R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2009, 05:16 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
jt415gz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Bay
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default 12 AWG vs 13 AWG ESC/Motor/Battery Wires

I've really been wondering if 12 AWG is necessary to use as opposed to the 13 AWG super flexible wires people are using today, because my ESC came factory equipped with 12 AWG. I want to switch to all black wiring, but I can't seem to find all black in 12 AWG.

What do you guys use and also what do you guys think I should use for my current setup?...

Using:
LRP Sphere TC Spec ESC
LRP X12 4.0T Motor
SMC 5200 40+C-Max Li-po 7.4v


Thanks in advance.
__________________
Thanks,
-jT =]
jt415gz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:11 AM   #2
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jt415gz View Post
I've really been wondering if 12 AWG is necessary to use as opposed to the 13 AWG super flexible wires people are using today, because my ESC came factory equipped with 12 AWG. I want to switch to all black wiring, but I can't seem to find all black in 12 AWG.

What do you guys use and also what do you guys think I should use for my current setup?...

Using:
LRP Sphere TC Spec ESC
LRP X12 4.0T Motor
SMC 5200 40+C-Max Li-po 7.4v


Thanks in advance.
The only wire that I use is: www.tqracing.com. I have it in all my cars. If you have questions, call him.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 03:17 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
jt415gz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Bay
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

thanks I'll check them out.
__________________
Thanks,
-jT =]
jt415gz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:04 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

amp Draw has 12awg in stock ( but i too prefer the TQ wire)
http://www.ampdraw.com/product.php?a...productid=9982
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 09:07 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

YOUR MY BOY BLUUUUUUUUUUUUUUE !!!!!!
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 10:08 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
IIGQ4U's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: La Jolla, CA SoCal
Posts: 2,489
Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonC View Post
amp Draw has 12awg in stock ( but i too prefer the TQ wire)
http://www.ampdraw.com/product.php?a...productid=9982
Wow, AmpDraw actually has something in stock? I wasn't even sure that they were open for business seeing as when you call nobody answers and when you leave a message, nobody calls back. I even paid a visit during business hours and they were closed.

As far as the wire, the TQ is good stuff and worth the cost.
IIGQ4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 10:26 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
jt415gz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Bay
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Since my general concern was about the possibility of increasing resistance and restricting current flow by using less strands and going 13AWG instead of 12AWG. And since other ppl have been telling me that TQ is the way to go and using 13AWG won't hurt the flow of current, I will be going with TQ's black 13AWG. Very super thin and flexible wire at a reasonable price. Now I just need to grab a 60W soldering iron with flat tip, because my 30 watt pencil tip isn't cutting it for that kind of work!

I appreciate everyone's repliess and tips!

Looks like TQ has won the hearts of quite a few...
__________________
Thanks,
-jT =]
jt415gz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 11:37 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Just to put alittle math on the subject (because thats just the mood I am in tonight!) , the resistance of 12ga copper stranded wire is approx .32Ohms/100Feet. The resistance for 13ga copper stranded wire is approx .416 Ohms/100 Feet. My car has aprox 1 foot of copper wire for the motor and ESC, so the restance for wise is 0.004 (round trip 13ga).

Under a 50amp load the difference is 0.05V.

Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 12:12 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Shawn, good point. I want to add to this. The difference in resistance is about 0.001 ohms.

Even a 13.5 motor can draw over 130A at initial acceleration (measured on a Sentry Dyno, Stock current sensor clamps at about 120A and it was pegged). I am willing to bet that even a 17.5 will draw close to or over 130A at initial acceleration.

So lets take that 130A, the difference in voltage is now over a tenth of a volt, 0.13V. So, all things being equal, if the car with 12AWG wire is seeing 8V at the speed control, the car with the 13AWG wire will be seeing 7.87V. That means you will have less torque at the motor, etc... and you won't be as fast as you would if you had 12AWG wire.
__________________
High Desert Raceplace, Grand Jct CO, Sanwa Exzes Plus Stick Radio, Spektrum,Thunderpower 230g, Modified Tri-Nut Novak GTB2, Ballistic 4.5t 550, 5.83lb SCTE Ten, Novak Sentry Brushless Dyno, Crossweight Setup Station, Junsi 20A power supply Icharger 20A Charger,TP610C, 22B, Novak Edge, Novak 13.5, SC10, Havoc Pro SC XDrive, Ballistic 17.5 Matthew Joseph Cordova
mattnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 12:16 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

isn't there a point where a bigger wire won't matter? So throw 10ga into your equations, will that be faster?

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 12:27 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

I agree that if all things were the same, there would be better performance from using 12gauge wire instead of 13 gauge wire.

But in "real life", i guess that there will be no performance gain between 12 and a 13 gauge wires. (It's a guess, I have no experimental evidence to back this up.)

12 gauge wires are heavier because there are more strands, even if they were not heavier (because they are made of different material), solder joints, bad driving, tires, all the rest of the stuff would cause any performance gain between 12 gauge wires vs 13gauge wires to disappear.

So I don't think there is anything to worry about in terms of losing any time.

Just my 2 cents.
__________________
Ta04-TRF, EVO 5
Futaba
KO Propo
Spintec
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 10:45 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004 View Post
I agree that if all things were the same, there would be better performance from using 12gauge wire instead of 13 gauge wire.

But in "real life", i guess that there will be no performance gain between 12 and a 13 gauge wires. (It's a guess, I have no experimental evidence to back this up.)

12 gauge wires are heavier because there are more strands, even if they were not heavier (because they are made of different material), solder joints, bad driving, tires, all the rest of the stuff would cause any performance gain between 12 gauge wires vs 13gauge wires to disappear.

So I don't think there is anything to worry about in terms of losing any time.

Just my 2 cents.
Run both back to back and you will not see any difference at all.

We had guy's that have changed the cables and some left the factory wiring in (12 & 13 AWG), there is no noticable difference at all.
In fact I believe most of the track records have gone recently using 13AWG (standard stuff on the SPX).

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:04 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
jt415gz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The Bay
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

interesting info. here guys.
so we are talking about minuscule differencies between both gauged wires.

what gauge wire does the '07 Sphere TC Specs come equipped with? (i believed it was 12AWG) Am I wrong?

Does LRP now equip the newer ESC's (SPX, SXX) with thinner 13AWG?
__________________
Thanks,
-jT =]
jt415gz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:17 AM   #14
Company Representative
 
SweepRacingUSA's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: www.SweepRacingUSA.com
Posts: 1,742
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jt415gz View Post
interesting info. here guys.
so we are talking about minuscule differencies between both gauged wires.

what gauge wire does the '07 Sphere TC Specs come equipped with? (i believed it was 12AWG) Am I wrong?

Does LRP now equip the newer ESC's (SPX, SXX) with thinner 13AWG?
I m looking at sphere TC rite now, it sure look like 12G wires to me.
SweepRacingUSA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 11:38 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

funny thought:
this miniscule (and imperceptable) voltage difference was the basis mfr's used to separate $40 packs from $80 packs when round cells were king. further, an even smaller difference in voltage has been a key element of the 'sponsored vs. privateer' equipment agrument for just as long.

now, we've moved on to software updates ...
the answer to the original question depends on what you want to prioritize. a larger wire is going to show a smaller voltage drop without question. but, if it were me, i'd err to the side of color every time. (r/c is hurting for style to begin with).
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:56 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net