R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2004, 08:41 PM   #1
Tech Apprentice
 
Geek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 78
Default Quantum 2 problems? 2 of mine died...

Has anyone else had LRP Quantum 2 problems?

I bought two of them. One was a week old and the brakes stopped working. The second one died today.. 3 weeks old.

I'm running STOCK 12th scale 4 CEL with them.. its not like I've been pushing them hard.

Anyone else hear of Q2s dieing?
Geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2004, 09:02 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Modesto, Ca
Posts: 991
Default

no problems with my q2's yet.
James Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 07:33 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: fall river, ma
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to presure2
Default quantum reverse problem..

hey man...its not a quantum2 but i picked up a quantum reverse for the wifes car on friday...ran it for maybe 2 runs saturday, 1 run sunday, switched batteries for the 2nd run, and the thing ATE itself...mad smoke coming outta the thing, and it looked like fireworks were going off in the case!!
ive had the same one in my car for months with no problems,...looks like i got a dud
manny
presure2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 05:28 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ft Collins, Co
Posts: 37
Default

I bought a new one for my 12th scale and it didn't work at all.
Dave
Fiddle Fadel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 05:32 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

im wondering on buying now with these complaint i think im sticking with my Q1
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 05:53 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Fire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Vancouver BC Canada
Posts: 703
Default

just send the esc back to associated and they should be able to take care of it if it doesn't work right out of the box


don't be too mean when you call assoicated coz they will hang up on people~
Fire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 05:54 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fire


don't be too mean when you call assoicated coz they will hang up on people~
haha Never knew that
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 05:55 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,828
Send a message via AIM to True R/C Racing
Default

actually they pretty nice @ snowbird i just got my esc like 3 days before it went to the birds and fried right in my car brought it to someguy gave me a brand new one
True R/C Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 06:47 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
tony q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 90631
Posts: 896
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Thumbs up gt7

try the gt7 or try it if you haven't tried it yet.i never had a problem,i got two the old version and the new one w/ a built in diode for my 2 cars.it rocks!!!!!!
tony q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 10:43 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

I smoked my QC1 (had smoke coming out of it, it smelled REALLY BAD), then I got really pissed and switched to the GT7, works great.
Tek Nickal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 12:19 AM   #11
Regional Moderator
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,179
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

just wondering if you guys wired the shock diode right...

i wired it backwards before and smoked the hell out of my cyclone before
disaster999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 06:01 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by disaster999
just wondering if you guys wired the shock diode right...

i wired it backwards before and smoked the hell out of my cyclone before
the one on the motor?

dont think the esc will kill itself cause of that, it will just pop.

This sounds like a case of reverse polarity issues. plugging the + into the - and the - into the + will blow speedys up. seen it happen many times, happened to my dad the other day. best thing to do is make it impossible to do. in my dads tc3 the batteries can only go in one way, and the wires have been cable tied so that plugs are always resting at the ends they are supposed to be, this way its impossible to blow the speedy up.
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 10:01 AM   #13
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have blown up way more gt7s the qc2s, i currently have the qc2s in my race cars and they all work great.
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 10:26 AM   #14
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

check your caps and wiring guys. i fried my esc cus the caps shorted across because i didnt insulate them. you can have any esc out there.. but if you wire them wrong or not insulate wires..... guaranteed it'll blow up!

other than user error.. my 2 ko propo VFS-2000s and hara twister have never failed me
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MINE QUAKE SE FT/FS ram-ctd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 07-13-2008 07:49 AM
Is mine too out dated? blast26 Nitro On-Road 12 10-01-2006 09:39 PM
here are a couple of mine slim_chadder Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 0 01-23-2005 12:26 AM
heres one of mine JCART RACING Painting, Designs, Graphics and Photography 4 11-09-2004 08:53 PM
Quantum 2 Problems TeamPink91 Electric On-Road 14 08-04-2004 12:01 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net