R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-22-2006, 12:13 PM   #1771
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 245
Default Helios probs

Hes anyone had a issue where if they use a mini z or fm module they get lots of glitching, however if you use a spektrum module all is well.

On my radio if i try to use my mini z module my car glitches like crazy, but if i plug my module into anohter helios it work perfect. And if i put in my spektrum module my radio works perfect.

it almost seems like there is a problem with the antenna side of thigs, but i also tried swapping out the antenna and it was no help. Any thing else i can try?

thanks
6g72tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 12:42 PM   #1772
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6g72tt
Hes anyone had a issue where if they use a mini z or fm module they get lots of glitching, however if you use a spektrum module all is well.

On my radio if i try to use my mini z module my car glitches like crazy, but if i plug my module into anohter helios it work perfect. And if i put in my spektrum module my radio works perfect.

it almost seems like there is a problem with the antenna side of thigs, but i also tried swapping out the antenna and it was no help. Any thing else i can try?

thanks

Had this same exact problem.
You need to mail your Helios in..The solder connections inside the radio might be broken and when you install your moduals alot you can mess them up.
Being I live in Southern California, I drove mine to Ko USA and Robert a.k.a. KO Staff fixed it up for me lickity split.
Once he did his magic trick with the soldering iron....It hasn't had an issue since....
Three years and that was my only problem with the radio....And it was my own fault cause you really have to be carefull of those pins sticking out of the radio.
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 03:15 PM   #1773
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
Had this same exact problem.
You need to mail your Helios in..The solder connections inside the radio might be broken and when you install your moduals alot you can mess them up.
Being I live in Southern California, I drove mine to Ko USA and Robert a.k.a. KO Staff fixed it up for me lickity split.
Once he did his magic trick with the soldering iron....It hasn't had an issue since....
Three years and that was my only problem with the radio....And it was my own fault cause you really have to be carefull of those pins sticking out of the radio.
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
So it was just a solder connection inside?
6g72tt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 05:41 PM   #1774
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6g72tt
So it was just a solder connection inside?
Yes but I even with a good soldering Iron and skill, would still send it in to get repaired, Robert re-enforced the connection.
It will be in and out quick if you have to mail it...
Hope that helps,
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2006, 11:09 PM   #1775
Tech Fanatic
 
jtracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 910
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Send a message via MSN to jtracker Send a message via Yahoo to jtracker
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtracker
Hello,
I don't know if this question has already been asked but I just bought a used helios EX-10 and when I turn it on and especially scroll through the different things the letters are pretty dim?? Just wondering if something goes bad with them inside or what? Thanks,
Justin
Nevermind on that question. It was just the settings of the brightness on the radio. LOL Thanks,
Justin
jtracker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 08:15 AM   #1776
Tech Addict
 
Bwadd2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bwadd2002
Default JR Z-1 Q!

Just a quick question... not sure if there is a JR Z-1 forum.

I just picked up a JR Z-1 synthesized radio. I want to know if I have to use synthesized receivers or can I used regular 75mhz receivers with xtals, and tune the radio to that frequency?? Thanks let me know...
Bwadd2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 09:22 AM   #1777
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwadd2002
Just a quick question... not sure if there is a JR Z-1 forum.

I just picked up a JR Z-1 synthesized radio. I want to know if I have to use synthesized receivers or can I used regular 75mhz receivers with xtals, and tune the radio to that frequency?? Thanks let me know...
You can use the regular receivers but not sure why you would want to. The whole purpose of synthesized is not using crystals. Is it that you don't want to buy more synthesized receivers?
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 09:25 AM   #1778
Tech Addict
 
Bwadd2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bwadd2002
Default JR

Thanks for the info,

no it's not that i don't wnat to buy anymore synthesized, i just wanted to run a KO 302F in my Mini, its fits alot easier inside the chassis. The JR synth is half an inch longer and wider.

Also do the Spektrum receivers work with this radio?
Bwadd2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 09:28 AM   #1779
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I actually did it the oposite of you and just used a crystal module and synthesized receivers for I did not have a Switch unit for my M8 at the time.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 10:37 AM   #1780
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwadd2002
Also do the Spektrum receivers work with this radio?
Only if you have a Spektrum module in it. Beyond that you would be wasting your money getting any receivers. I run Spektrum in my Helios and love it.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 01:35 PM   #1781
Tech Addict
 
Bwadd2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bwadd2002
Default Receivers

So basically I can get either the R310 synth receiver from JR or run a KR302F KO on 75mhz with a xtal... right...
Bwadd2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 08:09 PM   #1782
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwadd2002
So basically I can get either the R310 synth receiver from JR or run a KR302F KO on 75mhz with a xtal... right...
Or you could buy Novak XXtras and run those but since you said you are looking for a small receiver I guess those are out. The 310's are pretty small, but not as small as the new Spektrum receivers.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 10:21 AM   #1783
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Helios C2...
Attached Thumbnails
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios q's-sany0187.jpg  
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 10:50 AM   #1784
Tech Fanatic
 
SlamMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 847
Default

Is that an update? What's new?
__________________
Michael H

OnRoadColorado.com
Colorado On Road RC Club
SlamMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 02:53 PM   #1785
Tech Addict
 
fraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to fraz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6g72tt
Hes anyone had a issue where if they use a mini z or fm module they get lots of glitching, however if you use a spektrum module all is well.

On my radio if i try to use my mini z module my car glitches like crazy, but if i plug my module into anohter helios it work perfect. And if i put in my spektrum module my radio works perfect.

it almost seems like there is a problem with the antenna side of thigs, but i also tried swapping out the antenna and it was no help. Any thing else i can try?
For Mini-Z when running the module, make sure you have the radio set to 2ch mode and you can't run in high speed mode. The little switch in where the module resides needs to be set to normal. I switch back and forward a lot from many classes and have become very frustrated when my Mini-Z would start glitching and going nuts. Finally figured out the module doesn't like the high speed mode.
fraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ko propo helios alexisonfire Australia For Sale/Trade 7 03-06-2008 04:19 AM
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios 40 Mhz jca2000au Australia For Sale/Trade 0 12-06-2007 09:03 PM
**EX-10 HELIOS KO PROPO*** nsupra R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-14-2006 09:11 PM
Ko Propo Ex-10 Helios hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-03-2005 07:58 PM
F.S.> KO Propo Helios... plus Bwadd2002 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-19-2004 09:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:23 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net