R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2010, 05:16 AM   #286
Tech Regular
 
ozzy Iedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 373
Trader Rating: 6 (88%+)
Default New 120a

Just got new hobbywing 120a blue esc so where do we start, Running 17.5 and 10.5 on outdoor large tarmac track with schumacher m14 chassis.

Thanks i know this question has been asked 1000 times. Shane
ozzy Iedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 06:11 PM   #287
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy Iedge View Post
Just got new hobbywing 120a blue esc so where do we start, Running 17.5 and 10.5 on outdoor large tarmac track with schumacher m14 chassis.

Thanks i know this question has been asked 1000 times. Shane
GET THE LCD
Run a Stock Software on it.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 06:48 PM   #288
Tech Addict
 
cherry2blost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 713
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy Iedge View Post
Just got new hobbywing 120a blue esc so where do we start, Running 17.5 and 10.5 on outdoor large tarmac track with schumacher m14 chassis.

Thanks i know this question has been asked 1000 times. Shane
Hi Shane, read back through the thread or just clicky the link for pertinent post.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/7023298-post226.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
GET THE LCD
Run a Stock Software on it.
Irgo that's not particularly helpful lol.
__________________
Tamiya TA05 Ver II, Hobbywing 13.5T, KO PROPO PDS-2501 ICS, Eagle Racing 6000 65C LiPo, Hobbywing XTREME STOCK 518/213) Sanwa/Airtronics MT4 2.4G Radio.
www.racersinexile.org.uk | 'Official Certified' UK/Euro Importer for the Hobbywing XERUN Series Equipment We ship the world !!!| Quote code 'cherry' for 10% discount on our Web Store.
cherry2blost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 08:45 PM   #289
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cherry2blost View Post
Hi Shane, read back through the thread or just clicky the link for pertinent post.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/7023298-post226.html



Irgo that's not particularly helpful lol.
Sorry if it wasn't helpful, just try to up the thread with help.


anyway i contacted HW Technical and this is the Funny Respond :

Quote:
Hello:
Yes ,you need re-upgared the software ,do it again. thanks!

Best Regards!

Michael liu
at that time maybe he was just want to go home
and he is answering without understand the problem.

and he say do it again, but without any software to reply.
oh well gotta wain until monday.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 12:38 AM   #290
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by irgo View Post
Sorry if it wasn't helpful, just try to up the thread with help.


anyway i contacted HW Technical and this is the Funny Respond :



at that time maybe he was just want to go home
and he is answering without understand the problem.

and he say do it again, but without any software to reply.
oh well gotta wain until monday.
This guy (Michael) when i asked him if its normal the fact that i could not downgrade my program box from v1.04 to v1.02 he answed me "Yes it's normal".Insted of this i did it with some help from razzor.Another time he told me that they sould release the new HW 110 stock until 10 Febr. but nothing so far.He don't understand nothing so any answer from him is useless.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 02:01 AM   #291
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,054
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

WTH That's really annoying
cheapskate.brok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 02:38 AM   #292
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Thats why im moving to the Castle Creations Mamba max Pro.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 08:10 AM   #293
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
This guy (Michael) when i asked him if its normal the fact that i could not downgrade my program box from v1.04 to v1.02 he answed me "Yes it's normal".Insted of this i did it with some help from razzor.Another time he told me that they sould release the new HW 110 stock until 10 Febr. but nothing so far.He don't understand nothing so any answer from him is useless.
Hm... i do believe in that point he is right.

as LCD Firmware
Version 1.04 is Superior than version 1.02, for like avoiding some bugs.

but returning newer version to the older one for a Firmware is always possible.
but it's the law of version bug. that's why it's called version, not modes or settings.

but yes you could acctualy return HW to SP or 1.04 to 1.02,

but why would you like to return to 1.02 from version 1.04 ?

since version 1.04 will work with SP and HW software(PC) either.

most of the previous problem was acctualy, the (PC)Software did not carry the older version of ESC Firmware, that's why you are having difficulties to return an updated version of ESC Firmware from Latest HW Software(pc) to an older HW Software(pc) or Latest SP Software(PC).

just to ensure you are all understand how software looks is :

ESC had it's own bootable software build in called Firmware.
LCD had it's own bootable software build in called Firmware.
PC USB Link (General Tools) is The PC Software not a firmware that carrying ESC Firmware and LCD Firmware.

This way why each software/Firmware has it's own version.
this is an example :

PC USB Link(General Tools) Software version 1.31 that carrying
1) LCD Firmware from ex : v1.02 to v1.03
2) ESC Firmware from ex : v090801 to v081201, and v081205.

PC USB Link(General Tools) Software version 1.32 that carrying
1) LCD Firmware from ex : v1.02 to v1.04
2) ESC Firmware from ex : v090801 to v081201 and v090205.

now let see when you are using ESC Firmware like v090205 it will just not recognize by the older version of PC(software).
to be able to use the v081205 you must do,
this way you must return from v090205 with PC Software v1.32, to ex: v081201. and then run the PC Software v1.31 to detect your v081201 to change it to v081205.
So about this, Michael and Razzor is both right.

a bit confusing, yes you might, that's why michael did not want you to do that.

in my opinion Michael should allow us to have all the firmware in one PC Software so we can used it back and forth.

Both Michael and Razzor method can be choose,


but now there is a bigger problem it's called Firmware Damaged
Firmware Damaged

That's Castle Creation also happen.

The best Method and secure Firmware Flash is TeamWave, untill now.

Read The Right Method Firmware Flash. and How To.

and all Manufacturer must follow this procedure for all their ESC.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 08:18 AM   #294
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

irgo in your case when you're talking about "firmware damaged" you mean that your esc or your program box,they don't work at all?
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:44 AM   #295
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

There is another thing that piss me off with Hobbywing.When there is an update version ,on the CAR_ESC_version_control.ini you can see something like this:
[CAR_ESC HW427_V1.0]
batch =1

versionnum1 =20
version1_1 =V1.00_080926a_U
version1_2 =V1.00_081014a_U
version1_3 =V1.00_081017a_U
version1_4 =V1.00_081025a_U
version1_5 =V1.00_081105a_U
version1_6 =V1.00_081206a_U
version1_7 =V1.00_081218a_U
version1_8 =V1.00_081231a_U
version1_9 =V1.10_090105a_U
version1_10 =V1.10_090115a_T
version1_11 =V1.10_090205a_T
version1_12 =V1.10_090205b_T
version1_13 =V1.10_090205c_T
version1_14 =V1.10_090205g_w
version1_15 =V1.10_090205f_T
version1_16 =V1.10_090205g_T
version1_17 =V1.10_090312a_T
version1_18 =V1.10_090323a_T
version1_19 =V1.10_090323a_w
version1_20 =V1.10_090323a_m
down1 =
up1 =
There is no other info about all these versions,what is the right one to use on mod. or stock motors etc.Nothing.I cannot try all these versions if i have not some info about each one.If someone hasn't access to this forum or someother similar,he will never know if he use the appropriate software version on his esc.This is sad.Thats why Castle creations will be one step ahead with their products.Right now i have an esc dead and a new one that i bought 20 days ago with some problems that i can't resolve and i have to sent them both to HK and to wait at least for a month to get them back. I hope i'll get my Mamba Max Pro this week and i'll say good bye for ever to Hobbywing.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:46 AM   #296
Tech Elite
 
razzor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Durban, South Africa
Posts: 2,810
Default

you guys should be happy, i havent recieved a single reply from HW for any of my emails in the last year. i dont bother anymore.
irgo have you tried SP v1.31 software ?
__________________
Casterracing ZX1.5R
casterracing EX-1 Pro, SP Silver Arrow
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 17.5, SP GT Pro 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 4.5 V2, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
TOP Racing Scythe, SP 13.5, Hobbywing Xerun 120SD 2.0
razzor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:55 AM   #297
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
you guys should be happy, i havent recieved a single reply from HW for any of my emails in the last year. i dont bother anymore.
irgo have you tried SP v1.31 software ?
razzor i will be happier when i'll get both speedos fixed and after this i know very well the way to the "eBay".
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 09:59 AM   #298
Tech Elite
 
dameetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: The Sky
Posts: 2,542
Default

What firmware for stock was the latest one from HW? During TITC this guy Michael helped us updating our XeRun to firmware 229 and 231. There was also firmware 230 from his PC but never gave it to us. After loading the 229 firmware our ESC drastically improved especially during the straight. However it was nothing compare to those on Tekins and SXX ss. I wanted to try full timing of 26deg but was advice by him not to use it coz it might smoke my motor. He set it up to just 18deg timing with punch of level 4. However I individually set mine to punch level 5 and the result my motor cogged like hell, cost me a 1 qualifying round....lol I should have listened to him...

Anyhow one of factory HW driver was in my group and his car was way faster than mine....he said he was using the same set up like mine (5.8FDR and all those set-up Michael did to my ESC). But honestly I think he must have been testing different firmware.....oh, this was all on stock 11.5T brussless class TITC SP motor non adjustable timing...
__________________
Dudududududuuuuuu.....
dameetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:05 AM   #299
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razzor View Post
you guys should be happy, i havent recieved a single reply from HW for any of my emails in the last year. i dont bother anymore.
irgo have you tried SP v1.31 software ?
SP v1.31 Confirmed, yes i tried that one,..
what's wrong ?
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:21 AM   #300
Tech Fanatic
 
irgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 893
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
irgo in your case when you're talking about "firmware damaged" you mean that your esc or your program box,they don't work at all?
yes, nothing is Damaged on it's Hardware,
but in the Firmware inside ESC.

This Damaged is causing The ESC fail to boot the system.
it's like hang on your computer or Stop responding.

The problem is if you connect the LCD or pBox to ESC, it will not read any Settings. if you read my link's. here
Speed Passion/HW required their LCD to comunicate first with ready Booted ESC, That's why The PC Software will not able to flash the ESC.

unlike the TeamWave they had the right method to Flash ESC directly throught the rom/chip. if you see the video and the manual you can understand with Error in the ESC, TeamWave will still able to Flash ESC.

Since TeamWave Doing the right way to Flash Their ESC.

ESC can be flashed the firmware when Switch off.
__________________
Quark Force
irgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:20 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net