R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2009, 12:19 PM   #31
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koval View Post
i run with this 120A xerun and 3.5 t motor my shcumacher mi3.5 .when the outside temperature is 30 or more the heat protection stop the motor every 3 to 5 min ,in afternoon when the temperature is droop no problem at all without any overheat at motor.my spur is 89 and pinion 23 do you thing with a lower pinion would be better?in the instruction manual says that tha gear rate should be from 9.6 to 11 what does mean?
What are you running? 6v or 7.2-7.4v?If you're running on lipo try with a smaller pinion like 18T-20T to lower gearing.With 23T gearing is very high for a 3.5T motor.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 02:37 PM   #32
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koval View Post
i run with this 120A xerun and 3.5 t motor my shcumacher mi3.5 .when the outside temperature is 30 or more the heat protection stop the motor every 3 to 5 min ,in afternoon when the temperature is droop no problem at all without any overheat at motor.my spur is 89 and pinion 23 do you thing with a lower pinion would be better?in the instruction manual says that tha gear rate should be from 9.6 to 11 what does mean?
9.6-11 is the recommended ratio for that motor. Right now your ratio is 6.96 which is too low for a motor that fast. You should be starting around 10 which means you need a pinion with 16T (89/16x1.8). Just make sure the motor can be adjusted enough to reach the spur with a pinion that small.

By the way, what on earth is someone who doesn't understand gear ratios doing with a 3.5t motor??!! That's waaay to fast for you I think... LOL
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 09:57 AM   #33
Tech Adept
 
koval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: greece
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyanyde View Post
9.6-11 is the recommended ratio for that motor. Right now your ratio is 6.96 which is too low for a motor that fast. You should be starting around 10 which means you need a pinion with 16T (89/16x1.8). Just make sure the motor can be adjusted enough to reach the spur with a pinion that small.

... LOL
i didnt know how the gear ratio is calculating mister,i undertand very well what gear ratio doing ...read carefuly my post and try to be less ironic mister perfect!
koval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 11:05 AM   #34
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Default xerun v.2 for brushed

i have the xerun 60A ver.2 Esc, and like it very much, but cannot race using my B.L motor coz in here they still not allowed brushless. So can i want to use this Esc with brushed motor?? (stock.23T),how?
i think the old version can run brushed, maybe i need to change the firmware?
QDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 11:29 AM   #35
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Default xerun v.2 for brushed

i have the xerun 60A ver.2 Esc, and like it very much, but cannot race using my B.L motor coz in here they still not allowed brushless. So can i want to use this Esc with brushed motor?? (stock.23T),how?
i think the old version can run brushed, maybe i need to change the firmware?
QDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 12:55 PM   #36
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QDriver View Post
i have the xerun 60A ver.2 Esc, and like it very much, but cannot race using my B.L motor coz in here they still not allowed brushless. So can i want to use this Esc with brushed motor?? (stock.23T),how?
i think the old version can run brushed, maybe i need to change the firmware?
No brushed mode regardless of firmware for V2.0

koval, I'm no mister perfect. But you stated that you knew the recommended ratio and what you were running is obviously very far off. Please understand that running a motor that fast and hot can be dangerous if you don't know how to harness it correctly. Sorry if I offended you...
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:08 AM   #37
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

Hobbywing_USB_Link_setup_V1.5_090820.rar software is out. Download at hobbywing.com to update your usb link software. However there are no changes for Xerun software. I hope they're working on adding turbo!!
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 06:13 PM   #38
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default xerun v.2 EZrun v.2 for brushed

Quote:
QDriver
xerun v.2 for brushed
i have the xerun 60A ver.2 Esc, and like it very much, but cannot race using my B.L motor coz in here they still not allowed brushless. So can i want to use this Esc with brushed motor?? (stock.23T),how?
i think the old version can run brushed, maybe i need to change the firmware?
Quote:
cyanyde
Quote:
Originally Posted by QDriver View Post
i have the xerun 60A ver.2 Esc, and like it very much, but cannot race using my B.L motor coz in here they still not allowed brushless. So can i want to use this Esc with brushed motor?? (stock.23T),how?
i think the old version can run brushed, maybe i need to change the firmware?
No brushed mode regardless of firmware for V2.0

koval, I'm no mister perfect. But you stated that you knew the recommended ratio and what you were running is obviously very far off. Please understand that running a motor that fast and hot can be dangerous if you don't know how to harness it correctly. Sorry if I offended you...
What firmware version is still have Brushed mode ?

Quote:
cyanyde Hobbywing_USB_Link_setup_V1.5_090820.rar software is out. Download at hobbywing.com to update your usb link software. However there are no changes for Xerun software. I hope they're working on adding turbo!!
is Firmware 1.5 had Brushed Mode ?
Have you tried that ?

.
.
__________________
Quark Force

Last edited by irgo; 10-08-2009 at 06:53 PM.
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 07:36 PM   #39
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

No changes to esc firmware so still no brushed mode.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:41 PM   #40
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default brushed mode

the software version 1.5 had firmware changer
so if the firmware v2.0
changed into ex:
V1.2 or v1.1
there is possible to use old firmware to do brushed mode.

is this correct ?
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 08:53 PM   #41
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

Well that I won't know coz I don't know how the internals of the 2.0 is compared to the earlier versions. My guess would be the hardware configuration does not permit brushless mode even with a modified firmware.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:03 PM   #42
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default Brushed mode

Quote:
cyanyde Well that I won't know coz I don't know how the internals of the 2.0 is compared to the earlier versions. My guess would be the hardware configuration does not permit brushless mode even with a modified firmware.
well as i know brushless sensored method will not leave Brushed method,
but not with Brushless sensorless method which automaticaly switch between
3 phase wired.

so any sensored Brushless will always possible to do Brushed mode
this by understanding of it's hardware, which is controlled by the firmware.
Brushed controller is more simpler than sensored Brushless controller,
sensored Brushless will always using Brushed controller,
so brushed controller is on of the whole Sensored Brushless controller.
we could say :

On Sensored Brushless controller contain 3 Brushed Controller and some sensor reader.
No matter the 3 Brushed Controller is working on one Chip or 3 Chips,
the method remain the same.
and there is only required one thing, the software controller, and
that's is the firmware.

and what the software/firmware doing is replacing the commutator on Brushed motor, and all can be done with software.
That's why we can change the timing through software settings,
and the firmware will process to controll each phase, weather
positive or negative, and amount of open gate.

So, if the firmware controll each phase, positive or negative amount of open gate. The firmware can controll all phase tobe positive only or negative only,
or + + - or - + -
fixed polar, with variable open gate.
you named it.

So the key is the firmware.
hope this will help.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 10:25 PM   #43
Tech Addict
 
PaPeRo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 692
Default

That's very interesting, but I don't see why anybody would want to run a brushed motor instead of a brushless with a ESC that could work with both (via firmware) since with BL motor you get longer run times and less maintenance.
PaPeRo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 01:30 AM   #44
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,038
Default

Well, whatever it is I'm sure hobbywing have their reasons...
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 02:17 AM   #45
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaPeRo View Post
That's very interesting, but I don't see why anybody would want to run a brushed motor instead of a brushless with a ESC that could work with both (via firmware) since with BL motor you get longer run times and less maintenance.
- spec racing with brushed motors without having to buy another speedo
- different (better, actually) feel (mostly off-throttle)
- old stock of paid-for brushed motors to be used

you name it.

Some people still run E32 M3's.

Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:02 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net