Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's >

KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

Old 12-29-2004, 10:22 AM
  #676  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

I bought a KO Helios recently, and it's awesome.
But i've encountered a problem: My analog Hitec servo(625MG) went totally nuts when i installed it, so i borrowed a PDS-2143 servo at the first race with the radio. It worked flawless, and my car was never so easy to drive. When i got the cash to buy my own servo, a PDS-2363 it didn't go all that well. The servo makes weird noises all the time, something the PDS-2143 did not. The servo seem to operate fine, but the noise is freaking me out. Haven't tried the car on the track yet, just in my pit at home.
Is this normal or is the servo ruined?
Erlend is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 10:28 AM
  #677  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

wait kind of noise is it making? does it sound like the servo is constantly on, like a buzz? if so thats normal (most digital servos are constantly trying to center), but i would suggest you make sure you are not in super HRS mode if you still run an analog servo.

Ko propo rocks, but word to ko propo staff, ADD STICKERS TO THE RADIO!!!!! you pay $$$ for it and you dont even get stickers, come on. LOL.
onebeatuptc3 is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 10:47 AM
  #678  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 139
Default

The sound is not like normal servo operating sound, and its only there from time to time. I guess it'll work out just fine.

Yes, some decals would be nice! None of the KO products include decals, that really sucks. When Peak includes decals with $3,50 brushes, you should include them with $250+ radio gear.

The user manual is also kind of cryptic, not super easy to navigate through and understand. Futaba manuals are a lot better......
Erlend is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:07 PM
  #679  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Erlend
The sound is not like normal servo operating sound, and its only there from time to time. I guess it'll work out just fine.

onebeatuptc3 hit it on the nose. the servo is constantly centering itself. also, if you set your radio so that the trim is adjusted slightly to left or right, once you turn on your car, the servo will center itself to that setting. i have a 2343 and a 2143 in my cars and they make all kinds of funky noises. nothing to be worried about.

one thing to check tho, make sure your crystal pins (the crystal that goes into the receiver) isnt bent. same with the one for the radio. it'll cause the radio to not have a solid connection with the crystal and might cause your car to glitch.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 05:07 PM
  #680  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Bob Nilsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My god... are the Helios receivers really $100 a pop?

Anyone know where I can get better pricing on these?

I like my new Helios, but I'm gonna have trouble buying receivers for $100 each
Bob Nilsen is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 03:02 PM
  #681  
Registered User
 
OB42TC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 417
Default

What could be causing my car to glitch at a certain point on the track only when running with 6+ people on the stand. Doesn't happen at all when it is just me practicing and also happens between cars. Happens on channel 69-70 on two diff radios and 3 diff receivers. Swapped in a 27 mhz module and receiver and had no problems. I've component swapped everything but the 75 mhz module and I will try some other channels this weekend. This is indoor with flourescent lighting. What is the formula for cross-frequency modulation? The other channels were:77, 63,82,70 (me), 62. Any ideas? I am getting extremely frustrated.
OB42TC3 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 06:42 PM
  #682  
Tech Regular
 
miniracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 268
Default

I've noticed a lot more people having glitches on 75mhz than any other frequency. I use 40mhz and 27mhz and never glitched in our track, which is surrounded by wire fence and has alot of flourescent lights in the pits, which is in front of the track.
miniracer is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 06:58 PM
  #683  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

ive never had a problem with glitching on the 75 band. But im also on crystals 89 and 90. Others at my track run 69-70 and never had that problem, and we have big out door lighting and wire fence around our facility. Has anyone else had that problem within those channels at your track, if so, then its not just you. Also what i would do is make sure none of your crystals are bad or anyone elses crystals that are close to your frequency are bad. one time at the track, somone had a bad set, and it would cross over different channels, so a few people had recieved interference.
onebeatuptc3 is offline  
Old 12-31-2004, 07:26 PM
  #684  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by OB42TC3
What could be causing my car to glitch at a certain point on the track only when running with 6+ people on the stand. Doesn't happen at all when it is just me practicing and also happens between cars. Happens on channel 69-70 on two diff radios and 3 diff receivers. Swapped in a 27 mhz module and receiver and had no problems. I've component swapped everything but the 75 mhz module and I will try some other channels this weekend. This is indoor with flourescent lighting. What is the formula for cross-frequency modulation? The other channels were:77, 63,82,70 (me), 62. Any ideas? I am getting extremely frustrated.
check all your pins (module, crystals and crystals on your radio). if any are bent, you wont get a good solid connect and might cause you to glitch.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 09:02 PM
  #685  
Tech Regular
 
Claydoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: being there
Posts: 402
Default

anybody using the helios with a futaba 9650 servo?Do all response modes work?
Claydoh is offline  
Old 01-02-2005, 10:20 PM
  #686  
Tech Regular
 
razzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Crappy MN weather!
Posts: 426
Default

Originally posted by Claydoh
anybody using the helios with a futaba 9650 servo?Do all response modes work?
It's digital, so it should work in AHSR mode. I'm running 9550 with 0 issues.
razzo is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 08:22 AM
  #687  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
onebeatuptc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Outside Peachtree city in GA
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Im running my helios with a 9350 servo in AHRS mode, and have no problems. Heck, I let someone try my tc3 with AHRS, and they were like, its amazing how quick the car responds, like its more sensitive, and he has an M8! Score one for a helios
onebeatuptc3 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 08:33 AM
  #688  
Tech Regular
 
Claydoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: being there
Posts: 402
Default

Good. I need a new 12th scale servo and like the Futaba http://www.servocity.com/html/s9650_mini_digital.html

I had an M8. Had a cheap feel to it and drank batteries. Helios has a better feel I think.
Claydoh is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:30 PM
  #689  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Travis S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Moline, IL
Posts: 1,371
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Dumb question - What voltage should my radio read on a full charge? I have Nimh cells and they are 2100mah... is 10.9 sound right or should it be more?
Travis S is offline  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:43 PM
  #690  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Bob Nilsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Travis... each of the nimh cells should put out at least 1.2v... x8 makes it 9.6v total. So... your 10.9 is totally fine.

I think my radio says it's at 10.1v right now.
Bob Nilsen is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.