Power Supplys

Old 01-14-2004, 10:25 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
29Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 179
Default Power Supplys

I am looking for a power supply and I don't have a clue what to look for. Can someone help. I would be using a Turbo 35 Stealth with it.
29Dennis is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 10:34 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default Re: Power Supplys

I suggest that you go to Walmart or similar type of discout store and buy a tractor battery that would be used to start up a riding mower. Then, pick up a 12V battery charger from them. Total cost should be around $45 and you'll have over 100A capability if you decide to get a dyno and aren't reliant on track power.

I use one and it's got more than enough juice to power my T35 and Millenium II chargers for a full day of racing up to 3 cars. I usually bring my 12V charger with me and charge the 12V battery during the day as well, just in case. If the breaker blows (which happens frequently at some of the tracks I race at,) I don't care and it never screws up the charging of my packs.
psycho is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 10:55 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
 
kt racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: va
Posts: 848
Default

am looking for a power supply and I don't have a clue what to look for. Can someone help. I would be using a Turbo 35 Stealth with it.
Nothing against using a battery to run your charger. But that is really not the way to go. I guess if you want to hall it around everywhere that is fine.
I would recomend the bulldog power supplys. They make a 15, 30, 45, and a 75 amp power supply. Any of these would work fine for your turbo 35. The 30 amp would probably work the best. This way if you add 1 or 2 more chargers in the future it will run them. If you only are going to have 2 or less get the 15amp. The cost about 110-150 bucks.
Also you can go with the Novak N-supply but it is only 10amps and its a 100bucks. So you get more with the bulldog for just a little more money. Here is the website for my hobby shop. They do mail orders and they have them in stock.
www.debbiesrcworld.com
hope that helps.
keith trapp
kt racing is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:05 AM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
WVRACER's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: SCOTT DEPOT WV
Posts: 491
Default

If your going with a rivergate bulldog i would order from then directly much cheaper

rob

http://www.rivergatedist.com/
WVRACER is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:08 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Get the 17 dollar special off ebay. Many of us use those and they're excellent.
JusBox is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:10 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Default

where? what u type?
True R/C Racing is offline  
Old 01-14-2004, 11:10 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
hyperformance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: knoxville, TN
Posts: 369
Default

dennis, here are some links

http://integy.automated-shops.com/cg...tml?p_catid=19

i run one of these, the 18amp one for $159, very small and light

http://www.tripplite.com/products/in...ed_dcpower.cfm

you can get these in town, Shields on Middlebrook Dr, big & heavy but regulated power

http://www.rivergatedist.com/products.htm

great power supplies, great poeple, good prices. these guys are in nashville & will ship quick

there are other producers but these come to mind first

a couple things on power supplies. you can get "switching" or "regulated" supplies. the switching units are small & light while the regulated units are larger & heavy. some poeple swear by the regulated units but i have had no problems at all from my switching unit (it runs cooler as well)

you should buy 18-20 amps at least, the T35 has a motor run in & some motors will suck up 20amps with no problem. if you can afford it get 30amps, especially if you plan to run 2 chargers, dyno, ect....
hyperformance is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 05:43 AM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
29Dennis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Posts: 179
Default

Thanks for all the info guys, thats a lot of help.
29Dennis is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 06:30 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
YLLIB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: California
Posts: 1,710
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

SpeedWorld has the dura com power supplies. They have them in 10,14,18 and 25 amp. They are about 8" by 9" and 2 in thick. A lot of the facotory drivers have them. The work awsome I have had mine for 3 years. You can not find them in any other hobby shop. They are ver compact and light about 3lbs.
YLLIB is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 06:42 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
vtl1180ny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wrong Island
Posts: 4,963
Default

Check Radio Shack also, they have a 25 amp one for around $99...
vtl1180ny is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 06:43 PM
  #11  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (3)
 
BHenderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 1,199
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

dennis,

Check out this power supply, very small in size and 23Amps for $99!!!! this is in my opinion the best power supply out there esp for the size and cost.

http://www.radiodan.com/misc/samlex1223.htm
BHenderson is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 06:56 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Corona, Ca
Posts: 157
Default

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!! Stay away from Radio Shack!
Rowdy Racer is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 11:08 PM
  #13  
Tech Addict
 
rto997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: EVERYWHERE I WANT TO BE!!!
Posts: 745
Default

I have the Samlex 1223 also and it is quite nice... I run a Turbo 35GFX and an LRP charger with no probs.... sometimes also have to load a friends charger and works flawlessly, stays cool and keeps running fine!!! The best part is the size!!! Nice and small!!
rto997 is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 11:08 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (30)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,575
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

I own the one from radio shack....Awsome,guess who its made by?Duracomm.Very good power supplies whether you get it from Speedworld{highly recommended}or radio shack.Never misses a beat.
racenut123 is offline  
Old 01-15-2004, 11:29 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 974
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use the radio shack 25 amp , very small and sleek, powers my pulsar comp and integy 16x5v6 wonderfully, in fact i would buy another one if they werent discontinued.
Johnnytc3 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.