R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2004, 01:17 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 816
Default Capacitors on ESC

I have a GM V12 esc and was wondering how using a big capacitor on it for 19T or stock TC racing affects punch? Right now I have a large Novak capacitor on my V12 and I have been primarily been using the esc for mod racing. Do I even need to use a esc capacitor for 19T or stock racing? Will using a small capacitor help with my punch?
slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 01:28 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I dont know, but the answerv is probably on the forum already, there's several threads on the subject.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 08:00 AM   #3
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,800
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

slow, you don't need to use the cap for stock or 19t motor. yes for mod motor. but it won't hurt to use on stock or 19t
the cap don't really give punch,they kinda storage battery power
for the receiver or servo from going dead, when the big mod motor drain the battery power....I
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work

Last edited by OVA; 01-07-2004 at 08:15 AM.
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2004, 08:17 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 816
Default

Cole - it seems that the "ESC Capacitor" thread was brought back to life. I have been reading this thread and its very good. Thanks

OVA - you're probably right. Sometime last winter I primarily raced mod TC and one time got into a wreck were the cap that came with esc was knocked off. The only cap that was at the hobby store was the big Novak one so I put that on. Then this winter I realized my car just has no snap at all in 19T and stock racing. I even bought all new batteries and the best Chameleons 2s that money could buy. I will try taking off the big cap or maybe looking for a smaller one. Thanks
slow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
capacitors? aus jd 2703 Electric On-Road 22 08-13-2007 02:51 AM
ESC capacitors pro4racer Electric On-Road 1 08-10-2005 05:45 AM
esc capacitors??? primusblowsgoat Electric On-Road 2 12-23-2004 10:01 AM
ESC Capacitors F50 Singapore R/C Racers 27 10-22-2003 11:54 PM
Capacitors!! Where to get them???? Racer4Life Electric On-Road 15 10-09-2003 04:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:34 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net