R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2010, 09:32 AM   #406
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dameetz View Post
My mate has tested this 231 firmware on his XeRun120 side by side with my Tekin RS Pro firmware 203.Both of us are using SP11.5T motor, FDR 7.99, same car TRF416X and same tyres. On a very long straight I say the top speed is almost the same as my Tekin. How ever my Tekin has more rips out of corner. When I drive his car I felt it was a bit soft in punch and the supercharger would only come in about 2/3 of the straight distance. Our motor temp was about the same at around 67-70ish deg C. this was only for initial test, I m sure this can be improve with a bit of fine tuning the esc set up. Overall I m impress with the new firmware. I just wish that the HW guys gave this firmware during recent TITC that I attended, at that time they only gave us firmware 229 eventhough we saw this 230 and 231 firmware on his PC.
I would have thought that you could solve the late turbo problem by dropping the engagement point for the turbo, it drops all the way down to 4000RPM lol, Jesus that'd be fun on the infield, touch the throttle and the car'd be in a wall.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 09:48 AM   #407
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
I would have thought that you could solve the late turbo problem by dropping the engagement point for the turbo, it drops all the way down to 4000RPM lol, Jesus that'd be fun on the infield, touch the throttle and the car'd be in a wall.
Well, it was already set at 4000rpm with delay of 0.2. I know this coz I set it up for him. Maybe tomorrow we test it with different gearing or timing. If you guys has any good setting pls post it here.
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:00 AM   #408
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 537
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Hi cherry, what version does the LCD programmer have to be in before it can update SP software ?
ronaldo-1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:18 AM   #409
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldo-1234 View Post
Hi cherry, what version does the LCD programmer have to be in before it can update SP software ?
V1.02
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 10:45 AM   #410
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Cherry how many settings do you have on menu #15? I have only 6.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:10 AM   #411
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
Cherry how many settings do you have on menu #15? I have only 6.
Lol let me finish writing this Lesson Plan and I will get back to you on that.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 03:50 PM   #412
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Tomorrow is the big day, have just dropped my best motor OUT of the car and put in a spare Novak 10.5 with a 13mm Rotor, as didn't want to blow my Fantom motor. Revving it up on the bench it sounds like a dentists drill and the turbo kicks in really well and you can hear when you adjust the revs at which it comes in, have mine set to 10k RPM but may need to drop that on the track, all other settings are at minimum except AMTS which is at the stock 11.25. Will update on the condition of my motor on Friday, kinda expecting it to blow though.
Good luck from me, the wether looks good to test whole day.
Hope you find the right set-up, for me it is also importend to drive a motor
with 12.3 rotor because it is stock spec for us together with 13.5 t.
Hope you find this as well.
Happy testing Cherry

Ed
eded1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 04:21 PM   #413
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eded1 View Post
Good luck from me, the wether looks good to test whole day.
Hope you find the right set-up, for me it is also importend to drive a motor
with 12.3 rotor because it is stock spec for us together with 13.5 t.
Hope you find this as well.
Happy testing Cherry

Ed
Thanks for that will let you know how it goes (or blows) here we have 10.5 as superstock and the maximum Rotor I believe is 13.5mm or 14mm. Will post findings on Friday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
Cherry how many settings do you have on menu #15? I have only 6.
Just checked 6 only mate.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 06:09 PM   #414
Tech Fanatic
 
unsp0ken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 781
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

So the LED card is the only way to change the parameters on this supercharger firmware?
unsp0ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:04 PM   #415
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unsp0ken View Post
So the LED card is the only way to change the parameters on this supercharger firmware?
Apparently so, I would expect the upcoming 'new' speed passion LCD Programmer to come with the new paramenters installed, but seeing as this is only beta software they used the LED card instead. The hobbywing LED card is cheap off of fleabay anyway so......... As a precaution though I wouldn't run this software without having an LED card unless you are running 13.5 or higher because the default settings on the software are set for 13.5 and will in all likelihood blow up anything hotter wound.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:25 AM   #416
Tech Addict
 
eceer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Okie dokie I did I updated the speedie with the new firmware. I have a problem however, I'm not able to recalibrate the speedie to hit the green light at the top of throttle.

Could it be i'm doing something wrong or the firmware not liking the radio. I'm using a ex-10. I've tried adjusting the TH: Hi-point all the way up to 150 with still no green light

Cherry you have the answer for most could you please me once again?
__________________
☞ Adelaide RC Team driver ☜
☞ Switchmedia ☜
☞ They're not toy cars, they are fine examples of engineering. When driven correctly are a joy to behold. ☜
eceer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:33 AM   #417
Tech Addict
 
eceer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Ok, I'm not sure exactly what difference it made, plugging in the motor got me a green light.

I did something I know I shouldn't have and free revved the motor to full beens to see what would happen. I must say it had quite the rip. I am so looking forward to the weekend.

Anyone got some gearing suggestion for a 17.5?

By all reports if it has similar characteristics to the tekin then I'll be starting around the 8.5 mark. Any thoughts?
__________________
☞ Adelaide RC Team driver ☜
☞ Switchmedia ☜
☞ They're not toy cars, they are fine examples of engineering. When driven correctly are a joy to behold. ☜
eceer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:40 AM   #418
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Try calibrate it with throtle and brakes on EPA 100 and after calibration set the EPA on 110 on both.Maybe it works like this
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 05:46 AM   #419
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

I haven't run it on track yet.After Sunday race i'll know if i'll go on with this esc and software or i'll move to the Mamba Max Pro.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 08:31 AM   #420
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 37
Default

When I try to update the LCD card after downloading the super charger files , replace and rename the two files. It would let me update, it said it cannot be update to older version. How do I reverse the LCS sofeware??
X men is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net