R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2004, 07:39 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
racingcivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: memphis
Posts: 117
got problem???

i am using a monster stock motor and all of a sudden my car seemed to be going very slow, then it needed to be pushed so the motor would start turning and now the motor won't turn at all.
anyone have any ideas? any help would be appreciated.
thanks
racingcivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 07:46 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ChrisP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shelby Twp, MI
Posts: 2,047
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Have you checked the brushes and comm? Are they just worn and glazed?

Might be time for a comm-cut and a fresh set of brushes?
ChrisP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 07:47 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 300
Default

When was the last time you cut the comm and changed the brushes?

What kind of car and how do have it geared?
Headbanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 07:50 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Could be several things causing your problem:
-A hung brush.
-Motor could just need a rebuild
-Loose wire on your ESC/motor/battery
-Motor could be bad

The first thing I would do is to see if the motors brushes are actually making contact with the com. Make sure that the shunts are not hung up on anything causing the brush to not make contact with the com.
Just give everything a good look over to make sure everything is in proper working order.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 08:13 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
racingcivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: memphis
Posts: 117
Default

i looked at the motor and had others look at it since i am new in this hobby. they said it seems to be fine.
i have a xray t1r and i believe it is called a v12 speed control.
the speed control comes on and acts like it wants to work but nothing from the motor.
oh yeah the motor was ran in only 3 heats.
racingcivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 08:22 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 79
Default

try seting your speed controll that hapend to me once and that solved the problem
nick b. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 08:24 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
racingcivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: memphis
Posts: 117
Default

i also tried that and nothing happened.
racingcivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 09:08 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

u might have smoked the motor,and melted the enamel..this happened to me once.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 09:39 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

try another motor, if another motor works then it is a problem with the motor. if another motor doesn't work then its a problem with the speedo or electronics.
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2004, 11:54 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Norman AR.
Posts: 1,954
Send a message via AIM to ZER01
Default

racingcivic, check your private messages.
ZER01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 09:23 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
racingcivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: memphis
Posts: 117
Default

thanks for everyone's help. i put a new motor in and it seems to work fine now.
now i need to find out what is wrong with the motor since it has only 2 1/2 heats on it, and what would cause the motor to do this.
racingcivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2004, 10:09 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
TOADYY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,309
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TOADYY
Default

Sounds like you have a blown connection at the comm tab. If you look at the three connections you'll see the high-temp solder missing off one of them. You can resolder it if you were able to get some of that high-temp stuff.

You can spot welded with 1200 degree Silfos, a special material plumbers use for brazing copper together. It never comes off. But Mike Reedy believes this temp is too hot as it tends to anneal the copper plates making them wear faster, he says.


This a quote from "Big Jim" when I had the same problem with my Reedy TI 9x2.
__________________
Pro 10 / 10th scale pan GTP: Speed Merchant Road Kill 10 (one of the first 10 produced)
12th Scale: Speed Merchant Rev 8 PRO x2 and Yokomo YRX12

"Pro 10, the only way to fly around the track!"
TOADYY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ESC PROBLEM ghj1997 Electric Off-Road 13 06-04-2008 08:38 AM
Problem RaceANissan616 Nitro On-Road 20 07-23-2006 09:07 PM
KO PRO PO VSF-1 PROBLEM mazmo Australian Racing 4 07-24-2005 07:38 AM
New to R/C and I have a bit of a problem ZeeBMaN Rookie Zone 6 05-15-2003 05:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:30 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net