Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Rotor magnet test I-Gauss or others >

Rotor magnet test I-Gauss or others

Rotor magnet test I-Gauss or others

Old 08-04-2009, 05:17 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R1wurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Rotor magnet test I-Gauss or others

Anyone have Gauss meter numbers on any brushless Rotors ?

Please post numbers & indicate if you tested it new or used.


Thanks in advance.
R1wurks is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 07:31 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
MOTHER FOCAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 320
Default

novak rotor numbers are worthless if not metered after they have had a couple runs on them...

any novak rotor over 1300 is good

team epic rotors will all meter out very close to the same 1280 range


get any of them over 200 and they fade
MOTHER FOCAR is offline  
Old 08-04-2009, 11:52 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
R1wurks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 297
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info.

im hoping others can share their readings too.
R1wurks is offline  
Old 08-12-2009, 01:39 PM
  #4  
Gravity RC
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wi
Posts: 1,147
Default

The I Gauss definately does what it says. you will tell a defference between a weak and strong magnet on the track. I think that it is a good idea to check magnets especially after you get a motor hot, 175 and over. I just got my I gauss and it does a really good job. others also work but arent as user friendly in my opinion.
Paul L is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 02:09 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
rosko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,085
Default

i have a trinity duo 10.5 that reads 1330 and a novak 10.5 that reads close to 1400
rosko is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 07:43 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,556
Default

Pardon me, what is a Gauss meter?
dameetz is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 08:59 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
rosko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,085
Default

gives you a reading of the stength of the rotors magnet
rosko is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 03:49 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
nitrobeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Colonia, NJ
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Is the magnet stronger for lower or higher turn motors? Does it matter?
nitrobeast is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 07:25 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (97)
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: WEST COAST
Posts: 640
Trader Rating: 97 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rosko View Post
i have a trinity duo 10.5 that reads 1330 and a novak 10.5 that reads close to 1400
no such thing as 1400 gauss novak rotor ,sorry..
koz47 is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 11:46 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by koz47 View Post
no such thing as 1400 gauss novak rotor ,sorry..
Its prolly just a different reading using a different checker. As long as you use the same checker to compare all your rotors the info is worth something.

Also... Low turn motors have much stronger magnets. On my checker Spec motors are around the 1300 area where as modifieds are almost 1700. And just to make you aware, a strong magnet in a spec motor is not always faster. There is a reason those magnets are weaker.
Dragonfire is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 04:40 AM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
PartTime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sterling hts MI
Posts: 1,029
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
just to make you aware, a strong magnet in a spec motor is not always faster. There is a reason those magnets are weaker.
And what would that reason be ?

DK
PartTime is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 05:11 AM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 712
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by PartTime View Post
And what would that reason be ?

DK
Total guess on my part but would it be that a weaker magnet allows them to spool up faster and maybe produce a little more umph...
adam lancia is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 09:25 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
HarryN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 2,009
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by adam lancia View Post
Total guess on my part but would it be that a weaker magnet allows them to spool up faster and maybe produce a little more umph...
I think the UMPH is from stronger magnets. Stronger magnets will yield better low end. A more weaker magnet will yield more top end.

I think this is correct.
HarryN is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 09:56 AM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,267
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

You generally can't compare numbers between brands because of where the magnet is on the rotor, and how it's positioned in relation to the piece in the unit that measures its magnetic field. Use it to compare your rotors of the same brand, though, to see which ones are the best, and which are fading.

In my experience, a strong rotor will run cool, have good power down low, and good top speed. You'll need to gear it appropriately, a stronger rotor will need more gear than a weak one.

A weak rotor generally won't have as much punch, will still be pretty fast on top, won't need as much gear, and will be prone to running hot.

I think these meters are a good tool to have an idea of where your rotors are at, and to weed out the bad ones, but I wouldn't bother using them to try and get a magical rotor. Leave that to the slow oval guys grasping at anything they can to get faster.
syndr0me is offline  
Old 05-31-2010, 07:58 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (80)
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,082
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

anyone try using one of these on novak ballistic rotors? I'm not sure if the ballistic rotors are the same as older novak motors, but the ballistic ones are too long. You can't set them all the way down on the meter.
pakk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.