R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-23-2006, 05:06 PM   #1561
Tech Elite
 
Motorman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,967
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Robert thank for the super fast shipping.

I did not think it would be here so fast.


i may go racing this weekend.

With Love

Dibs
Motorman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2006, 09:33 PM   #1562
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,159
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I just purchased a EX-10 and when I turn it on the transmitter module got hot. Is this normal? Or is the the radio bad? It smells like an eletrical short. Has anyone else had this problem?

Thanks,
Joe
Joe Maxey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 10:00 PM   #1563
Tech Regular
 
Ill Factor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cali
Posts: 489
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys Im looking to buy a Helios and wanted to know which was better 75mhz or 27mhz?
Ill Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 11:59 PM   #1564
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ill Factor
Hey guys Im looking to buy a Helios and wanted to know which was better 75mhz or 27mhz?
For me it was the one with no module at all since I was already using Spektrum and just got another module!!
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 12:03 AM   #1565
Tech Regular
 
BringItOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AU, Sydney
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Maxey
I just purchased a EX-10 and when I turn it on the transmitter module got hot. Is this normal? Or is the the radio bad? It smells like an eletrical short. Has anyone else had this problem?

Thanks,
Joe

it gets warm, but not hot, prob 40degC
BringItOn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2006, 01:03 AM   #1566
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

hey crew, just thought I'd put a good word in for a case i bought for my helios recently.. it's from YEAH RACING.. and available at http://www.rcmart.com/

it's a metal hardcase with foam inlay, provision for spektrum module, extra xmitter batt, provisions for xtal boxes, modules, receivers, and a removable cut out for wheel extension, etc.

very nifty.

James
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:02 AM   #1567
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default PM ALERT

KO STAFF......YGPM
-Shookie <><
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 02:13 PM   #1568
Tech Master
 
Mark G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,268
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mark G
Default

hi i was looking threw all the menus on the ko and i found the HIGHPOINT it was at 100 and then u put it to 150 and i seamed faster can some one explaine wat highpoint is to me. just dont know if i lose batt power faster if its at 150
thanks
-mark
Mark G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 05:27 PM   #1569
Tech Regular
 
beer_drinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Maximum throttle is maximum throttle, so it was all in your head The only way you could have been faster is if your esc was setup with the highpoint above 100 and then you put it back to 100 afterwards. Highpoint is just the maximum electronical throw in one direction. Throttle highpoint is not important on ep cars as we use escs.

edit: actually, the car could have felt faster as you would have full throttle on your esc at 2/3 throttle on your transmitter. This may have given you a little more punch.

Last edited by beer_drinker; 01-30-2006 at 05:37 PM.
beer_drinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 05:50 PM   #1570
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

james:
does the radio with the drop down wheel fit in the yeah racing case ??
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 06:08 PM   #1571
Tech Adept
 
beerbarron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 218
Default

Does anyone have links to custom tones besides the ones on KO's website. I am sorry if this had already been asked.
beerbarron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:03 AM   #1572
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonC
james:
does the radio with the drop down wheel fit in the yeah racing case ??
Yeap. it's a removable foam cut-out. much like the cutout you can remove in the bottom of the case for spare batt holder, and spektrum.

(remove the foam as already cut, and the spektrum fits, wheel ext fits, etc)

very neat case. very professional.

I have my helios, neck strap, fm/spektrum modules, and 21 sets of crystals in the case and still have room / provision for drop down ext, and spare batt holder.
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:05 AM   #1573
Tech Master
 
James's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,196
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

the other day i noticed that when I swapped from my spektrum module back to the FM module.. one of the pins in the transmitter was half pushed in.. like, lower than the other pins!

I ignored it and continued to race, it all still worked fine with both modules. But then I thought I'd try to pull the pin back out.

I pulled the pin back up, level with the other pins, without hassle.

I'm wondering, is the unit damaged? are these pins supposed to be hard-soldered? or do they actually have the ability to slide in like that?

unit still works fine, but wonder if i should get it replaced?

James
__________________
http://www.teamadrenaline.net/ - RC Race Results, News, and gossip in Australia!
http://www.nolimitarcade.com/ - the best web flash games
http://www.fireflyhelicopter.com/ - R/C heli vids 'n more
James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 12:08 AM   #1574
Tech Champion
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,625
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Hi, this is a newbie post. Just got a Helios, my first KO ever. Been a long time Airtronics guy. Wanted to try something different after having Spektrum problems on my M11, don't blame the radio but I do blame the Spektrum. Thought I would try the KO 27 with a split crystal. Anyways, opened the box and took one look at the manual. Dang! Will Robert be holding a seminar anytime soon? It looks like a workbook for a two unit college course. I'm sure I'll figure it out eventually.

Okay questions;
1)I have a bunch of 27 Hitec receivers that I used with the Airtronics, can I now use it with the KO using KO crystals? Will it also work with the splits?

2)I was also shopping for some KO receivers and found some for sale. They are the KR-297FZ on 27. Will this receiver work with the Helios and in what capacity? Will it also work with the splits?

3)I have a KO VFS speed control and I just picked up a used programmer with no manual. How is this used to program the controller? Is there a link cable I need to get?
YR4Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2006, 11:49 AM   #1575
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Send a message via Yahoo to dodo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YR4Dude
2)I was also shopping for some KO receivers and found some for sale. They are the KR-297FZ on 27. Will this receiver work with the Helios and in what capacity? Will it also work with the splits?

3)I have a KO VFS speed control and I just picked up a used programmer with no manual. How is this used to program the controller? Is there a link cable I need to get?
some help here

2) KR-297 FZ will work with the helios, but it won't work on HSR, just normal speed.

3) just plug the ESC cable to the setting card (the same cable that you plug to the receiver), you might want to address this question at VFS-1 forum.

enjoy ur new 'gadgets'!!
dodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ko propo helios alexisonfire Australia For Sale/Trade 7 03-06-2008 04:19 AM
KO PROPO EX-10 Helios 40 Mhz jca2000au Australia For Sale/Trade 0 12-06-2007 09:03 PM
**EX-10 HELIOS KO PROPO*** nsupra R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 8 08-14-2006 09:11 PM
Ko Propo Ex-10 Helios hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 04-03-2005 07:58 PM
F.S.> KO Propo Helios... plus Bwadd2002 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 05-19-2004 09:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net