Like Tree9Likes

3racing F109

Old 02-11-2010, 07:42 PM
  #676  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,040
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robk View Post
As far as the front end lower arms shifting, I think I have a solution that might work. The problem looks like the 2 slots that run parallel to the 2 front end 4mm screws. I drilled the ends of the slots for a 3mm grub screw, and then tapped and installed like a 5mm long grub screw. This should lock down the front end by pinning the ends of the slots. It seems much more solid now, but I will have to track test it. Will post pics later.
robk is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:24 PM
  #677  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Is it me or is putting a silvercan/w stock wires(outta the box) into the rear pod a PITA.
Had to take the top plate offand bend the tabs a little.
GasGod is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 11:15 PM
  #678  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (15)
 
Greg Sharpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ...jumping stuff
Posts: 3,261
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GasGod View Post
Is it me or is putting a silvercan/w stock wires(outta the box) into the rear pod a PITA.
Had to take the top plate offand bend the tabs a little.
Yeah, when we assembled Papo's car in that mad rush to make the main, disassembling the pod put us back a couple minutes.
Greg Sharpe is offline  
Old 02-13-2010, 03:27 AM
  #679  
Tech Regular
 
Dan415ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Stonehaven, Scotland
Posts: 386
Default

Guys,

I have 6 F1-09's here, myself and a colleague are building them for an event we're doing in April in a shopping centre.

We are using 540 type motors and wonder if anyone can advise what size pinion (64DP as using kit spur gear) to use? I know we're probably limited by the space available when the motor is furthest away on the mount from the spur.

Any advice welcome.

Thanks,

Dan
Dan415ms is offline  
Old 02-13-2010, 08:11 AM
  #680  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Andy p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: north east UK
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Dan

I use silver can motors what the club limits us too ! i run 48 dp i use a 75 spur and around a 18 pinion give or take a few teeth depending on the track this gives me a final ratio of 4.17 . if you look on the back of the instrctions it tells you 98 spur (kit) and 23 pinion witch works out at 4.26 final ratio ! I wouldnt say you will be far out with what it tells you
Andy p is offline  
Old 02-13-2010, 09:51 PM
  #681  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
GasGod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tween a Rock & a Hard Place in Pa.
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Is there a known issue with the stock uprights ?
I broke 2 one with a slight brush of a pipe and another with a light hit.It seems they are made of plastic rather than a nylon composit like the t-brand.
Another racer also broke one with a light hit,the kits were both from the same batch so it may just be a random thing but all 3 broke exactly in the same place and in the same pattern of shearing-- weird.Another small PITA is the rear pod motor acsess and the spur hitting the rear link when trying to pull out the axle.
Other than that I love the performance/price point.Very smooth and predictable;we race silvercan.
GasGod is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 09:37 AM
  #682  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,040
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I just use tamiyas
robk is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 09:50 PM
  #683  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
PAPOSWING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,953
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default front rideheight

Does anyone have any idea what can be done to the f109 to adjust the front rideheight?
PAPOSWING is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 10:35 PM
  #684  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PAPOSWING View Post
Does anyone have any idea what can be done to the f109 to adjust the front rideheight?
spacers between the arm and the spring

it makes the front springs arder though

or cut your tyres down
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 04:57 AM
  #685  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (33)
 
HaraR40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bunbury WA
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robk View Post
TRG front end

Is this an option you can buy. looks cool
HaraR40 is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:02 AM
  #686  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 782
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by HaraR40 View Post
Is this an option you can buy. looks cool
How much (why so expensive) and where ?



m.
M.Abramowicz is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 01:30 PM
  #687  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,040
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rc-trg.com/
robk is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 01:32 PM
  #688  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 8,040
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PAPOSWING View Post
Does anyone have any idea what can be done to the f109 to adjust the front rideheight?
You can remove about 2mm of material from the bottoms of the steering knuckles, and use a spacer on top of the knuckle to run smaller tires. That's about it, short of custom milling.
robk is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 08:28 PM
  #689  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
PAPOSWING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,953
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by robk View Post
You can remove about 2mm of material from the bottoms of the steering knuckles, and use a spacer on top of the knuckle to run smaller tires. That's about it, short of custom milling.
THANKS!!
PAPOSWING is offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 01:44 PM
  #690  
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: CHRISTCHURCH, NewZealand
Posts: 1,339
Default

For anyone interested I have managed to fit the F60 body onto my F109 and will take pics once completed..hopefully later today..10.30am here in NewZealand...front and rear wing lined up perfectly and lucky they give you the extra pods if you need extra electronic room as F104 much narrower at the back and you need to place rear body posts in more ontop of the battery top plate but easy stuff really and then you cut off the old post holders as they get in the way of the body on the sides and I even managed to squeeze in my Havoc speed controller which isnt small so smaller electronics will be even easier..well worth it as way cooler than the factory body
malcnz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.