Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Intermitent Motor Problem! HELP! >

Intermitent Motor Problem! HELP!

Intermitent Motor Problem! HELP!

Old 01-20-2004, 08:37 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 11
Default Intermitent Motor Problem! HELP!

TC3--with Super rooster and 10T motor:

Motor runs, but after I stop/brake, it fails to start again. However, if I turn the rear wheels, the motor will then start.

Radio system seems to be okay as the steering servo works all the time. ANd once the motor is running, the throttle works (goes slow/fast) and can even reverse.

But then if I stop completely, the motor fails to go again, until I turn the wheels by hand. When the motor is stopped, it makes no noise even though the throttle is engaged.

ANy advice is GREATLY appreciated!
Kailolo is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 08:41 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

Sounds like there may be a problem with the motor. I had a similar problem and discovered that if the winds aren't properly soldered to the armature, you have intermittent operation. Furthermore, improper assembly of the motor requires a physical movement of the arm to get the motor to start, hence moving the wheels by hand. My advise is to return the motor for another or repair the one you have now by sending it back to the manufacturer.
Neil Rabara is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 08:55 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,074
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Neil Rabara
Sounds like there may be a problem with the motor. I had a similar problem and discovered that if the winds aren't properly soldered to the armature, you have intermittent operation. Furthermore, improper assembly of the motor requires a physical movement of the arm to get the motor to start, hence moving the wheels by hand. My advise is to return the motor for another or repair the one you have now by sending it back to the manufacturer.
Good advice. But I might add ,, checking the brushes.. to make sure there not haning up in the hoods.. and also if you run a 10t motor too long with out maint.. youll casuse damage to it.. and make sure you speedo..is able to handle the the turn motor your running or it will over heat and keep shutting off .. just a thought...
mb racer is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 09:08 PM
  #4  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 11
Default IS Sparking Normal?

I should mention that when braking, the motor sparks inside, as seen through the openings for the brushes.

I can't recall my stock or 19T motors on my T3 trucks ever sparking, but then they never ran as fast as this TC3!!

So is sparking normal for these lower turn motors?
Kailolo is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 10:29 PM
  #5  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,534
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

its normal
the 10 turn motor is turning way faster than the stock motors, takes more power to get the motor to stop!
disaster999 is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 10:58 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
fatdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD USA
Posts: 3,642
Default

Hung brush - cut the comm and replace the brushes and it should fix the problem. 10t's require alot more maintance then stock motors. If you get a hung brush, don't stay on power, if you do you could cook your motor. Sparking to a certain degree is normal for all motors, stock and mod.
fatdoggy is offline  
Old 01-21-2004, 10:21 PM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (15)
 
Still Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 7,378
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Motor stops

Visually check what you can see of all three wire windings from the commutator to the winds and back again. Sounds like one is broken or disconnected so one pole of three on the armature is dead.
Still Bill is offline  
Old 01-22-2004, 07:24 AM
  #8  
rko
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
rko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 145
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default springs

try checking the springs too. i had an identical problem the other day. The springs have lost their tension and could not press the brushes against the comm.Changing the brushes works for a while, due to the length of the new brushes. but found that i need to change the brushes again before i fully utilise the life of the brushes.hope this helps
rko is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.