R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2011, 02:09 PM   #1186
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

I'm looking at getting an ESC with timing boost, which of these is the one to get for running 13.5 and 17.5?


http://www.hobbywing.com/english/Art...?ArticleID=455


http://www.hobbywing.com/english/Art...?ArticleID=464

Does the first one have timing boost? If not, can it be added with a firmware update? The cost difference is about Ģ1 on eBay.
__________________
Quote, Leodis, 2007: ''I've been shopping online for 9 years and the only charge I've ever had to dispute with my credit card company was from TiR. Congratulations TiR. Even porn sites are more ethical than your company!''

RC cars - I haz sum.
academygaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 05:21 PM   #1187
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

I can tell that the 60A can certainly take boost and turbo and everything, since I use two of these in my 1/5 bike powering a 13.5T and then a 17.5T motor, and another one in my son's Sprint2 RCGT car powering a 17.5T motor.
And, yes, you need a 2into1 program box and a pc to download the latest software.
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 06:56 PM   #1188
Tech Fanatic
 
TeamWTF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 971
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

They are both rated at 60a and both are updatable with the current boost software.

Personally i would go with the 120a speedy.
__________________
T.O.P. Racing Australia www.topracing.net.au
TeamWTF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 07:17 PM   #1189
Tech Elite
 
SammyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 3,045
Trader Rating: 138 (100%+)
Default

does anyone in the united states sell hobbywing speedos?
I ordered mine from Hong Kong but its been 3 weeks. Im
really tired of supporting them.
__________________
Hotbodies USA
SweepRacing USA
SammyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 02:23 AM   #1190
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B18C Turbo View Post
does anyone in the united states sell hobbywing speedos?
I ordered mine from Hong Kong but its been 3 weeks. Im
really tired of supporting them.
http://myworld.ebay.com/oldskoolclassics52/

Ships from Arizona.
__________________
3Racing Sakura Zero S, Xtreme Stock Intellect 50c
TQ Racing SX10SC ,Xerun 120a 17.5t Gens ace 40c
madone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:15 PM   #1191
Tech Rookie
 
cocka99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oviedo - Spain
Posts: 15
Default

Hi buddies. Today Mi xerun 120A 2.0 Version Breakdown of the unknown. You see, now filming in my circuit, something curious has happened to me and not understand. After a few batteries running the engine and drive well. Of the last change repende Lipo (2S) something very rare happened suddenly switched on the engine would not turn on the light and Red.

Do not Hot the drive and the engine is but today everything was going to 40 degrees both.

To eliminate potential problems, replace the motor and receiver and does the same thing. Prove also with sensors and without sensors and does absolutely nothing, try matching the drive to the station and makes no beeps.

Anyone know what might be the accelerator or brake no turn the engine and turn on the red light?
__________________
Yokomo BD Masami Edition + Xerun 120A + Orion 5.5T
Tamiya M03L + Ezrun 60A + Ezrun 13T
F104 Pro + Hobbywing Justock + Sp 13.5R
Yokomo LCG, Yokomo YR-F2 & Kyosho Gallop Mk2
Airtronics Mx3-Fhss 2.4Ghz + Turnigy 5A - 40C Tune Up 4.2A - 35C + Icharger 208B
cocka99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2011, 10:20 PM   #1192
Tech Adept
 
Mitch-e4fs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canberra
Posts: 132
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I had the exact same thing happen to my 60a today.
It started off as the turbo would drop out. Then it started cogging and now it will flash the red led once on startup and nothing else. It won't even power the receiver.
Mitch-e4fs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2011, 07:06 PM   #1193
Tech Rookie
 
cocka99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oviedo - Spain
Posts: 15
Default

New negative news. I work into the ESC and test the receiver wire and change the capacitor and nothing.

The red light is on when i push the throttle or brake.

I send a Mail to hobbywing and they say to talk whit Himodel because itīs the distribuitor. And Himodel sais the repair itīs About 30 dollars but the ship cost itīs 3 times to the repair cost.

I donīt know what i do.
__________________
Yokomo BD Masami Edition + Xerun 120A + Orion 5.5T
Tamiya M03L + Ezrun 60A + Ezrun 13T
F104 Pro + Hobbywing Justock + Sp 13.5R
Yokomo LCG, Yokomo YR-F2 & Kyosho Gallop Mk2
Airtronics Mx3-Fhss 2.4Ghz + Turnigy 5A - 40C Tune Up 4.2A - 35C + Icharger 208B
cocka99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 02:32 PM   #1194
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

I converted my 1/5 rc bike recently, from KP09 model to KP10...
What prompted the change was a broken chassis plate, and since they are being sold in pairs, I said what the heck, let's do it a 10. This involved getting a new swing arm as well, but presented me with a slight problem: The chassis plates leave a space of 25mm between them, while the old one left 30mm.
So, here's how to squeeze a xerun 60A ESC inside the plates AND keep the fan:


(And, yes, the servo is a vintage S9401!!! Since it works flawlessly, why not?!)

I actually removed the fan from the ESC cooler and enlarged the brake servo opening on the left side chassis plate so that the fan air can reach the cooler.



This is how the fan sends air to the ESC:



and...



I could have mounted the ESC on the outside of the left side chassis plate, but it would be: A. vulnerable to crashes and B. placed a lot outside the inline center of the bike, not to mention I would probably have to run it without a fan, which I really don't want, since summer is almost here... sort of!
I even managed to squeeze a cooler on the motor, by just trimming some edges here and there!!!

Since I am running stock class (17.5T motor, 1900 gram. weight limit, no front brake), I didn't really care to leave the space reserved for the front brake servo free! It's the lower cutout, where the fan cables and the blue cable enter the chassis...

I still have not tested the new chassis, which included a new headstock, too, because I'm missing some small but critical parts to complete the conversion.

The FW installed though is already the latest, with the lowest of the recommended settings for 17.5T onroad, and will see from there on...

But this will be posted in the other thread!
__________________
www.steliosh.net/rcmoto/
www.steliosh.net/rc/

KP-Designs KP10e 1/5 rc bike, Kyosho Lazer ZX-5, HPI Baja SS, Xray T1 FK05, Venom GPV1 1/8 rc bike, Anderson M5 Cross 1/5 rc bike, TT SB-5 1/5 rc bike
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:29 PM   #1195
Tech Master
 
pettyeagles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: East Central, Il
Posts: 1,646
Trader Rating: 82 (99%+)
Default Hobbywing 120A 1s esc

Anybody know if these run on the same software as the 2s versions? The 1s version will also run 2s lipos. I think the only difference between them is the 1s version has a built in voltage booster to power the servo when running 1s lipos. http://www.hobbyhot.com/xerun-blue-b...d-pr-2699.html
__________________
A bad day racing beats a good day at work. My RC fleet:
SC5M(x2), B5M, SC10.2, FT SC10, FT TC5, FT TC4, 12R5, AE Rival MT, RC10 Classic, RC10 Worlds, CW Pro Comp Outlaw, F104 pro v2, RJ Speed Legend, Traxxas Slash(x2), 4x4 Slash VXL, Vendetta ST, Axial SCX10, Yeti, Smt10, G-Made/AX10, Tamiya Super Clodbuster
pettyeagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 01:30 AM   #1196
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pettyeagles View Post
Anybody know if these run on the same software as the 2s versions? The 1s version will also run 2s lipos. I think the only difference between them is the 1s version has a built in voltage booster to power the servo when running 1s lipos. http://www.hobbyhot.com/xerun-blue-b...d-pr-2699.html
The 1s Runs 1s/2s and is auto switching. The voltage booster only works when 1s is being used.

However the XERUN 120A SD that you looked at is a 2s/3s model, that is the only major difference between the two units.

All of the firmwares are compatible across the XERUN range including the STOCK Advanced Timing profiles.

Hope it helps
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 01:42 AM   #1197
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch-e4fs View Post
I had the exact same thing happen to my 60a today.
It started off as the turbo would drop out. Then it started cogging and now it will flash the red led once on startup and nothing else. It won't even power the receiver.
Try re flashing the firmware sometimes clears these sort of problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cocka99 View Post
Hi buddies. Today Mi xerun 120A 2.0 Version Breakdown of the unknown. You see, now filming in my circuit, something curious has happened to me and not understand. After a few batteries running the engine and drive well. Of the last change repende Lipo (2S) something very rare happened suddenly switched on the engine would not turn on the light and Red.

Do not Hot the drive and the engine is but today everything was going to 40 degrees both.

To eliminate potential problems, replace the motor and receiver and does the same thing. Prove also with sensors and without sensors and does absolutely nothing, try matching the drive to the station and makes no beeps.

Anyone know what might be the accelerator or brake no turn the engine and turn on the red light?
Sounds like a reverse battery connection may have happened, feel free to send it to the UK will take a look at it here to give you an idea? PM me for address details. We are the UK distributor for XERUN so may be able to help, but no promises
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 05:57 AM   #1198
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

!
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 12:17 PM   #1199
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: southampton, UK
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to geubes
Default

Weird Problem!

Both Hobbywing ESC's I have give the same problem, when plugged in, sometimes on powerup, there is no power powering the receiver - no lights, no steering. But the fan ontop of the ESC is spinning fine.

However, if I unplug my transponder from the ESC, then power comes back to the servo and I get drive again. If I plug the transponder back in, then the power to the receiver stops :S!

Now this first appeared on my extreme stock a few months back (so it got put in the pit box) and I started using my SP2.0lpf again trouble free with no issues at all. Then my new 120a got put in the car yesterday and did a full days practice with no problems (using 119 mod). Today I had 119 stock on the esc and the problems started with this ESC.

It seems to much of a coincidence that my 2 Hobbywing ESC's brought 4 months apart have the same problem that seems so-far unfixable and completely random. If this was a regional or national event I would have missed my final!!!.

Any help or suggestions?

Electronics:
IP 5000 40C Lipo
Savox lpf servo
DSM2 Spektrum receiver
Hobbywing extreme or 120a v2.1
geubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 01:14 AM   #1200
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geubes View Post
Weird Problem!

Both Hobbywing ESC's I have give the same problem, when plugged in, sometimes on powerup, there is no power powering the receiver - no lights, no steering. But the fan ontop of the ESC is spinning fine.

However, if I unplug my transponder from the ESC, then power comes back to the servo and I get drive again. If I plug the transponder back in, then the power to the receiver stops :S!

Now this first appeared on my extreme stock a few months back (so it got put in the pit box) and I started using my SP2.0lpf again trouble free with no issues at all. Then my new 120a got put in the car yesterday and did a full days practice with no problems (using 119 mod). Today I had 119 stock on the esc and the problems started with this ESC.

It seems to much of a coincidence that my 2 Hobbywing ESC's brought 4 months apart have the same problem that seems so-far unfixable and completely random. If this was a regional or national event I would have missed my final!!!.

Any help or suggestions?

Electronics:
IP 5000 40C Lipo
Savox lpf servo
DSM2 Spektrum receiver
Hobbywing extreme or 120a v2.1
Hi Geubes,

I would doubt that it is the ESC causing the above issue. It is unlikely that 2 ESC's would exhibit the same problem, especially one which hasn't come up before.

possible issues......
which port on the RX are you using for the PT is it the Batt slot or channel 3?
One issue I have had in the past with the ESC is the RX plug wires can become loose due to the constant pulling in and out to program the ESC, try wiggling the wires at the RX end when ESC is turned on.

But having re re-read your post it happens when the PTX is plugged in have you tried a different RX just to eliminate that from the equation?

Have you checked the voltage coming from the RX lead from the ESC's? use a voltmeter across the red and black leads to see if the voltage is correct?

Have you checked the switch harness on the ESC, these can fail.

Try rolling software back to 518 and see if issue occurs, if not then re flash 119/211 TWICE see if that fixes the issue

does it happen when the PTX is disconnected?

When and where did you buy the ESC's?

I know lots of questions but more information is needed on this.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link to UK 1s News

http://www.rctech.net/forum/8872955-post25.html
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.

Last edited by cherry2blost; 03-28-2011 at 01:57 AM.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net