R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-28-2005, 08:36 PM   #1336
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 500
Default

I guess anything is worth a shot at this point (cutting the antenna), but I did come across something today that is quite interesting. Is this 'range' problem a matter of voltage? Well, according to some experimenting today, it seems to be. First of all, Spektrum's claim of 1000ft range is total crap. After contemplating things for awhile, it seemed quite odd to me that within 50ft or so of my cars they worked perfect. No delay, no glitching. It would lead me to believe that there is nothing wrong with my system. I then realized that I was using 8 rechargable NiMH AAs in my radio. The intial voltage from a charge is roughly 11.0 volts, but usually levels off to 10.3-10.4 for most of time before I charge them again. I then thought that maybe stronger voltage would increase the signal to my cars. I threw in some Alkaline AAs and sure enough, it extended my range. It wasn't anything spectacular since I'd say only added on another 30-40ft, but enough to run at most large tracks.

Does this seem right to any of you? Why would this system require 11-12 volts constantly? Is it designed exclusively for higher voltage? I've used NiMH AAs in my radios for a long time and never had a problem with range until getting this spektrum system. As a matter of fact, after thinking back to the first days I had it, this problem has always occured, and I didn't realize what was happening. First of all, the first track of the season at my local track was built smaller since people didn't want to use all of the space. Also, other tracks I've visited were a bit smaller and I never came across this problem. I didn't notice it until my home track built a larger track for the Kyosho challenge, and also when I've been breaking in engines I drive back and forth a bit of distance away from me and at times my car for an extra 2-4 seconds would keep driving straight and then kick back on! This problem has been there the whole time!

What battery sources do you all use in your radios? I also had someone helping me out today with my range experiments. I was told every time the wheels/throttle locked up, the green light on the reciever turned off. The same thing happens if you turn off your transmitter while the car is still turned on. That definitely tells me that the range of the spektrum is the real issue. The receiver loses signal from the transmitter since the transmitter can't send signal past a certain distance.

Lastly, any of you running the Helios/spektrum combo, please try out this small range experiment. See how far you can walk away from your cars before the wheels lock up. Maybe mine isn't the only one having problems. All I do is constantly turn my wheels back and forth. The wheels will definitely lock up if I am far enough away. See if it happens to you. I will call Horizon on Monday to see if they have any answers for this.
Laterilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2005, 08:47 PM   #1337
Tech Master
 
dado11g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI and proud of it
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to dado11g Send a message via AIM to dado11g Send a message via Yahoo to dado11g
Default

i will test that for you tomorrow, im off to bed now
dado11g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 07:05 AM   #1338
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Default

where am i able to get KO Propo - EX-10 Hellios Special Edition, 27MHz online? other than shoptron or something
lolol123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 07:51 AM   #1339
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

RCmodel HK should have it. It's listed on their site anyway
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 08:07 AM   #1340
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 29
Default

they told me out of stock
lolol123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 09:19 AM   #1341
Tech Initiate
 
AKARA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -Joey Ellis-
Posts: 41
Default

Please keep us posted about this. Thanks for your info!




Quote:
Originally Posted by Laterilus
I guess anything is worth a shot at this point (cutting the antenna), but I did come across something today that is quite interesting. Is this 'range' problem a matter of voltage? Well, according to some experimenting today, it seems to be. First of all, Spektrum's claim of 1000ft range is total crap. After contemplating things for awhile, it seemed quite odd to me that within 50ft or so of my cars they worked perfect. No delay, no glitching. It would lead me to believe that there is nothing wrong with my system. I then realized that I was using 8 rechargable NiMH AAs in my radio. The intial voltage from a charge is roughly 11.0 volts, but usually levels off to 10.3-10.4 for most of time before I charge them again. I then thought that maybe stronger voltage would increase the signal to my cars. I threw in some Alkaline AAs and sure enough, it extended my range. It wasn't anything spectacular since I'd say only added on another 30-40ft, but enough to run at most large tracks.

Does this seem right to any of you? Why would this system require 11-12 volts constantly? Is it designed exclusively for higher voltage? I've used NiMH AAs in my radios for a long time and never had a problem with range until getting this spektrum system. As a matter of fact, after thinking back to the first days I had it, this problem has always occured, and I didn't realize what was happening. First of all, the first track of the season at my local track was built smaller since people didn't want to use all of the space. Also, other tracks I've visited were a bit smaller and I never came across this problem. I didn't notice it until my home track built a larger track for the Kyosho challenge, and also when I've been breaking in engines I drive back and forth a bit of distance away from me and at times my car for an extra 2-4 seconds would keep driving straight and then kick back on! This problem has been there the whole time!

What battery sources do you all use in your radios? I also had someone helping me out today with my range experiments. I was told every time the wheels/throttle locked up, the green light on the reciever turned off. The same thing happens if you turn off your transmitter while the car is still turned on. That definitely tells me that the range of the spektrum is the real issue. The receiver loses signal from the transmitter since the transmitter can't send signal past a certain distance.

Lastly, any of you running the Helios/spektrum combo, please try out this small range experiment. See how far you can walk away from your cars before the wheels lock up. Maybe mine isn't the only one having problems. All I do is constantly turn my wheels back and forth. The wheels will definitely lock up if I am far enough away. See if it happens to you. I will call Horizon on Monday to see if they have any answers for this.
AKARA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 11:45 AM   #1342
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

I've been racing nitro with my Spektrum at huge tracks, non-cut antenna but the wire inside the body. And im using rechargeable Nimh batteries that often lie under 10v, and i haven't got any problems at all with the range.
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 11:54 AM   #1343
Tech Elite
 
theisgroup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,191
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

some of you problems maybe your test case. i would think that am/fm travel through walls a lot better then dsm. 2.4 is not so great through walls. I know my 802.11 AP barely works through my house. But a simple fm transmitter with not much power seams to work ok. with your cars behind your garage wall, you may be seeing that problem. Most tracks are not hidden by walls. just a column or 2 and then with the car moving, it is just for milliseconds. you may try your test at the track. put the car on the far end and see if you still have the problem
__________________
yang lai

Team Tamale | Team Tekin | RCAmerica | Speedmerchant | Speedzone RC | EA Motorsports | Ko Propo USA | eXpress Motorsports | Parma/PSE
theisgroup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 01:11 PM   #1344
Tech Elite
 
Carl Giordano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Upper Saddle RIver, NJ
Posts: 2,309
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laterilus
I

Does this seem right to any of you? Why would this system require 11-12 volts constantly? Is it designed exclusively for higher voltage? I've used NiMH AAs in my radios for a long time and never had a problem with range until getting this spektrum system. As a matter of fact, after thinking back to the first days I had it, this problem has always occured, and I didn't realize what was happening.

What battery sources do you all use in your radios?

Lastly, any of you running the Helios/spektrum combo, please try out this small range experiment.
I've use in both my Mars R and Helios transmitters a 3s 2300MH Li-Poly. (no longer need the Mars R, love my Helios) Bassically, I wired a small plug directly to the battery terminals within the transmitter case. This allows me to charge / change transmitter packs when needed.

When fully charged, the 3s output is over 12.6volys according to the volt meter on the transmitter...It seems to level off around 12.0 volts and stays there for what seems like forever. I recharge the pack after the voltage drops down to 10.9.

I've seen guys run with a spectrum / helios combo with mixed results....personally I'm skeptical...as I'm not 100% certain the spectrum engineers worked directly with manufacturers like KO / Airtronics / Futaba...etc to develop the spetrum system for each radio system.

Besides, with more and more people running the spectrum system I find getting a frequency clip is never an issue any more....
__________________
Mugen Racing / OS Engines / KO Propo / Byron Fuels / Schuur Speed Motors / AKA / Bruckner Hobbies / Tamiya M-Chassis / Kyosho / Yokomo / 360v2 Raceway / Cruzin with RC
Carl Giordano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 02:40 PM   #1345
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theisgroup
some of you problems maybe your test case. i would think that am/fm travel through walls a lot better then dsm. 2.4 is not so great through walls. I know my 802.11 AP barely works through my house. But a simple fm transmitter with not much power seams to work ok. with your cars behind your garage wall, you may be seeing that problem. Most tracks are not hidden by walls. just a column or 2 and then with the car moving, it is just for milliseconds. you may try your test at the track. put the car on the far end and see if you still have the problem
I thought of that as well, but then I was able to disprove it when I went to the track. Remember when I tried the distance test with the higher voltage and got more distance? I was in the parking lot of our track which was unobstructed completely from transmitter to car. It still lost signal after about 80-100 ft.

I'm starting to think that Horizon didn't completely check out my module. Maybe my antenna severed itself inside the black sheath that goes around the wire? I don't know... we'll see once I talk to them later on this afternoon.
Laterilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 07:23 PM   #1346
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Called Horizon today. They say they have no idea and that they've never heard of this problem before. So, I get to send them in again.

KO PROPO staff, is there any chance the transmitter could be causing this problem? Again, since I have the mini z module, what crystal sets and receivers can I purchase to see if the transmitter will cause the same problem when using crystals as opposed to the spektrum?
Laterilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2005, 07:41 PM   #1347
Tech Master
 
dado11g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI and proud of it
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to dado11g Send a message via AIM to dado11g Send a message via Yahoo to dado11g
Default

did you cut the antenna?
dado11g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 07:15 AM   #1348
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 500
Default

No, I didn't cut the antenna. If Horizon can't find a problem, I want them to send me new equipment and that would probably ruin my warranty if I cut the antenna.
Laterilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 01:02 PM   #1349
Tech Master
 
dado11g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Farmington Hills, MI and proud of it
Posts: 1,059
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to dado11g Send a message via AIM to dado11g Send a message via Yahoo to dado11g
Default

ok... but when you think about it, look at a cordless phone... they run on 2.4ghz this day in age. their ntenna is no more than 2-3 inches.
dado11g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2005, 01:10 PM   #1350
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

RCmart.com has a awsome price on the Helios now, Tx only. 175.90 USD. Perfect for you who want to get the Spektrum and radio
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ko propo helios alexisonfire Australia For Sale/Trade 7 03-06-2008 04:19 AM
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios 40 Mhz jca2000au Australia For Sale/Trade 0 12-06-2007 09:03 PM
**EX-10 HELIOS KO PROPO*** nsupra R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-14-2006 09:11 PM
Ko Propo Ex-10 Helios hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-03-2005 07:58 PM
F.S.> KO Propo Helios... plus Bwadd2002 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-19-2004 09:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net