Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's >

KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's

Reply

Old 09-30-2004, 12:36 AM
  #346  
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Default

Another question:

I want to increase the "sensitivity" of the trigger (throttle), because I have to pull at least 1/8-1/4 back till the ESC engages. I set up the ESC correctly as well. Is there anyway to do this?

I remember with my old 3PJ, the slightest touch of the throttle engages the ESC and the car moves.

Thanks!
DOMOisCOOL is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 12:45 AM
  #347  
Tech Adept
 
wothrottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 171
Default

I had the same problem,adjust the throttle punch,I had to go to 40%.
hope that helps.
wothrottle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 01:46 AM
  #348  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by wothrottle
I had the same problem,adjust the throttle punch,I had to go to 40%.
hope that helps.
wothrottle.. u dont have problems with wheelspin? i guess it depends on your esc too.. i have some slight wheelspin when i race parking lot (low traction + low drive frequency settings on my VFS2000) i keep mine around 10% for parking lot.

dont forget to set your throttle hi-point to 150 too. the default setting for the Mars-R and Helios is at 100.

try adjusting your throttle curve too.. it'll make it more sensitive at the beginning and dull it out on the other end (robert, correct me if im wrong on that one)
Hebiki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 01:28 PM
  #349  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

KO PROPO Staff,

Hey I just picked up my ex-10, what do I need to program from my pc? ...do you have a part number of what we need to I can get Billy @ Speedworld raceway to order it for me? Also, on the 2343 servo, what is needed to program it from the pc? I downloaded all the pcsoftware and I can program my VFS1, just need to know what all missing pieces there is to program the 2343 and the ex10.
HarshGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 01:34 PM
  #350  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
RACETEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Irving, Tx
Posts: 1,253
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

KO PROPO STAFF,
Am I correct on my assumption of the third channel function??
RACETEK is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 02:07 PM
  #351  
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
KO PROPO Staff,

Hey I just picked up my ex-10, what do I need to program from my pc? ...do you have a part number of what we need to I can get Billy @ Speedworld raceway to order it for me? Also, on the 2343 servo, what is needed to program it from the pc? I downloaded all the pcsoftware and I can program my VFS1, just need to know what all missing pieces there is to program the 2343 and the ex10.
# 61001 is the Value kit that includes cables to set up the Helios, Digital servos and VFS esc's. All the programs is included to do it. I have it and it works flawlessly
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 02:20 PM
  #352  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Sparx
# 61001 is the Value kit that includes cables to set up the Helios, Digital servos and VFS esc's. All the programs is included to do it. I have it and it works flawlessly
saweet ....ty
HarshGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 02:37 PM
  #353  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
KO PROPO Staff,

Hey I just picked up my ex-10, what do I need to program from my pc? ...do you have a part number of what we need to I can get Billy @ Speedworld raceway to order it for me? Also, on the 2343 servo, what is needed to program it from the pc? I downloaded all the pcsoftware and I can program my VFS1, just need to know what all missing pieces there is to program the 2343 and the ex10.
If you already have the PC Interface then you will not need the value set. You will only need the ICS Communication Adapter #61003 to plug the Helios to the PC interface.

For the servo, you will need a "Y" type of servo harness. One end goes to the PC interface, other to the servo and the last connection to a receiver batttery pack. The part number on this is #36509.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 02:38 PM
  #354  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally posted by RACETEK
KO PROPO STAFF,
Am I correct on my assumption of the third channel function??
The third channel is basically an on/off switch, used for cars such as a T-Maxx for reverse. There is no channel mixing function.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 02:46 PM
  #355  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KO PROPO Staff
If you already have the PC Interface then you will not need the value set. You will only need the ICS Communication Adapter #61003 to plug the Helios to the PC interface.

For the servo, you will need a "Y" type of servo harness. One end goes to the PC interface, other to the servo and the last connection to a receiver batttery pack. The part number on this is #36509.
Yea I have the adaptor that goes from the com port to the plug (for the VFS programming) ....on the "Y" harness, could I just put the recievery battery pack part of the Y into the reciever and power on the car like "normal"?
HarshGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 03:44 PM
  #356  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
Yea I have the adaptor that goes from the com port to the plug (for the VFS programming) ....on the "Y" harness, could I just put the recievery battery pack part of the Y into the reciever and power on the car like "normal"?
Plug the male end on the "y" harness to the PC interface not to the receiver.

maybe this diagram will help explain.

servo Rx Battery
\ /
\ /
\ /
\ /
l
l
l
PC Interface
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 05:40 PM
  #357  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

OK I see now ...I have 2 more questions,

1) Can I use the same charger deal that I have for my mars? ...it's a KO plug in charger that goes into the jack on the controller

2) This same charger appears to have a female connector that could plug into that "Y" ...can I use that for the seteup diagramed below instead of the Rx Battery?

Originally posted by KO PROPO Staff
Plug the male end on the "y" harness to the PC interface not to the receiver.

maybe this diagram will help explain.

servo Rx Battery
\ /
\ /
\ /
\ /
l
l
l
PC Interface
HarshGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 06:14 PM
  #358  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
OK I see now ...I have 2 more questions,

1) Can I use the same charger deal that I have for my mars? ...it's a KO plug in charger that goes into the jack on the controller

2) This same charger appears to have a female connector that could plug into that "Y" ...can I use that for the seteup diagramed below instead of the Rx Battery?
Answers:

1) Yes.
2) No.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 06:41 PM
  #359  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

THX!! ...I picked up the Y harness & Recvr pack @ speedworld today so I'll charge the little pack up and see what fun there is to be had programmingthe servo ....Billy tried to order that ICS deal from his distributor and they don't appear to carry it ...so he said he would call you to order it from you (you are Robert right?) ...can't wait to get that, now I can program my car to drive itself while I kick back on the drivers stand eating a hamburger

Originally posted by KO PROPO Staff
Answers:

1) Yes.
2) No.
HarshGuy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 06:45 PM
  #360  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally posted by HarshGuy
THX!! ...I picked up the Y harness & Recvr pack @ speedworld today so I'll charge the little pack up and see what fun there is to be had programmingthe servo ....Billy tried to order that ICS deal from his distributor and they don't appear to carry it ...so he said he would call you to order it from you (you are Robert right?) ...can't wait to get that, now I can program my car to drive itself while I kick back on the drivers stand eating a hamburger
You hire someone to drive for you.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service