Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Quick question about batteries

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2004, 07:46 PM
Tech Initiate

Default Quick question about batteries

I'm new to this hobby and am just starting to work on building my own battery packs for the first time. I purchased a set of 18 loose cells from Hurricane. The cells are supposedly all "matched". However, the numbers on the individual cells are all slightly different. I pretty much understand what the numbers mean but am unsure how to best divide my 18 cells into 3 groups of 6. Is there any science or conventional wisdom on how best to do this or does it really not matter much as long as the batteries are all close.

My runtimes range from about 360 to 410 and my voltage numbers run from 1.41 to 1.49.

I can't seem to find specific info on this on a web site but if someone can point me to a site that will help me learn more I'm more than willing to read up more on this.

Edit: I meant to type 1.141 to 1.149

Last edited by plbman; 01-15-2004 at 08:15 PM.
Old 01-15-2004, 07:50 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

I would try putting them together in order of runtime as close as you possibly can.
Old 01-15-2004, 07:52 PM
Tech Addict

Location: If Nissan Motorsport is Nismo, Then Honda Motorsport must be Homo
Default Re: Quick question about batteries

Originally posted by plbman

My runtimes range from about 360 to 410 and my voltage numbers run from 1.41 to 1.49.
I would divide it into 1.41-1.45 and 1.45-1.49 and 380- and 380+. If for stock prioritise voltage, for MOD prioritise run time.

Hpe this helps
Old 01-15-2004, 08:11 PM
Tech Fanatic

try to choose the cells at first by runtime, then look at the avg volts and finally the internal resistance, but i think you'll can build your packs only by runtime selection...
Old 01-15-2004, 08:12 PM
Tech Addict

I love that maddona brittney avitar. lol
Old 01-15-2004, 08:16 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)