R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2003, 11:46 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Bwadd2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Posts: 714
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Bwadd2002
Default discharge tray?

hey guys.........
i need some help here. i want to get a good discharge tray.
i've been using only my turbo 35 to discharging all my packs.

i've heard so many diffrent opinons about this matter........

some say discharge it b4 storing it for few days, some say don't
some say discharge them just b4 using it.......

anyways, please tell me what you guys do out there?
and which company has them and what kind of discharge rate it has....

is 20 amp better then 30 amp discharge?

thanx alot guys
Bwadd2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 12:01 AM   #2
T-man
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I always discharge my packs after each heat on a Team Orion Discharger at 30 amp. Then put them in a discharge tray to equilize (correct spelling?). After a driving day I put the puts away just as they are. There is no harm because every 3 weeks I have competitions.

But thats how I do maintain the packs. Everybody, as you already said, will have their own 'holy wisdom of keeping the packs in shape' religion.

Marc
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 01:20 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 965
Default

One thing remains constant despite all the black arts of battery management.

You can discharge NiCd batteries all the way down to zero if you like.

However you should never discharge NiMh down completely. NiMh should always have some charge in them for storage and the longer you store, the more charge they should have in them before storage.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 02:20 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

Bwadd a tray isnt really for discharging it is used to equalize the cells in a pack.you discharge like normal 20 or 30 amps then the tray discharges the cells individually so that when you charge your pack the cells are equally charged. All trays work well but I think someone makes one with automatic cut offs but Im not sure who.
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 03:45 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

I have the Robitronic tray which equalises at around or below 1A, with a cutoff around 0.8v. I recommend it.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 08:11 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by sosidge
I have the Robitronic tray which equalises at around or below 1A, with a cutoff around 0.8v. I recommend it.
hi sosidge,merry christmas..
i have the robitronic tray too...and it works well enough for me.
Question:
Do u tray it until all the lights go dim or until the go absolutely out(by leaving them overnight)?
Should we tray before storing the cells or should we tray just b4 charging?
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 10:41 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Default

I store my nicads and nimh discharged. I use the real time 2 tray to bring all cells down to 0 voltage before charging.
GONZO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 11:57 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
Speedie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,844
Default

When traying nimh packs you dont want to discharge down to 0v you want to take them off when the lights go dim, not all the way out this will cause rutime loss, and you definately do not want to leave them on the tray like the old nicads. IM gonna have to get me a Robotronics tray I use my discharger and do the cells separately because I always forget them unless I sit and stare at it. Are there any other trays that have a cutoff?
__________________
www.victoryhobbies.com Greenbay, Wisconsin
Speedie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 12:10 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SpeediePHATT
When traying nimh packs you dont want to discharge down to 0v you want to take them off when the lights go dim, not all the way out this will cause rutime loss, and you definately do not want to leave them on the tray like the old nicads. IM gonna have to get me a Robotronics tray I use my discharger and do the cells separately because I always forget them unless I sit and stare at it. Are there any other trays that have a cutoff?
The rayspeed exceed tray is pretty popular. It equalizes and cuts off at 5.4

Integy makes a nice one that cuts off as well.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 01:06 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle,Wa
Posts: 50
Default

The Rayspeed is nice even though I smoked one lastnight
You really have to pay attention to the way you put you Batt's in the tray.
MonkeyBoY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 01:15 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lee82gx
hi sosidge,merry christmas..
i have the robitronic tray too...and it works well enough for me.
Question:
Do u tray it until all the lights go dim or until the go absolutely out(by leaving them overnight)?
Should we tray before storing the cells or should we tray just b4 charging?
Merry Christmas to you too! (and to you all! Ho Ho Ho etc..)

I just leave the cells in there until the lights go out, overnight doesn't cause any problems, the cutoff seems to work!

I don't have time to tray them before charging, so I just tray after the meeting (each pack takes over an hour to do, cos my cells are old and the tray's discharge rate decreases as the cell voltage drops). I store them discharged, you might get a false peak when you recharge, but like I said, the cells aren't harmed, I get good voltage and capacity out of them (better than when I wasn't traying, the cell capacity had dropped to 2700mAh, now it's back at 3000).

Removing the cells when dim may stop the false peak - but you can't be sure they're fully equalised either. Perhaps if the cutoff was just slightly higher the false peaks wouldn't happen (GP's go down to about 0.75-0.8v per cell).

Effective and idiot-proof then! Good value too.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 02:01 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GONZO
I store my nicads and nimh discharged. I use the real time 2 tray to bring all cells down to 0 voltage before charging.
If it's a Promatch Smart Tray II it cuts off at about .7 per cell. I just spoke with them on the phone yesterday.
jcrouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 03:17 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcrouse
If it's a Promatch Smart Tray II it cuts off at about .7 per cell. I just spoke with them on the phone yesterday.
This one here? They don't mention a cutoff in the product description.

JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 04:35 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AWOLsoldier
This one here? They don't mention a cutoff in the product description.

Yep...That would be the one. That's why I called, because it wasn't mentioned anywhere and I wanted to know if it had a cutoff built in or took the cells to zero. They told be it had a .7 cutoff.

John
jcrouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 05:44 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
lee82gx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Land Of peace , Malaysia
Posts: 2,304
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

it's quite easy to know if it cuts-off or not.have a peak inside and see if there's a diode or more for each cell.it's black in colour.
lee82gx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Integy Discharge Tray just like Novak Tray Fred Perkins R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 08-05-2008 03:59 PM
FS Integy Discharge Zero discharge tray tiggersz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-05-2007 11:28 PM
Indi Zero 30 discharge tray plus Octane 2 tray coolrcdad R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 12-26-2006 01:28 PM
Looking for discharge tray Canuck R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 11-29-2003 01:15 PM
Discharge Tray or Equalizing Tray???? jcr Electric On-Road 0 05-17-2002 06:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:22 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net