R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2002, 02:12 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Technoskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Xray T2
Posts: 45
Default Capacitors & electronic items

Just wondering what purpose capacitors do to enhance good voltage flow from battery to esc. I am now using a 10volts 10,000uf capacitor rubicon for a 2400 stick pack. I only charge the capacitor during repeaking the batteries. I dont know if Im doing the right stuff charging at thesame rate 4amps and repeaking also at the same rate for the caps. What difference does it make if I buy an LRP World's option kit with my current capacitor?
Technoskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 04:32 AM   #2
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default Re: Capacitors & electronic items

Quote:
Originally posted by Technoskid
I am now using a 10volts 10,000uf capacitor rubicon
That's weird.... From what i've heard we have to use 16V capacitor for ESC...
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 05:19 AM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Technoskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Xray T2
Posts: 45
Default

Daniz24

Is that so? Then 16V capacitors are stronger in what sense? I kinda noticed ever since I used one, I gained torque & longer playing time with the same settings.
Technoskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 05:20 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

daniz24, what's wierder is he's charging the capacitor....

Unfortunatly Technoskid, my esc has the capacitor (and shoktty diodes) all built in so I didn't research into this area of capacitor installation...

BTW, are you actually installing the capacitor directly onto the battery? If so, there is no need to, it's meant to be connected to your ESC. Also, there is no need to charge the capacitor. The moment you connnect your battery to the esc's connectors it will begin charging up.

What's more important will be connecting ceramic caps over at the motor. I'm sure you did that right?

Regards,
Alvin
Alvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 05:28 AM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Technoskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Xray T2
Posts: 45
Default

Alvin

I got it! But you think 16V caps are recommended? It might kill my esc.

However, caps are actually meant for an extended storage of voltage juice right?
Technoskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 05:56 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

16V is the voltage of the capacitor - i.e. if you exceed this voltage the cap will explode. RIght now your battery, if assuming 6 cells is 7.2v or actually 8.1, 8.2 volts fully charged (I'm using an analog multimeter ok ) So it hasn't exceeded the level.

Novak has a nice page about this:
http://www.teamnovak.com/Tech_info/esc_applic/

HTHs!

Regards,
Alvin
Alvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 06:11 AM   #7
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alvin
daniz24, what's wierder is he's charging the capacitor....
Well, you will either get the charge from the battery, and loose some runtime or you can charge it.

The only Caps. that i run are the Novak Cap, with my TC2, the 3 on the motor, and then i have a LRP worlds kit on the way for my Quantum.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 06:15 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

I guess he'll need to solder the cap back on after charging - by then probably the capacitor has already lost most of the charge
Alvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 09:22 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,159
Default

What is the purpose of installing a shoktty diode on your motor? Is there any advantage to using one?
Modena AL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 09:42 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Modena AL
What is the purpose of installing a shoktty diode on your motor? Is there any advantage to using one?
http://www.teamnovak.com/Tech_info/m...o/SCHOTTKY.HTM
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 12:31 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,159
Default

Thanks RCCadet. That was all I needed

If they cyclone has a shoktty diode built in, would it hurt to use another one on the motor? or would that be worthless?
Modena AL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 02:10 PM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
Technoskid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Xray T2
Posts: 45
Default

Alvin

I dont have to solder the cap back on coz I charge the cap with my batts connected to the esc with the switch off. That way as soon as charging is done, I take off connector clips from the wire and there you go.
Technoskid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 02:35 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
David Galdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Euless, TX
Posts: 1,652
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to David Galdo Send a message via AIM to David Galdo Send a message via MSN to David Galdo Send a message via Yahoo to David Galdo
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Modena AL
Thanks RCCadet. That was all I needed

If they cyclone has a shoktty diode built in, would it hurt to use another one on the motor? or would that be worthless?
You should not need another shoktty diode except under extreme conditions, like a hot wind and use of additionals cells. The internal diode adds additional heat to the ESC, it is one of the reasons I chose an ESC with it external.

For stock applications I don't need the diode and with other ESC's it has to be externally attached no matter what and do you have a choice when it is internal......it adds resistance is what I am getting at. My Q is not so fragile that it needs one for stock but does for mod racing (12turn and less). The other ESC's that have it internal perform great.

Follow the manufacture's instructions!!

And the cap thing is getting out of hand again! What do you think JesseT?
__________________
Hot Bodies | HPI Racing | HPI TV | Speedzone USA | Team Epic | Trinity | TRC
V-Dezign 4.0

Last edited by RCCadet; 02-14-2002 at 02:50 PM.
David Galdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 02:41 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,980
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I do not know much about those caps, but this is a question of legality.

As i understand it a capacitor is a place to store energy, therefore is it not essentially like running an extra cell, i have seen some people running caps, about the same size of a cell.
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2002, 08:58 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Alvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore, Jurong East
Posts: 1,654
Default

A battery has 2 types of voltages you can measure,

Open circuit voltage, i.e. measure the battery directly with a voltmeter

and

Voltage under load, i.e. measure the voltage while a load like a resistor or motor, bulb etc is using the battery.

Sometimes if you draw a huge current *suddenly* from the battery (e.g. Engage turbo start mode), the voltage (under load) will drop rapidly before it rises again. This could possibly drop below the operating voltage of say receiver or even esc.

A capacitor when placed across the terminals of a battery will be charged, and act as an open circuit across the terminals. So when an extreme load is put across the batteries and capacitor(s) the capacitor's charge stored there will help prevent too rapid a drop in voltage. So if a motor sees high voltage all the while, there would be more "punch".

I have no idea about the high frequency thing though, the idea of ESC is to generate pulses *to* the motor, i can't see how it affects the battery.... since the esc is between motor and batt. I'd appreciate comments on this.

Disclaimer: I'm a comp engineering student, not eletronics engineering
Alvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
capacitors Toms Electric On-Road 1 04-03-2006 07:29 PM
esc capacitors??? primusblowsgoat Electric On-Road 2 12-23-2004 10:01 AM
Capacitors on ESC slow Electric On-Road 3 01-07-2004 08:17 AM
ESC Capacitors F50 Singapore R/C Racers 27 10-22-2003 11:54 PM
Capacitors!! Where to get them???? Racer4Life Electric On-Road 15 10-09-2003 04:34 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:16 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net