R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2009, 06:15 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Send a message via AIM to killatoyota4569
Unhappy New to Brushless and wanna CRY

I have gotten another GTB from a freind. It had a 3.5T velociti on it. I used the motor and it worked great. Then went home to put on my 7.5T Team Orion Vortex motor to the ESC. It worked great for 10 mins. then it just stopped (the car) and the throttle or brake wouldnt be recognized. Steering worked, but the throttle did not. Took the motor out the car, and tryed again. same thing nothing. SO then I reprogrammed the ESC, and the motor turns. But its like you say Cogging?? when I hit the throttle its like the signal is jumpin magnet to magnet the wrong way, its very ruff, and i cant get any power, just like cogging, how ever you say it. And I have another GTB ESC that is doin the same exact thing. Can you tell me why these are doing this? and what I neeed or can do to fix them please. They werre both working great and then stopped out of nowhere. I am really frustated and hurting. this is the 3rd one I am on and I dont know why they are all doing the same thing!!! Thank you for your time
killatoyota4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:16 PM   #2
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killatoyota4569 View Post
It worked great for 10 mins. then it just stopped
The battery is dead.
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 06:25 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
kschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kota Kinabalu,Sabah
Posts: 4,598
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kschu
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killatoyota4569 View Post
I have gotten another GTB from a freind. It had a 3.5T velociti on it. I used the motor and it worked great. Then went home to put on my 7.5T Team Orion Vortex motor to the ESC. It worked great for 10 mins. then it just stopped (the car) and the throttle or brake wouldnt be recognized. Steering worked, but the throttle did not. Took the motor out the car, and tryed again. same thing nothing. SO then I reprogrammed the ESC, and the motor turns. But its like you say Cogging?? when I hit the throttle its like the signal is jumpin magnet to magnet the wrong way, its very ruff, and i cant get any power, just like cogging, how ever you say it. And I have another GTB ESC that is doin the same exact thing. Can you tell me why these are doing this? and what I neeed or can do to fix them please. They werre both working great and then stopped out of nowhere. I am really frustated and hurting. this is the 3rd one I am on and I dont know why they are all doing the same thing!!! Thank you for your time
try check your sensor wire....or try swap back to your novak motor and see if the prob still persist.... if no, then your orion motor hv prob or your timing too high??
__________________
Give the best while u can !
kschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 07:33 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Send a message via AIM to killatoyota4569
Default

How do you set the timing???

Well it was the motor, My novak works great, just way to fast.

Another problem I am having is when I go to setup throttle, brake, nuetral..... the ESC does not recognize brake. so there is no brake. THis is using my M11 radio and spektrum 3000 setup. When I put my other airtronics mx3 on it, And then calibrate, it finds brake then. but not with the M11.... what do you think it can be?

Now this Orion Motor was in perfect working cond. It worked for 8 mins fine on the car, and then just stopped out of nowhere. Bad sensor wire???

THANKS AGAIN FOR THE FAST REPSONSE
killatoyota4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 10:01 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,081
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killatoyota4569 View Post
Now this Orion Motor was in perfect working cond. It worked for 8 mins fine on the car, and then just stopped out of nowhere. Bad sensor wire???

THANKS AGAIN FOR THE FAST REPSONSE

no.. DEAD BATTERY
__________________
A big thanks to my sponsors:
- Fantom Racing - www.fantomracing.com -
- Fusion Graphix- www.fusiongraphix.com -
- RCSpecialties -
Cpt.America is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 10:11 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Send a message via AIM to killatoyota4569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
no.. DEAD BATTERY
battery is charged, and I even tested with a fully charge, and the same
what do you think?
killatoyota4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2009, 10:25 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 124
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killatoyota4569 View Post
battery is charged, and I even tested with a fully charge, and the same
what do you think?
uu cant run 7 mins on a 7.5 with out it stopping
shane ae1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 07:01 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,762
Default

How hot are the speed controller and motor getting when you used them.

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 01:53 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
mailboxck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Philippines
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane ae1 View Post
uu cant run 7 mins on a 7.5 with out it stopping
That's exactly what I thought when you said it ran for 10 minutes and then stopped.
mailboxck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 08:36 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 12 (93%+)
Send a message via AIM to killatoyota4569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailboxck View Post
That's exactly what I thought when you said it ran for 10 minutes and then stopped.

I got it working, and what do you mean I cant run a 7.5T for longer than 7 mins??? What I mean run, is like passes up and down my block, it was a bad sensor wire on the motor. Car works great now

Thanks for all the help everyone
killatoyota4569 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Tekin New Speedos Drew_Cat Radio and Electronics 1521 10-06-2012 12:35 AM
BRUSHLESS MOTORS Now Legal At ROAR Races & The IFMAR Worlds!!! STEALTH Electric On-Road 315 03-22-2005 04:09 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:45 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net