R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2010, 07:36 PM   #1051
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andysan View Post
I need to plug ESC into LiPo and turn on even when connected to PC? I assumed that the battery only needs to be connected and switched on to power the programming box - as this is powered by USB I didnt think it was necessary.

Its not the speedo I'm concerned about, its that Im plugging something into my USB port thats plugged into a LiPo battery - with other ESC's I've read not to do this because you could send voltage into your PC and damage it.

Definitely then to access the speedo plug the LCD box into PC, speedo into LCD box and then power on with LiPo battery and switch? I'm still cautious.

Cheers!

My tutorial videos may help, they take 15 minutes between them but I think they will answer your question matey.

Part 1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUKMoGvRJZY

Part 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOCFkCwBlrQ

Trust me its fine been doing this stuff for ages it won't blow you laptop.

Hope it helps

Cherry xx
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 09:20 PM   #1052
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: downunder
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andysan View Post
I need to plug ESC into LiPo and turn on even when connected to PC? I assumed that the battery only needs to be connected and switched on to power the programming box - as this is powered by USB I didnt think it was necessary.

Its not the speedo I'm concerned about, its that Im plugging something into my USB port thats plugged into a LiPo battery - with other ESC's I've read not to do this because you could send voltage into your PC and damage it.

Definitely then to access the speedo plug the LCD box into PC, speedo into LCD box and then power on with LiPo battery and switch? I'm still cautious.

Cheers!
AS I said you must have the speedy turned on and plugged in, that is the way the PC and ESC communicate.

No problems with my computer doing this at all.
bjspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 02:38 AM   #1053
Tech Adept
 
Andysan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bjspinner View Post
AS I said you must have the speedy turned on and plugged in, that is the way the PC and ESC communicate.

No problems with my computer doing this at all.
Just tried this thanks and I can now access the ESC OK, cheers for that. Sorry for asking twice, just hadnt seen it mentioned explicitly and I have recently bought a rather new expensive PC!


Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
My tutorial videos may help, they take 15 minutes between them but I think they will answer your question matey.

Part 1 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUKMoGvRJZY

Part 2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOCFkCwBlrQ

Trust me its fine been doing this stuff for ages it won't blow you laptop.

Hope it helps

Cherry xx
Thanks Cherry, I had watched each video a number of times and found them very useful for identifying the different settings and flashing the LCD box firmware twice etc... so if I ever bump into you remind me that I owe you a beer!

However, I dont recall that either video mentions whether the battery should be plugged in and the car switched on when hooked up to the PC, although I could be mistaken.

Thanks for taking the time to help everyone out with your vids!
Andysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 03:03 AM   #1054
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andysan View Post
Just tried this thanks and I can now access the ESC OK, cheers for that. Sorry for asking twice, just hadnt seen it mentioned explicitly and I have recently bought a rather new expensive PC!




Thanks Cherry, I had watched each video a number of times and found them very useful for identifying the different settings and flashing the LCD box firmware twice etc... so if I ever bump into you remind me that I owe you a beer!

However, I dont recall that either video mentions whether the battery should be plugged in and the car switched on when hooked up to the PC, although I could be mistaken.

Thanks for taking the time to help everyone out with your vids!
LOL you're welcome, when I can find a clear afternoon am gonna do updated video, keeping it below 10 minutes for the whole and will add in the bits and bobs people have mentioned.

Happy Hobbywinging
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 06:50 AM   #1055
Tech Adept
 
Andysan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
LOL you're welcome, when I can find a clear afternoon am gonna do updated video, keeping it below 10 minutes for the whole and will add in the bits and bobs people have mentioned.

Happy Hobbywinging
Sure, I think the videos are very good and in no way meant it as a criticism but I notice that on other forums there are a few other people as thick as me who had the same question so maybe worth including it.

Will look forward to the next video!
Andysan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2010, 10:13 AM   #1056
Tech Regular
 
K_Takuya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ipoh
Posts: 382
Default

Hi all,

I need your help,newbie here. what is the best setting for the esc using the program card? Im confused especially with the drag brake, initial brake and brake force.

Im using ezrun 60A 5.5T for touring...


Thanks
__________________
Bodyshell+kit+bateri+remote+receiver+tayar+rim+esc+charger = Jom main!
K_Takuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 04:57 AM   #1057
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darrenoakley View Post
Hey chaps just wondering if there is any difference between the 60a SD and the 60a SL244. The spec looks the same apart from in the picture the later has a fan.
Thanks in advance guys
and i am still trying to find an answer for that.
please anyone can clarify this.
thanks
khaledome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 03:51 PM   #1058
Tech Regular
 
tmkhaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to tmkhaw
Default 120A vs 60A dimensions

Hi,

I would like to know if the 120A XERUN is the same in dimensions as the 60A XERUN.

I just purchased the 120A XERUN, however the fit in my F104 is a little too tight and I'm thinking of purchasing another 60A XERUN.

On the site, the dimensions are actually identical. Is that accurate?

Thanks in advance.
tmkhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 04:31 PM   #1059
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmkhaw View Post
Hi,

I would like to know if the 120A XERUN is the same in dimensions as the 60A XERUN.

I just purchased the 120A XERUN, however the fit in my F104 is a little too tight and I'm thinking of purchasing another 60A XERUN.

On the site, the dimensions are actually identical. Is that accurate?

Thanks in advance.
I've got both the 120A and 60A versions, and yes they are the same size.

-Jeff
blanchjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:19 AM   #1060
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

The new Xtreme has a smaller footprint but not sure who has them instock yet.
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 03:01 AM   #1061
Tech Regular
 
tmkhaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to tmkhaw
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmkhaw View Post
Hi,

I would like to know if the 120A XERUN is the same in dimensions as the 60A XERUN.

I just purchased the 120A XERUN, however the fit in my F104 is a little too tight and I'm thinking of purchasing another 60A XERUN.

On the site, the dimensions are actually identical. Is that accurate?

Thanks in advance.
Alternatively, do you think I could run the ESC without the fan? I'm running a TP 17.5 motor and using the 528 s/w.

What should be a safe operating temperature limit for the ESC?
tmkhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 04:14 AM   #1062
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmkhaw View Post
Alternatively, do you think I could run the ESC without the fan? I'm running a TP 17.5 motor and using the 528 s/w.

What should be a safe operating temperature limit for the ESC?
We run 10.5's without the fan using 528 is no problem so far.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 04:36 AM   #1063
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
We run 10.5's without the fan using 528 is no problem so far.
I confirm, with 10.5 not use the fan and no problem with teperature environments high (30/35 C)
__________________
Team GMV / RC electric AS Laurenziana
Hot Bodies TCXX - HW Xerun - IP - Spec-R
AGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 01:06 AM   #1064
Tech Regular
 
tmkhaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 325
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to tmkhaw
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
I confirm, with 10.5 not use the fan and no problem with teperature environments high (30/35 C)
Hi,

Thank you very much guys.

So keeping the ESC in 30-35C range should be safe? I am running in tropical climate, so still feel some reluctance to remove the fan.

The fan is actually quite loud, seem to be louder compared to other brands.

Out of curiosity, will we have longer run time by removing the fan?

Thanks.
tmkhaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 04:28 AM   #1065
Tech Addict
 
kuanseng1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 560
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Hi anyone can advice what final drive for a 9.5 brushless on a buggy with the tubro software.
__________________
Friends come and go,
who's your friend nobody knows,
till the time than it will show,
who is friend who is foe.
kuanseng1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:50 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net