R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2010, 05:12 PM   #856
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILKO1 View Post
Finally got a working lcd box but cant update the firmware to the latest speed passion version Has anyone else done it yet sucessfully?

My lcd box looks slightly different to the one in pictures at the beginning of the thread.

Think its a V2.
Hi mate if you go back to somewhere between pages 7 and 11 there is a fix for this, however if you are looking for the latest TURBO software just download the latest from Hobbywing, it is pretty much what the Speed Passion drivers are using versions 422 and 518.

Hope it helps good luck
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 05:24 PM   #857
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dorset,UK
Posts: 128
Default

Thanks Cherry. I want the SP software so if something goes wrong they can't get out of a warranty claim, you know how anal the SP guys get about HW
I read the earlier posts looks like Born2run had the same issue he tried a different pc and did it. i tried 2 pc's already to no avail
BILKO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2010, 05:50 PM   #858
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILKO1 View Post
Thanks Cherry. I want the SP software so if something goes wrong they can't get out of a warranty claim, you know how anal the SP guys get about HW
I read the earlier posts looks like Born2run had the same issue he tried a different pc and did it. i tried 2 pc's already to no avail
Think there was a way by using HW ver 1.4 or 1.5 to 'downgrade' the HW unit and allow it to be 're upgraded' to SP software. You need to read from about page 15 onwards one of the guys DID have a solution to this.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 12:09 AM   #859
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dorset,UK
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X men View Post
I figured it out!
This is the way I did.
1) I erased all HW and SP softwares, just for a fresh start
2) Install HW1.5 from CD supplied from the box
3) go into the the HW folder and delete the version control file
4) download and install the SP1.32 and replace the 2 files as mentioned earlier in the thread.
5) update from the SP software and can choose from any version now

I hope it work for most of you had the same problem (V1.04 back to V1.02 or V1.03)
I found this but couldn't find the 2 files mentioned. I deleted the version control.ini file from HW folder on pc and it let me downgrade I then ran the latest SP interface and now my black buttoned HW lcd box is fully SP compatible. Maybe Mr A Bailey is not as clever as he thinks or he left a loop hole for us. As the saying goes if man made it man can break it. Just a note for others both the HW and SP interfaces fail to upgrade on the first attempt just hit upgrade again and all will be fine.

Last edited by BILKO1; 05-30-2010 at 12:25 AM.
BILKO1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 02:30 AM   #860
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BILKO1 View Post
I found this but couldn't find the 2 files mentioned. I deleted the version control.ini file from HW folder on pc and it let me downgrade I then ran the latest SP interface and now my black buttoned HW lcd box is fully SP compatible. Maybe Mr A Bailey is not as clever as he thinks or he left a loop hole for us. As the saying goes if man made it man can break it. Just a note for others both the HW and SP interfaces fail to upgrade on the first attempt just hit upgrade again and all will be fine.

Sticky this one please some one lol !!!!!!!
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 08:24 AM   #861
Tech Fanatic
 
unsp0ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 781
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

I actually did something similar when I couldn't flash my 150A ESC from an SP firmware to a Hobbywing firmware. I modified one of the .ini files to trick it .
unsp0ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 08:42 AM   #862
Tech Initiate
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 47
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

This might've already been mentioned and I missed it. Has anybody tried running one of these in 17.5 or 13.5 oval with a single cell and receiver pack with any luck?

~Adam
dhmav51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 01:55 PM   #863
Tech Addict
 
Afazli79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 652
Send a message via MSN to Afazli79
Default

Hi guys, currently I'm using Orca esc and Team Power 11.5T motor on my Xray T3. Ratio 6.64.

Punch through cornerring is ok but on straight road I'm a loser. Tekin RS Pro bit me so well until I get really mad even do their ratio is 8.14. If their ratio same as mine, I will pack my bag and go straight home.


I think it is a time for me to upgrade my esc because a lot of my friends now using Tekin RS Pro.

I heard about Hobbywing 120a and none of them are using it. If this esc can bit Tekin, I might consider it.

Pls help to advise on it because I'm confuse to choose between Hobbywing or Tekin RS Pro....
__________________
Team MaxPower Malaysia...
Web : www.maxpowerbattery.net / www.bizonline2u.com
MaxPower / HobbyWing / Team Powers / Hudy / Xray / Robitronic / Tamiya / Tekin / Orca / LiteModz / Huge RC / MuchMore / LRP / Exotek / Smokem / SpecR / Atomic / SpeedMind / Sorex / Fijon / Paragon / Team Associated / Serpent / DS Racing

Last edited by Afazli79; 05-30-2010 at 03:11 PM.
Afazli79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2010, 08:09 PM   #864
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Afazli79 View Post
Hi guys, currently I'm using Orca esc and Team Power 11.5T motor on my Xray T3. Ratio 6.64.

Punch through cornerring is ok but on straight road I'm a loser. Tekin RS Pro bit me so well until I get really mad even do their ratio is 8.14. If their ratio same as mine, I will pack my bag and go straight home.


I think it is a time for me to upgrade my esc because a lot of my friends now using Tekin RS Pro.

I heard about Hobbywing 120a and none of them are using it. If this esc can bit Tekin, I might consider it.

Pls help to advise on it because I'm confuse to choose between Hobbywing or Tekin RS Pro....
I have both Tekin RS Pro(firmware 203) and Hobbywing 120 (firmware518), and we also race 11.5T too, as for performance, I think HW has a bit of edge to the Tekin, not much though. For me if the track design allows me to drive aggressive I'll use my HW, if not I'll use my Tekin. Price wise HW is cheaper.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 02:57 PM   #865
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

am i the only one who finds 422 better than 518? i seem to get more punch with lower temps??? it just seems to drive better, laps times are very similar but with the edge going to 422.
also the v1 motor from sp seems to run v,cool. some say its a rubbish motor, but mine was easily the quickest car out there on friday, im just not good enough!!!!!!!!
ps, i updated a racers car from another club and have managed to persuade 3 people to go for the bluespirit over the tekin after seeing mine go round.....
__________________
associated b5m
team c tm4
sanwa mt4
lrp flow tw
mardave
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 03:26 PM   #866
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayal View Post
am i the only one who finds 422 better than 518? i seem to get more punch with lower temps??? it just seems to drive better, laps times are very similar but with the edge going to 422.
also the v1 motor from sp seems to run v,cool. some say its a rubbish motor, but mine was easily the quickest car out there on friday, im just not good enough!!!!!!!!
ps, i updated a racers car from another club and have managed to persuade 3 people to go for the bluespirit over the tekin after seeing mine go round.....
I run the SP V1 17.5 and have to agree but i am finding 518 better than 422 especially with the bugs worked out. Comfortably running up front against 13.5's
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 04:59 PM   #867
Tech Fanatic
 
BCbud's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 758
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default V2.0 & v2.1 differance

Good day!

I tryed serching but couldn't find what the differance is between the xerun-120a-sd-v2.0 and the xerun-120-sd-v2.1.

Thanks
__________________
Xray NT1 - Xray T4 2013 TC - Xray T4 2013 VTA - CRCgenX10 - CRCgenX - CRCgenXi - Slash 4X4 with LCG conversion -Associated RC8Be - Xray XB4 - DX3R PRO
Recycled teenager.
www.irocc.ca ; www.corvictoria.com ; http://www.wcics.ca/
I will not send Pay Pal as a gift or add fees to the price so DO NOT ASK!
BCbud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 07:30 PM   #868
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 9
Default hobbywing 80a 1/8

anyone had any problems using the hobbywing esc with spektrum radio system? I have the xerun 80a 1/8 esc it seem like the drawing the current from the receiver when under a load the receiver looses power I am using the dx3 with sr3000 receiver.
steve1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 08:01 PM   #869
Tech Fanatic
 
ozzy-crawl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Forde A.C.T
Posts: 990
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1986 View Post
anyone had any problems using the hobbywing esc with spektrum radio system? I have the xerun 80a 1/8 esc it seem like the drawing the current from the receiver when under a load the receiver looses power I am using the dx3 with sr3000 receiver.
not sure if i am getting the same problem with my xerun 80a and dx3s
now and then i pull the trigger and there is nothing or it starts to take of and cuts out,runnig 2s 30c 5000s so its not a voltage loss under load issue i dont think.
must be the bec, mite try a ubec and see what happens
ozzy-crawl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 09:10 PM   #870
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 72
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

ok several of us have asked the question about running xerun with 1s with a receiver pack. mine just came in today and hooked it up and the motor seemed to run great my only issue is I cant get the esc to calibrate to my radio. Any help would be grateful.
bigdanes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:18 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net