R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2009, 03:34 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio TX.
Posts: 6
Default tekin rotors

Not sure if this is the place to ask but ,I was just wonder if anyone knows if a tekin redline rotor will fit in a mamba max can.
WOLFMAN210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 03:43 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

I think that you can better buy a Tekin motor.
I don't think it will fit.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 04:16 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio TX.
Posts: 6
Default

I pretty sure im going to buy a tekin, but I have two mambas here with broken shafts and was just wondering.
WOLFMAN210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 08:40 PM   #4
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFMAN210 View Post
I pretty sure im going to buy a tekin, but I have two mambas here with broken shafts and was just wondering.
Send the motors into Castle and I'm pretty sure it will done under warranty with little to no charge to do so.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2009, 09:12 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio TX.
Posts: 6
Default

LOL I had to fight with them today to try to get them to warranty the one I have there now. They pretty much told me that I dont know what i am doing even though i have been doing this for a little over 10 years, and that everybody that races at the track that I race at that has broken one doesnt know what there doing either.we had 4 or 5 break about 3 weeks ago and 2 were mine.Hell we had the world finals here last year and guys were breaking them but I guess they didnt know what they were doing either.That pretty much made up my mind that i will repair the ones I have left, sell them and go tekin from here on out.
WOLFMAN210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 12:45 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
snellemin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I feel your frustration Wolfman. On the older MM motors, the rotor would bend but never snapped like the new motors. LRP stock motors same thing. The black rotor snapped in no time. But I stuck in the old 14mm version rotor in there and still runs. The so called hardend rotor shaft just don't cut it. Non of my hacker and lehner motors ever snapped under the same circumstances.

Castle please go back to the original rotors.
__________________
6 KiloWatt Racer
GTP-1515 2700kv+RX8. GTP-C50-6L Hacker+RX8. CRT.5-C50-Maxx+modded RSpro.
RCM CRT.5 Neu 1506 6800kv+MMM.
snellemin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 08:47 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
SunnyHouTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I also had the same experience as Wolfman regarding getting replacements for broken motor shafts. I think I broke four or five in the span of two races, and I was told by the Castle CSR that my set up was faulty. I doubt that, since my car ran fine before that for a long time. Anyway, after I raised hell, he reluctantly agreed to replace the motors. I sold all but two of them (keeping them as back ups) and have gone to another brand and have had no issues since. Coincidence? I think NOT.

It is of note that I upgraded all my motors to the "new" design to take advantage of the better bearings that they supposedly have. Instead, I was plagued with a whole slew of motor shafts breaking. If only they offered us an option of getting a 5mm shaft from the factory, I would still be using the Castle motors. This option was also discussed with the Castle CSR's on numerous occasions and I was told that this was not possible. Oh well.
SunnyHouTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:38 AM   #8
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I know are hobby shop had a guy who broke 4 or 5 shafts in a weeks span. Castle did replace them no problems. I did come to find out the guy was jumping huge huge ramps and tumbling numerous times. He hit a ramp with his Rustler at full tilt (approx 45 to 50mph) and then wondered why they broke. The problem with the shafts breaking at the shop was almost a year ago. We haven't had any since that one guy. It was the same guy every time.

Just curious what type of racing are eac of you guys doing or what type of running are you doing when the shafts break? I would think sometype of offroad where your catching some sort of air.

I know Castle did change to some newer style shafts that where a little thicker coming out of the motor.

The newr style sensorless motors from Castle will be ROAR approved and will be able to take them apart. Not sure exactly when this is taking place of if it is a running change but after the owner at Castle met with ROAR that is two of the things ROAR wanted from the Castle motors to be legal for mod racing.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:51 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Helmond
Posts: 1,544
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFMAN210 View Post
LOL I had to fight with them today to try to get them to warranty the one I have there now. They pretty much told me that I dont know what i am doing even though i have been doing this for a little over 10 years, and that everybody that races at the track that I race at that has broken one doesnt know what there doing either.we had 4 or 5 break about 3 weeks ago and 2 were mine.Hell we had the world finals here last year and guys were breaking them but I guess they didnt know what they were doing either.That pretty much made up my mind that i will repair the ones I have left, sell them and go tekin from here on out.
you will love the Tekin motor. I have one and it's my best motor.
strong reliable and fast, very vast!!
And there service is great.

I believe that Castle creations has also a good service.
Heard only good things about it out here.
__________________
http://www.mikky32.com
Tekin RS pro
TOP racing Photon
Tekin Redline 10,5
Protoform LTC-R
mikky32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 05:47 PM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio TX.
Posts: 6
Default

I drag race so not getting any air. They have broken of the start, in the middle of a run, and under breaking.So they are not breaking the same way every time.The thing that also make me mad is that I run in the IMDRA series and they are a sponsor (and I thank them for that) so I support them by running there product , but when they don't want to back up there warranty that's not cool, and then tell me that I don't know what i am doing. I not the only that has had trouble getting warranty either most of the other guys had to fight them to.So anyway I have seen what the tekins can do and there rotors are replaceable so I am sold, but I will still use the mamba esc.
WOLFMAN210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:54 PM   #11
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOLFMAN210 View Post
I drag race so not getting any air. They have broken of the start, in the middle of a run, and under breaking.So they are not breaking the same way every time.The thing that also make me mad is that I run in the IMDRA series and they are a sponsor (and I thank them for that) so I support them by running there product , but when they don't want to back up there warranty that's not cool, and then tell me that I don't know what i am doing. I not the only that has had trouble getting warranty either most of the other guys had to fight them to.So anyway I have seen what the tekins can do and there rotors are replaceable so I am sold, but I will still use the mamba esc.
I would suggest talking to Joe Ford. Not sure if that is who you talked to but I can't imagine he would tell you that. I would email him or try him on the phone but normally email is best. Give him a few days to get back because I know his work load is enough for 3 or 4 people.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:06 PM   #12
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio TX.
Posts: 6
Default

Ok, Well maybe ill try that ,I cant remember the guys name he was in tech support I think his name was Thomas, and if I also remember correctly he has given the other guys a really hard time to from what I have heard.
WOLFMAN210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:18 PM   #13
Team Tekin
 
Randy_Pike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Norcal
Posts: 9,702
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Randy_Pike
Default

Our rotors will not fit any other motor, Tekin's only.
__________________
"Things may come to those who wait, but only the things left by those who hustle." Abraham Lincoln

Tekin,Protek,A-Main Hobbies,JConcepts,Avid RC,Yokomo,MIP,SikLidz,FactoryRC, www.randypikerc.com
Randy_Pike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:24 PM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio TX.
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you for answer my question .
WOLFMAN210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ask Team Tekin StephenSobottka Team and Company Discussions 1027 12-08-2017 12:30 PM
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18837 11-05-2017 05:29 AM
Team Orion Joe Pillars Team and Company Discussions 486 05-06-2017 03:02 AM
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Losi 1/8 Xceleron Good? yfzracer912 Electric Off-Road 16 06-18-2009 10:51 AM
Brushless Motor Rotor Differences MoonTrap Electric On-Road 19 05-28-2009 04:42 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net