Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Dusty parking lot track- Best tires and body? >

Dusty parking lot track- Best tires and body?

Dusty parking lot track- Best tires and body?

Old 06-03-2009, 02:34 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Dusty parking lot track- Best tires and body?

Hey, I've been racing off-road for the last 5 years and a new on-road track has just opened in town and since it's a new thing here there aren't any long time on-road racer around. So, I come to you with my simple questions. This is regarding touring stock class. I'm running a bone stock Cyclone S.

1. We are running on a fairly small outdoor track that is just setup in a parking lot. Just swept off, no fancy treatment or anything at all yet, just the basics. The track is quite dusty. I'm wondering what kind of tires would be the best choice? So far some people are using treaded tires like the HPI V-grooves in pro compound, and some have been using slicks from various companies. The results so far are pretty inconclusive. Any ideas for starting points? I'm thinking Much More absolute or Sweep tires, or Jaco Rubbers in a compound suitable for the track temperature. Since there isn't a lot of grip using a thinner or softer insert might be a good idea maybe?

2. We are running anything but normal touring race bodies (mazda6, DNA, etc). I'm wondering what the best handling realistic bodies are? Something with a low flat rear window to provide airflow to the rear wing and a nice tall wedge in the front to get some front end grip. HPI Saleen S7R or an HPI lamborighini maybe?

Thanks for any help
Old 06-03-2009, 06:36 AM
Tech Champion

I wouldn't know about bodies, but would have thought some sorex 24 would be a good starting point.

Droop will probably be quite an important issue to factor in too with the low grip levels.
Old 06-03-2009, 06:41 AM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by WheelNut