R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2009, 10:30 AM   #91
Tech Elite
 
Rick Hohwart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3,935
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
True 300mah won't be noticable, but it's also $10 more expensive and not in stock at Stormer. I do like the stepped case though. I'll have to check if it will fit in my chassis. Do you know if it will be legal at IIC?
It will be legal.
Rick Hohwart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 11:15 AM   #92
Tech Master
 
CREWMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,539
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

does anyone know if my checkpoint tc-1030 cgarger will charge a 1s lipo? i know this charger charges lipos but since you dont have to match this lipo i wasnt sure if i still needed to buy the match otption for this charger. im planning on putting one in my 1/12. Just have never done lipo before and i didnt know if i have to buy the lipo matcher fo lipo to work with this charger/
__________________
D&K HOBBIES!!!!
Losi 8ight-T 2.0 Race Roller/Losi 350/JR 9100 Servos/Spektrum DX3R
BMI Copperhead 12/Thunder Power Lipo/Futaba Servo/Express 17.5/Spektrum DX3R
CREWMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 11:26 AM   #93
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 237
Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CREWMAN View Post
does anyone know if my checkpoint tc-1030 cgarger will charge a 1s lipo? i know this charger charges lipos but since you dont have to match this lipo i wasnt sure if i still needed to buy the match otption for this charger. im planning on putting one in my 1/12. Just have never done lipo before and i didnt know if i have to buy the lipo matcher fo lipo to work with this charger/
works perfect its what i use
j manikis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:07 PM   #94
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,547
Default

crewman-
you don't need the balancer to do the 1s pack... it's only one cell, there's nothing to balance
E
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:18 PM   #95
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,220
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricF View Post
crewman-
you don't need the balancer to do the 1s pack... it's only one cell, there's nothing to balance
E
HAHAHAHA I've had that same question...with the same answer
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 02:13 PM   #96
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Hohwart View Post
It will be legal.
Cool thanks...now just to make sure it will fit in my chassis.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 02:52 PM   #97
Tech Addict
 
myrxseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 664
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricF View Post
crewman-
you don't need the balancer to do the 1s pack... it's only one cell, there's nothing to balance
E
This also kind of worries me, since the actual power output is equivilant to 1s. There is 2-4 actual cells inside these 1s lipos. Hopefully someday we will be able to balance even these.
myrxseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 03:08 PM   #98
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gavin Creado View Post
I need to talk with Ruben from ROAR regarding our saddle pack since there are no real rules at the moment.
Well, the nice thing about being the first to make one is that you get to set the rule. SMC had it all their way with the brick pack but you have a clean slate for saddles. It sounds like you worked hard to keep it in line with the performance of the bricks so approval should be ok.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 03:11 PM   #99
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myrxseven View Post
This also kind of worries me, since the actual power output is equivilant to 1s. There is 2-4 actual cells inside these 1s lipos. Hopefully someday we will be able to balance even these.

When cells are connected in parrallel you dont have to balance them. They are already balanced, and can not become unbalanced.

The interesting thing is by having more then 1 battery in parrallel you reduce the IR in the battery pack. Could allow saddle pack 1S lipos to have more rip then a single cell lipo.


Shawn.
Shawn68z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 03:13 PM   #100
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
The interesting thing is by having more then 1 battery in parrallel you reduce the IR in the battery pack. Could allow saddle pack 1S lipos to have more rip then a single cell lipo.


Shawn.
Except, none of these packs (brick or saddle) are single cell. They ALL have 2 or 4 cells in parallel.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 03:38 PM   #101
Tech Addict
 
myrxseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 664
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn68z View Post
When cells are connected in parrallel you dont have to balance them. They are already balanced, and can not become unbalanced.

The interesting thing is by having more then 1 battery in parrallel you reduce the IR in the battery pack. Could allow saddle pack 1S lipos to have more rip then a single cell lipo.


Shawn.
Thanks for that, I did not know that. Another thing I love about changing technology is that there is always something new to learn.
myrxseven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 11:51 PM   #102
Tech Regular
 
scribbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

For those that have already been using the 1 cell lipo's in 1/12 scale, do you need a hard shell pack?

And, can you use the Spektrum Capacitor that plugs into your reciever, or do you definitly need get the Novak smart booster, or an extra reciever pack?

Thanks
scribbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 11:56 PM   #103
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,758
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

A cap will only stableize the voltage it will not boost it. Most track will require a hard shell for safety and ROAR always requires it. The novak booster, TQ booster or a reciever pack is highly recommended other wise the servo gets sluggish although a lot of 2.4 recievers can deal with the low voltage.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22T 3.0 (laydown), TLR 22-4 2.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 11:58 PM   #104
Tech Elite
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,780
Trader Rating: 88 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scribbler View Post
For those that have already been using the 1 cell lipo's in 1/12 scale, do you need a hard shell pack?

And, can you use the Spektrum Capacitor that plugs into your reciever, or do you definitly need get the Novak smart booster, or an extra reciever pack?

Thanks

The only 1s packs are hard cased as required by ROAR, no option there. You have to use a rec pack or booster of some kind, the cap will not resolve the low voltage issue.
__________________
Sponsered by:

CMDezigns Paint Works
https://www.facebook.com/pages/CM-Dezigns/259989190822177?ref=hl
chris moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 09:59 AM   #105
Tech Master
 
JFCJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati Area
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default reciever pack

For the 1s lipo pack, what receiver pack are people using for 1/12? and where are you getting them? online or making them yourself?

Thanks in advance.
__________________
* www.tsrcar.com * John's BSR Racing Tires * Serpent America * BOCA Bearings *
JFCJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Twin Cities Rc Club Winter Carpet Season Mark O'Brien Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 5116 11-22-2017 08:09 PM
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
U.S. Vintage Trans-Am Racing squarehead Electric On-Road 14187 03-21-2012 02:43 PM
Indoor Carpet Racing @ RC Performance in Madison Associated-08 Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3426 11-25-2010 04:03 PM
Thunder Power Rc 40C 5000 Lipo ThunderPowerRC Electric On-Road 439 02-25-2010 04:35 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:01 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net