R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Touring, stuff needed? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/304120-touring-stuff-needed.html)

HellTriX 06-12-2009 12:52 AM

Touring, stuff needed?

I'm planning to get into 1:10 touring and need some assistance on stuff I need.

I haven't decided on the car yet but I'm looking at TC5R, RDX, or something along these lines. I'm making a list of things I need but since I'm new to this I am not sure if I am completely on the right track. First of all its hard to find online sources for cars and setups that is IN STOCK.

1. Car/kit
2. 17.5 Brushless (roar legal)
3. Tekin RS ESC (RS or Pro??)
4. 5200 Lipo (Recommend brand?)
5. Charger (what wont break my wallet?)
6. Radio tx + rx.
7. Pinions/spurs/body/paint/rubber tires.

Is this stuff along the lines of something I can start racing? Does this stuff fit into Stock Class?

tnx

Rod M 06-12-2009 01:32 AM

1. Car/kit: have a look at the new TOP Photon,
2. 17.5 Brushless (roar legal) Trinity Duo Based 17.5 are good,
3. Tekin RS ESC (RS or Pro??) the Base Tekin should be fine if you are just starting out,
4. 5200 Lipo (Recommend brand?) Note that for stock 5200 is overkill as you are only using just over 2000 over a 5 min race, but still I use IP 5000 packs running stock,
5. Charger (what wont break my wallet?) there are a bunch of chargers out of china under different brands that look identical, they are mostly exactly the same electrics and software. look at the Venom pro charger as the base.
6. Radio tx + rx. spektrum DX3R or DX3S, Futaba S9551 low profile servo.
7. Pinions/spurs/body/paint/rubber tires.

pakk 06-12-2009 01:44 AM

Don't forget the hotwire to go along with your RS. It is a must.

--pakk

niznai 06-12-2009 02:02 AM

Hello again H/Trix.

If you're worried about the charger breaking your wallet I would say you're not going to get past point #1 in your list.