R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2010, 06:12 AM   #436
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sandhurst, UK
Posts: 43
Default

If anyone is struggling to get their 1.04 LCD box to downgrade to 1.02 so they can use the speed passion software here is what I did to get mine working:

1) - Make sure you have both the 1.6 and 1.5 HW software installed on your machine.
2) - locate the version_control file in your 1.6 folder and copy it.
3) - Now browse to your 1.5 install folder, locate the version_control and rename it to version_control_old.
4) - Paste in the version_control file from the 1.6 install folder into the 1.5 install folder.
5) - Run the 1.5 HW software and downgrade your lcd box to 1.02, you can then put the speed passion software onto this lcd box.

This is basically a re-worked version of X Men's (thanks for the idea dude!) way of doing it however his way didn't work for me but then I thought I'd try swapping files and it did. My box is a black buttoned one that came with 1.6 on a CD had the version number 091229 listed on the instruction manual that comes with the box.
gazmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 12:36 PM   #437
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

cherry2blost, am i right in thinking that if i get a hw lcd programing box and download the speed passion beta onto it, i would be able to use it on a speed passion gt2.0 pro speedo?
its just that schumacher are and have been out of stock of the officiall sp lcd programmer for a while,and are more expensive. any thoughts most welcomed....
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 01:28 PM   #438
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Hi all, have finally gotten round to upping some spec sheets for the Thursday night racing, some interesting results as you will see from the notes.


For the last run had an enforced gear change due to the spur hanging out the bottom of the car, am going to keep at this gearing for the foreseeable future and play with the Boost levels, SC Punch and the AMTS timing and DDRS for the next meeting. Car was getting very quick on these settings and seeing as they are still on the low side am hopeful of the car getting much quicker as I work out the best settings.

As a note it seems to be best to set a 'reasonable' gearing level and then play with the settings to tune the car, as there are now so many parameters that can be changed it is a little time consuming but it's looking very good so far. Temps at the end of Run 5 were 50 degrees C, which means there is more room to go on all settings. Be aware though that my Novak is running the 13mm Rotor, which is a torquier item and also runs cooler and more efficient.

Power draw on previous 110 settings was anywhere between 2300 and 2600 for a 5 minute race, the supercharger was pulling out 1600 for the same race time, so seems a bit more efficient too.

More updates after next week’s running, hope this helps if not just ignore it all lol.

Cherry xx
Thanks for the set-up pictures.
You did what you promise this thread is owesome for a lot of RC racers
who can not bring tons of money in to find the right ESC.
Keep up this very usefull work, I dont know where you get it from but willing to share and publish your testing work is very significant.
Thank you

Ed
eded1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 01:44 PM   #439
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazmond View Post
If anyone is struggling to get their 1.04 LCD box to downgrade to 1.02 so they can use the speed passion software here is what I did to get mine working:

1) - Make sure you have both the 1.6 and 1.5 HW software installed on your machine.
2) - locate the version_control file in your 1.6 folder and copy it.
3) - Now browse to your 1.5 install folder, locate the version_control and rename it to version_control_old.
4) - Paste in the version_control file from the 1.6 install folder into the 1.5 install folder.
5) - Run the 1.5 HW software and downgrade your lcd box to 1.02, you can then put the speed passion software onto this lcd box.

This is basically a re-worked version of X Men's (thanks for the idea dude!) way of doing it however his way didn't work for me but then I thought I'd try swapping files and it did. My box is a black buttoned one that came with 1.6 on a CD had the version number 091229 listed on the instruction manual that comes with the box.
Yes for sure the V1.02 ones we KNOW work, Gaz above has posted a workaround for the V1.04 version but I personally have not tried this method as I sent my one back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayal View Post
cherry2blost, am i right in thinking that if i get a hw lcd programing box and download the speed passion beta onto it, i would be able to use it on a speed passion gt2.0 pro speedo?
its just that schumacher are and have been out of stock of the officiall sp lcd programmer for a while,and are more expensive. any thoughts most welcomed....
http://www.rctech.net/forum/6791481-post86.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by eded1 View Post
Thanks for the set-up pictures.
You did what you promise this thread is owesome for a lot of RC racers
who can not bring tons of money in to find the right ESC.
Keep up this very usefull work, I dont know where you get it from but willing to share and publish your testing work is very significant.
Thank you

Ed
Thank you for your kind words, seems I am on the SP and Moderator hit list though lol.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.

Last edited by cherry2blost; 03-21-2010 at 09:00 PM.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 02:36 PM   #440
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Helo,
Today I have used the latest version of speedpasion software with TURBO (beta) on my hobbywing xerun 120A for the Belgium Championsip. I became the 3th place.
I have putted all parameters on maximum. I had no problem with my speedpassion 17.5 motor. It was just running fine. No heat problem on engine of ESC. But the competitor was using a TEKIN and it was still a little difference on the stread lane. His boost was more powerfull. I hope that the final software version of Speedpassion can realy compeet with Tekin.
When do you think the final version will be ready?

Best regards

Maxim
maximnaegels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2010, 09:04 PM   #441
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maximnaegels View Post
Helo,
Today I have used the latest version of speedpasion software with TURBO (beta) on my hobbywing xerun 120A for the Belgium Championsip. I became the 3th place.
I have putted all parameters on maximum. I had no problem with my speedpassion 17.5 motor. It was just running fine. No heat problem on engine of ESC. But the competitor was using a TEKIN and it was still a little difference on the stread lane. His boost was more powerfull. I hope that the final software version of Speedpassion can realy compeet with Tekin.
When do you think the final version will be ready?

Best regards

Maxim
I don't think there will be a final version per se, as it is always going to be being developed, check out the sheer volume of version numbers in the beta to see
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:53 PM   #442
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default zipped sp supercharger files

sorry for being a nob, but i cant unzip the supercharger files. does anyone know where i can get a program to unzip these files for free, from a site that wont infect me with a virus? many thanks
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:59 PM   #443
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: southampton, UK
Posts: 145
Send a message via MSN to geubes
Default

use WINRAR, the trial version is free and doesnt expire:

http://www.rarlab.com/

That will unzip 90% of things
geubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 04:01 PM   #444
Tech Fanatic
 
unsp0ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 781
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geubes View Post
use WINRAR, the trial version is free and doesnt expire:

http://www.rarlab.com/

That will unzip 90% of things
7zip is better. It's open source so it's free (non-trial version) for personal use.
unsp0ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 04:20 PM   #445
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unsp0ken View Post
7zip is better. It's open source so it's free (non-trial version) for personal use.
+1 thats what I use
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 02:11 PM   #446
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default unzipped

ok, ive now got: new stock super charger instructions,settings.db3,version control.
the settings db3 cant be opened.
is it just the version control i need to put on the hw lcd? please help me as im crap with computers
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 02:40 PM   #447
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayal View Post
ok, ive now got: new stock super charger instructions,settings.db3,version control.
the settings db3 cant be opened.
is it just the version control i need to put on the hw lcd? please help me as im crap with computers
http://www.rctech.net/forum/6791481-post86.html
http://www.rctech.net/forum/6792919-post91.html
http://www.rctech.net/forum/7130543-post362.html

Al, just go into the Speed Passion USB Link 1.32 folder, find the files called "Settings.db3" and version_control", rename them as "oldsettings.db3" and oldversion_control".

Next copy the files from the Beta into the same folder, shut the window and all should be done. You don't 'open' the db3 file it is the database for the SpeedPassion 1.32 software.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:37 PM   #448
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Until i get back from China my two XERUN 120 (one dead and the second with a lot of issues) i'm moving to the Mamba Max Pro thread.Cherry keep this thread alive.I'll return when both speedos are fixed and SP release the official supercharged version.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:46 PM   #449
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Valladolid, Spain
Posts: 88
Default

Any suggestion of firmware for 2wd (8.5) and 4wd (6.5) mod offroad?.

and for a 13.5 2s F1?
prorace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 04:51 PM   #450
Tech Adept
 
xrayal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: hertforshire
Posts: 148
Default

cherry,as in highlight the two, right click, copy then paste them in?
or drag by holding the left button? also when bought new do they come standard with 1.02?????? or do i have to do wot gazmond said post 436 above.

prorace,
if your using 2s lipo in your f1 car your gonna get insane speed thats not needed. we are running standard 540 brushed on
2s and geared right they keep up with 13.5 A final boys.............. even in racecar they used teamwave 17.5 with the turbo and that was mad speeds on 2s.................. three racing f109.

thanks for all the assistance.

is anyone with the lcd and sp supercharger software going to maritime this saturday?????????????

Last edited by xrayal; 03-23-2010 at 05:05 PM.
xrayal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:19 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net