R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2005, 09:48 PM   #1246
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dado11g
well, i wish i could afford it, how much does the whole system cost? and i will need an extra reciever or two
Assuming you have the transmitter already, around $160.00.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2005, 03:25 AM   #1247
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
The radio comes with the switch in the High (H) position and 2 CH mode (Advanced HSR) from factory. Pulling the module out does not hurt the pins. SLAMMING the module into the radio does. You can brake the solder joints and/or the PCB trace. Just take care when re-installing the module.
-Robert
Thanks for the info Ko staff
I have just purchased the radio set and have not touched the switch at the back but have played with the 2ch and 3 ch modes. currently its now on the 2-ch mode so theortically im in AHRS mode. But weird thing is im currently using a mars R reciever as i havent set up my race car yet to use the helios reciever. But i have not expereienced any problems so far with AHRS mode + mars R (301) receiver is this normal?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 11:59 AM   #1248
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Hey everyone, I was wondering how many of you have had to send back your Helios for Pot replacement/repair? Just curious because I have heard from one of my local racers that after a year of continuous use, the Helios will need to be sent in for Pot replacement because the measurements will not stay constant.
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 12:55 PM   #1249
Tech Regular
 
nw racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA.
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_bam226
Hey everyone, I was wondering how many of you have had to send back your Helios for Pot replacement/repair? Just curious because I have heard from one of my local racers that after a year of continuous use, the Helios will need to be sent in for Pot replacement because the measurements will not stay constant.
Well my radio is on its way back from KO right now from having the pot replaced. My helios is only like 6 months old, but I have a feeling it was damaged when it was shipped to me after I bought it. Guess that's a good reason to buy insurance like I didn't do.

On the up side it is cheap to have replaced.
nw racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 12:56 PM   #1250
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainTeased
Thanks for the info Ko staff
I have just purchased the radio set and have not touched the switch at the back but have played with the 2ch and 3 ch modes. currently its now on the 2-ch mode so theortically im in AHRS mode. But weird thing is im currently using a mars R reciever as i havent set up my race car yet to use the helios reciever. But i have not expereienced any problems so far with AHRS mode + mars R (301) receiver is this normal?
The KR-301 receiver may seem to work, but you may run into the receiver freezing at times. The signal is faster and sometimes the receiver gets confused. This may also seem like a glitch when you are using the equipment.

This may occur also if you are using analog servos in the AHSR mode with either reciever.

-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:20 PM   #1251
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dado11g
well, i wish i could afford it, how much does the whole system cost? and i will need an extra reciever or two
Actually, The whole Spektrum system (module and receiver) is cheaper than buying one KR-302 and a module for the Helios, so don't say they're very expensive
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:47 PM   #1252
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hebiki: When you coming up again ??? Jaime is looking for a battle .
__________________
http://nitrokb.netne.net/profiles/RogerSerafin.html
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 02:01 PM   #1253
Tech Master
 
rc_bam226's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,074
Default

Hey NW Racer, how much did the repair job cost?
rc_bam226 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 03:04 AM   #1254
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
The KR-301 receiver may seem to work, but you may run into the receiver freezing at times. The signal is faster and sometimes the receiver gets confused. This may also seem like a glitch when you are using the equipment.

This may occur also if you are using analog servos in the AHSR mode with either reciever.

-Robert
Thanks Robert
i've also had a go at taking out the module now i understand why you have to be careful but its all good

also can we buy the steering pots ourselves and replace them ourselves? instead of sending it away.
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 04:35 AM   #1255
Tech Regular
 
nw racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA.
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_bam226
Hey NW Racer, how much did the repair job cost?
It was real cheap, 22 bucks parts and labor and then 12.00 for shipping back to me.
nw racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 10:41 AM   #1256
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrainTeased
Thanks Robert
i've also had a go at taking out the module now i understand why you have to be careful but its all good

also can we buy the steering pots ourselves and replace them ourselves? instead of sending it away.
Pots are a service item only, sorry. This is to prevent people from damaging their equipment.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:16 PM   #1257
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger
Hebiki: When you coming up again ??? Jaime is looking for a battle .
oh god... he'll have to look harder. i have nothing for that guy! i was just up there last weekend. ill be up again in sept. and then october. HOPEFULLY gilroy will be racing again.

robert.. sent you YET another PM.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 07:08 PM   #1258
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3 racer sc
thxs
hey ko staff my helio will be there by thursday remember the pins in the bck of the radio that hold the transmitter case is lose also i need some sticker if u got them any question u can call me 8032898183 reggie thxs and also a foam wheel too thxs
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 08:47 PM   #1259
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 156
Default vantage type r

Is the Vantage Type R the stick equivalent of the Helios, or is it older technology?
I noticed the Vantage comes with a KR301 rather than the 302...
If it is older technology, can we expect to see a newer KO stick radio?

thanks,
-Michael
semper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2005, 04:21 AM   #1260
Tech Master
 
BrainTeased's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
Pots are a service item only, sorry. This is to prevent people from damaging their equipment.
thanks for the reply Mr Robert

lucky last question
i havent read much about the "adjust VR" setting option in great detial but im assuming this has something to do with the steering pot?
__________________
www.feralbatteries.com.au
BrainTeased is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ko propo helios alexisonfire Australia For Sale/Trade 7 03-06-2008 04:19 AM
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios 40 Mhz jca2000au Australia For Sale/Trade 0 12-06-2007 09:03 PM
**EX-10 HELIOS KO PROPO*** nsupra R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-14-2006 09:11 PM
Ko Propo Ex-10 Helios hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-03-2005 07:58 PM
F.S.> KO Propo Helios... plus Bwadd2002 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-19-2004 09:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:03 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net