1322  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
j.d.roost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3,165
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

I usually squeeze down a larger e clip to size in a jam.
Should hold you over for a bit.
j.d.roost is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 08:42 AM
  #1323  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: N. Ireland, UK
Posts: 49
Default

Originally Posted by j.d.roost View Post
I usually squeeze down a larger e clip to size in a jam.
Should hold you over for a bit.
Cheers for the tip.

Has anyone tried tapping a grub screw into the suspension arms to hold the hinge pins, either perpendicular to the pins, or from the end, cutting down the pins in the process? I can't say I'm a fan of circlips...
colmo is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 03:56 PM
  #1324  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: santa monica / manchester
Posts: 1,375
Default

Has anyone fitted and raced the carbon chassis upgrade? If so how does it affect the handling?
Qatmix is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 12:50 PM
  #1325  
Tech Apprentice
 
Leroifittipalde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 54
Default

Originally Posted by colmo View Post
Cheers for the tip.

Has anyone tried tapping a grub screw into the suspension arms to hold the hinge pins, either perpendicular to the pins, or from the end, cutting down the pins in the process? I can't say I'm a fan of circlips...
Haven't tried this on my 109 but I have used grub screws to secure the pins on my ABC Genetic. Drilled some small holes in the bottom shock tower. Mainly did it to get rid of slop but it holds pretty well. I don't know how well it will work on 109 as the arms are pretty thin I think...don't have my car in front of me. Maybe grub screws @ the ends on shorter pins will work.
Leroifittipalde is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 01:41 PM
  #1326  
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 169
Default

Well, first race with my F109 today.
Not bad, started with 13,5T Turnigy brushless + 2S Lipo, qualified 3rd, but wasnt happy with the speed, so I switched for my LRP 10,5T. Since this motor is not used in stock class anymore here, I planned to use it anyway. Speed was OK then, just had to be carefull with the trigger in technical part.
Finished 3rd, lost 3rd (last) final run when fighting for 2nd (also overall), my servo died after not so big race contact, will have to inspect it.
I had 2 problems today, first, e-clip on king pin came off. Luckily, I had set screws in knuckle arm shafts installed, so nothing bad happened. I plan to make king pins with threads at its ends, so e-clips will be replaced with nuts. Second problem was loose screw holding swing ball. Dont forget to apply thread lock here, access is really bad, once you have all your electronic stuff installed.

I am very happy with this car. Running box tyres (CA'd outer sides of front wheels, tyre aditive on rears), I was able to beat Corally cars
Attached Thumbnails 3racing F109-img_07170_.jpg  
Acid_CZ is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 11:23 PM
  #1327  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Acid_CZ View Post

I am very happy with this car. Running box tyres (CA'd outer sides of front wheels, tyre aditive on rears), I was able to beat Corally cars

Nice!

Corally's has which one speedo/engine/battery?

;-)
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 11:30 PM
  #1328  
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 169
Default

10,5T LRP (X11, X12), 2S lipo + some LRP speedo

BTW, winner (that Honda behind my car) is F109 also, LRP 10,5T X11, 2S lipo, LRP Speedo, box tires. Dont know exact versions of accu or speedo.
Acid_CZ is offline  
Old 10-23-2010, 11:37 PM
  #1329  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Acid_CZ View Post
10,5T LRP (X11, X12), 2S lipo + some LRP speedo

BTW, winner (that Honda behind my car) is F109 also, LRP 10,5T X11, 2S lipo, LRP Speedo, box tires. Dont know exact versions of accu or speedo.
Highly over powered cars ...

Do you have some movie?

I had also F109 but I sell it, and build my own F1 and for me is better
on 13.5T or 10.5T/1S/GM75.

Regards and good luck!
m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 12:29 AM
  #1330  
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 169
Default

A bit I think if I had "slower" speedo than SP GT2 LPF, it would be fine. Or proper 13,5T motor, that Turnigy is not good, slow starts and 90C after run, 10,5T with almost same gear ratio (78 (13,5T) -> 81T (10,5T) spur gear, 15T pinion) is only 44C.
But since motor is unlimited, Ill stick with 10,5T as long as others do.

Maybe someone will post it on organizers forum, I dont have any video or race photos.

Last edited by Acid_CZ; 10-24-2010 at 10:24 AM.
Acid_CZ is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 09:11 AM
  #1331  
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 169
Default

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lxJQjwwPMEI
Acid_CZ is offline  
Old 10-24-2010, 06:59 PM
  #1332  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 81
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trackster View Post
Hey guys. I just bought F104 wheels/tyres because it's the better front tyre at local track, but when I put the wheels on and tighten up the lock nut the wheel then locks. What do you need to do to run F104 wheels on F109 front?
Guys, just figured out how to run F104 tyres on my stock F109 without changing front arms (although the front wheels will stick out more than rears which is want I want anyway).

All you need are the two bearings that fit into F104 wheels. Put one of these bearings onto the F109 front axle, then the other bearing into the rear of the F104 wheel. Now grab a smaller bearing that fits right into the front of the F104 wheel, then tighten with any nut (flanged or non-flanged). I just tried it now and works a treat. Will report back to see how it goes on the track.
reconrc is offline  
Old 10-25-2010, 02:09 AM
  #1333  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, West Australia
Posts: 471
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by reconrc View Post
Guys, just figured out how to run F104 tyres on my stock F109 without changing front arms (although the front wheels will stick out more than rears which is want I want anyway).

All you need are the two bearings that fit into F104 wheels. Put one of these bearings onto the F109 front axle, then the other bearing into the rear of the F104 wheel. Now grab a smaller bearing that fits right into the front of the F104 wheel, then tighten with any nut (flanged or non-flanged). I just tried it now and works a treat. Will report back to see how it goes on the track.
F109 uses F103 rims, which require 5x8mm bearings on the inside and outside of the rim (5mm internal diameter and 8mm external diameter).

F104 rims require 5x10mm bearings on the inside and outside of the rim.... hence you are perfectly correct, with the right bearings, you can use whatever wheels you wish.
LordAnubis is offline  
Old 10-27-2010, 01:51 AM
  #1334  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 24
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post Cooling for F109

I have a question for all those running a silvercan in their F109. I have seen a posting saying " with cooling people are running this roll out with a silvercan motor" , but there is not a lot of space in the rear pod to put a fan.

Has anyone tried running a fan to cool the motor and where would be the best place for it. I was looking at putting a spacer or two on the rear wing attachment and try sliding a fan up by the rear axle to blow air directly onto the motor.

Just wanted to know if anyone has tried mounting a fan (or two) and where did you mount them?
McLarenFan is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:42 PM
  #1335  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Perth, West Australia
Posts: 471
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rcmart.com/catalog/rc-f10...t-p-31154.html

There you go for a look at how some people run fans. That's an F104 motor mount though, so don't go buying that exact item for your f109
LordAnubis is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.