R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2010, 04:31 PM   #121
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

are you guys using hobby wing and speed passion programs and are speed passions stock profiles different the the HW stock profiles?
__________________
Houston,Texas
Serpent 733 EVO
Mikes Hobby shop-Porter Texas/ Gulf coast Raceway"Electric Is For Hairdryers"..Eric Koger
Chris [email protected]
Tha Skinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 10:46 PM   #122
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

From what I have read, the SP profiles provide slight more "rip" for higher wind motors. I have the HW and have only used that, it moves more than enough for me.

I also read on a different thread that a lot of it depends on driving style, track size, gearing, etc. So there are a lot of variables and options. It doesn't seem like one common answer.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:00 PM   #123
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Both software works its just there is no feedback on what does what with the hobbywing software hence why some or most are using the SP software instead.
For mod 205c, 205g and 323 are the popular firmwares and 312, 107 and 110 is the choices for stock classes.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 11:49 AM   #124
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default A little help please....

Ok, I'm in need of another ESC for my MF2 truck for this coming off road season. I have been looking at the Xerun 120 V.2 1/10 pro esc (blue) for it.

It states that it will run most sensored motors. Does anyone know if the Tekin Redline sensored motors work well with this ESC? Will the Tekin sensor wire work with this esc or what do I need to order extra to enable this?

Thanks for the help....

7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 12:26 PM   #125
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7.5man View Post
Ok, I'm in need of another ESC for my MF2 truck for this coming off road season. I have been looking at the Xerun 120 V.2 1/10 pro esc (blue) for it.

It states that it will run most sensored motors. Does anyone know if the Tekin Redline sensored motors work well with this ESC? Will the Tekin sensor wire work with this esc or what do I need to order extra to enable this?

Thanks for the help....

The Tekin motors work well with them and the sensor leads are universal between esc's and motors, so no hassle there.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 12:08 AM   #126
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

razzor:

Thanks very much for your quick reply.
7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:17 AM   #127
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,117
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Ok Guys:

I have another bunch of questions.... I'm new to this brushless experience but a good racer and I want to be able to compete, not just show up.

Would the Hobbywing XErun 60 amp Vs2.0/8.5 motor with program card be any good for my MF2 1/10 off road truck and would it do the job well to compete.... or would the XErun 120 amp vs.2.0 be a better bet? Would getting the new program box be worth it as well with either system? What about the improved capacitors too?

I do plan on running a 8.5 motor in the MF2 truck as I tried a XXXTCR with a Tekin RS Pro /8.5 from a sponsored Tekin driver and it felt great.

I also am considering running in a Open SCT Class with the same equipment. Would the XErun 60 amp work for that class too or?

thanks....

7.5man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:01 PM   #128
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

For off-road they state that 8.5 is the lowest they would recommend for the 60a. Might want to run it with the fan, just to be safe.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:04 PM   #129
Tech Elite
 
nikos2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: any where I can race!
Posts: 4,673
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to nikos2002
Default

In trading emails with Hobbywing folks, the difference between the SP and HW software is that the SP software advances the timing more. just becareful to adjust gearing to control heat. If your using the LCD programer, you can adjust the other timing as you need anyway.
__________________
Nick Malato
Spektrum Surface Product Manager
** www.spektrumrc.com - www.horizonhobby.com ***
Sponsored By: Spektrum RC, Horizon Hobby, TLR, Maclan Racing, J Concepts
nikos2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:54 PM   #130
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Hmm interesting, has anyone compared the insides of a Xerun 120A to a SP GT2 Pro ?, if they are the same speedo's , are SP inflating the AMP ratings, as the Xerun is 60/120 and the SP is 80/200 . Has anyone used the Xerun 60A in 10.5 TC ?
MoonTrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 11:32 PM   #131
Tech Addict
 
Akudou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: KL
Posts: 749
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I dont know if anyone has experience this problem but im using the Xerun v2.0 brushless esc on my ezrun 9T brushless motor and after a few minutes of playing, there is a slight cogging similar to when you are running nimh batteries which are running low. I thought this was normal due to the low voltage cutoff set on the esc. But when i charge all my Lipo's a total of 1800 was in the battery when it came on full. So this shouldnt have happen as my batteries are 5200mah and 5000mah respectively. Anyone came across this problem?
Akudou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 03:10 AM   #132
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akudou View Post
I dont know if anyone has experience this problem but im using the Xerun v2.0 brushless esc on my ezrun 9T brushless motor and after a few minutes of playing, there is a slight cogging similar to when you are running nimh batteries which are running low. I thought this was normal due to the low voltage cutoff set on the esc. But when i charge all my Lipo's a total of 1800 was in the battery when it came on full. So this shouldnt have happen as my batteries are 5200mah and 5000mah respectively. Anyone came across this problem?
If you use the Ezrun (which is sensorless) you will get some cogging when it warms up, this is a natural by product of the motor design and the best place to find answers for that one is in the Ezrun thread, funnily enough though.......

I did the same thing, ran my KV4300 9T Ezrun on the Exerun and it was a bit coggier than it would normally be on the Ezrun 60a SL speedo, maybe this is due to the softwares on the EXERUN being 'tuned' towards the sensored market (to which it is aimed) and the software in the Ezrun SL being more attuned to Sensorless motors (to which it is aimed).
Hope this helps matey.

C2B
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 03:48 AM   #133
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

My EZRun 17.5T was cogging very badly with a Mamba max that is sensorless.Was cogging even with the XRUN 120 but not so bad as with the mamba,so i think it's a motor issue and not the fact that someone runs it with a sendored or sensorless speedo.This motor sucks. Just 55 US$ wasted :-(
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 05:06 AM   #134
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
My EZRun 17.5T was cogging very badly with a Mamba max that is sensorless.Was cogging even with the XRUN 120 but not so bad as with the mamba,so i think it's a motor issue and not the fact that someone runs it with a sendored or sensorless speedo.This motor sucks. Just 55 US$ wasted :-(
Hi mate, that wasn't what the guy was asking, he is talking about the 9T which are the 380 size motors in the 540 sized heatsink case. They work completely differently to the .5 winds. They are best suited to EZRUN ESC's in my experience whereas the .5's are more suited to the EXERUNS.

Just as an aside I just tried out something else for you hust ran my Ion 10.5 on the EXERUN with the sensor lead unplugged, was bloody awful.

Still think that for each particular application that there is a suitable tool, EXERUN / EZRUN.

just my tuppence.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 10:00 AM   #135
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

HELPPPP!!! I have updated my LCD program Box to the v.1.04_091225 How i can return to the previous version v.1.02? Anybody pls?
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net