R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-18-2010, 08:37 AM   #421
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sandhurst, UK
Posts: 43
Default

Do you have a LCD box with black buttons instead of silver ones? What version of the software are you running on the LCD box is it 1.04? Can you tell us what the version date is at the top of the instruction leaflet that comes with the box?

The newer hobbywing LCD boxes come with 1.04 pre-installed that can't be rolled back to an earlier version and are thus useless for putting SP software on your HW ESC.
gazmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 08:58 AM   #422
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 37
Default

I've updated to 1.04 from HW a while ago. When I got it, it was in some older version and I was able to update the LCD to 1.04 and ESC to SP110, but my LCD is still showing HW not SP.

I'll have to check the button color and the version# at home
X men is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:06 AM   #423
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sandhurst, UK
Posts: 43
Default

If you have updated from 1.02 to 1.04 then you should be able to put the software onto your esc, you will need to downgrade the LCD box to 1.02 then try it.
gazmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:11 AM   #424
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 37
Default

How do I get the LCD downgraded?
X men is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:21 AM   #425
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sandhurst, UK
Posts: 43
Default

I think that the 1.6 HW software will let you do it (choose the 1.02 from the drop down box then hit upgrade) if not the 1.5 software was linked a few pages back in this thread.
gazmond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:12 AM   #426
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 37
Default

Just checked, the LCD box is with black button. And I just downloaded the new sw from HW. It doesn't seems to have a big different when compare to the previous HW sw.

I tried to use the cd came with the box to downgrade the LCD to an older version. (the cd has 1.5) but since the LCD box has 1.04_091225, it won't let me do any update unless it senses there is a never than 1.04 sw.

I can choose the 1.02 in the hw or sp window but it won't allow me to update, it said it cannot be update to...etc

anyone any idea?? Thanks for the help! I really want to try the SC software!!
X men is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:17 AM   #427
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazmond View Post
I think that the 1.6 HW software will let you do it (choose the 1.02 from the drop down box then hit upgrade) if not the 1.5 software was linked a few pages back in this thread.
I downgraded mine to v1.02 with the v1.6_091119 version from my laptop but for an unknown reason i couldn't do it with the same version from my desktop.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:24 AM   #428
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
1.6 HW will not let you downgrade for sure.Maybe some 1.5 or 1.4 version can do it.
I have 1.5 in the CD and it won't let me update. No matter what software I loaded, SP1.31, SP1.32, HW1.5 and HW1.6, it always shows 1.04 in the version and got 1.02 only in the drop down bar. And it wont allow me to choose 1.02

Maybe need to erase the LCD box memory!? so that it will not compare the version date??
X men is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 11:28 AM   #429
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Try with the v1.6_091119 on some other computer.Thats the way it worked for me but don't ask me why.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 12:52 PM   #430
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
Try with the v1.6_091119 on some other computer.Thats the way it worked for me but don't ask me why.
I figured it out!
This is the way I did.
1) I erased all HW and SP softwares, just for a fresh start
2) Install HW1.5 from CD supplied from the box
3) go into the the HW folder and delete the version control file
4) download and install the SP1.32 and replace the 2 files as mentioned earlier in the thread.
5) update from the SP software and can choose from any version now

I hope it work for most of you had the same problem (V1.04 back to V1.02 or V1.03)
X men is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 06:04 PM   #431
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
Try calibrate it with throtle and brakes on EPA 100 and after calibration set the EPA on 110 on both.Maybe it works like this
+1

Quote:
Originally Posted by X men View Post
I figured it out!
This is the way I did.
1) I erased all HW and SP softwares, just for a fresh start
2) Install HW1.5 from CD supplied from the box
3) go into the the HW folder and delete the version control file
4) download and install the SP1.32 and replace the 2 files as mentioned earlier in the thread.
5) update from the SP software and can choose from any version now

I hope it work for most of you had the same problem (V1.04 back to V1.02 or V1.03)
Had I not been having a ball with the new software tonight this is what I would have suggested the HW and SP software does not like being double installed on a machine, is possible but must specify different folders when installing the software.


will upload tonights settings for 10.5 tomorrow all I can say is that the software is EVERYTHING that was promised, moved me up a final AND I won it! Got some rather odd observations though and will fill in when I have had some sleep.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 10:34 AM   #432
Tech Adept
 
steliosh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Penteli, Athens, Greece
Posts: 161
Default

Worked for me as well...
I had upgraded my HW LCD to 1.04 and there was no way to downgrade to 1.02... I installed in my kids' laptops as well, but nothing!

So, I followed what X Men said, taking it to a step beyond, by erasing every SP and HW parameter from the Registry Editor, and did it: Installed HW 1.5 from cd, deleted the control ini file and it worked!

Now... Will the SP Supercharger work with the XErun 60A v.2?!
steliosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 11:56 AM   #433
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steliosh View Post
Worked for me as well...
I had upgraded my HW LCD to 1.04 and there was no way to downgrade to 1.02... I installed in my kids' laptops as well, but nothing!

So, I followed what X Men said, taking it to a step beyond, by erasing every SP and HW parameter from the Registry Editor, and did it: Installed HW 1.5 from cd, deleted the control ini file and it worked!

Now... Will the SP Supercharger work with the XErun 60A v.2?!
No reason why not as it is basically an LPF lol.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 03:26 PM   #434
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Exclamation

when you think that there a new beta version ends up
maximnaegels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 05:04 PM   #435
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default 1st Races with Supercharger 10.5T

Hi all, have finally gotten round to upping some spec sheets for the Thursday night racing, some interesting results as you will see from the notes.

Speedo is an XERUN 120SD. programmed using the Hobbywing LCD card and the Hobbywing LED card for the Supercharger section.











For the last run had an enforced gear change due to the spur hanging out the bottom of the car, am going to keep at this gearing for the foreseeable future and play with the Boost levels, SC Punch and the AMTS timing and DDRS for the next meeting. Car was getting very quick on these settings and seeing as they are still on the low side am hopeful of the car getting much quicker as I work out the best settings.

As a note it seems to be best to set a 'reasonable' gearing level and then play with the settings to tune the car, as there are now so many parameters that can be changed it is a little time consuming but it's looking very good so far. Temps at the end of Run 5 were 50 degrees C, which means there is more room to go on all settings. Be aware though that my Novak is running the 13mm Rotor, which is a torquier item and also runs cooler and more efficient.

Power draw on previous 110 settings was anywhere between 2300 and 2600 for a 5 minute race, the supercharger was pulling out 1600 for the same race time, so seems a bit more efficient too.

More updates after next week’s running, hope this helps if not just ignore it all lol.

Cherry xx
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.

Last edited by cherry2blost; 03-20-2010 at 05:30 PM.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net