R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-18-2003, 07:29 PM   #16
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 64
Default

Hey guys thanks for the info, but now for those of you that aren't running a hitec module and novak receiver, what are you doing for freq. changes? are you actually buying new modules and a receiver crystal or is there another way?
tricklosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 09:36 PM   #17
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

Just changing the crystal in the module, don't need more than 1 module.
__________________
RCScoringPro.com

Official software of: ROAR Nationals, IIC, Cactus Classic, Indoor Champs, Reedy Race and Trackside Hobbies in Brookfield, WI!
RC Scoring Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 10:21 PM   #18
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,587
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

It was stated to me by a Novak engineer at the hobby show in Chicago that the Novak receivers (XXL and Synthesized) will work with HRS systems of all types (Futaba Ko etc) as thier receivers already run at a faster processing rate than the OEM HRS stuff.
This has also been proven at the track by several guys who have tried it out with various systems.

As far as the modules, i didn't ask about that.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2003, 10:26 PM   #19
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC Scoring Pro
Just changing the crystal in the module, don't need more than 1 module.
So i have to dis-assemable the module to get to it? mine doesn't look like it's acessable from outside the module????
tricklosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 01:07 AM   #20
Tech Regular
 
jfischer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 345
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I have the 3PK and a few XXTRA and a true Futaba HRS receiver. With the Spectrum module in the radio it works fine with the XXTRA and most servos, but when you put the HRS receiver and a digital servo together you will get all kinds of glitches in the servo, so you HAVE to have a standard module in the radio for HRS. Sad to see, and I was in hopes that Novak was coming out with a module that would work in the Futaba radios, but from what I have seen they are saying that is not going to be now. Have any others seen anything different or heard anything from a GOOD source.
jfischer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 03:10 AM   #21
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ALOHA STATE
Posts: 6
Default

I've been using my 3PK with HRS and Spectrum module and hs5945mg & hs5625mg with no problems and no glitches for 3 months now.
candy man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 04:47 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 348
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just take the module out of the radio & there is probably (in 1 corner) a small black aluminum cover that is stuck on the module. Pop it off with an Exacto knife to reveil the crystal. Leave the little plate off so you can change the crystal whenever needed.
Rick Worth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 08:01 AM   #23
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Worth
Just take the module out of the radio & there is probably (in 1 corner) a small black aluminum cover that is stuck on the module. Pop it off with an Exacto knife to reveil the crystal. Leave the little plate off so you can change the crystal whenever needed.
Cool, thanks i'll give it a try....
tricklosi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 12:07 PM   #24
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rick Worth
Just take the module out of the radio & there is probably (in 1 corner) a small black aluminum cover that is stuck on the module. Pop it off with an Exacto knife to reveil the crystal. Leave the little plate off so you can change the crystal whenever needed.
Im pretty sure removing or switching out the crystal voids your warrenty.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 12:11 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
Im pretty sure removing or switching out the crystal voids your warrenty.
no..I don't think it will void warrantee... I switch crystals all the time. I've got a complete set of 27mhz FM for my 3PK so I don't have any frequency conflicts at the track. Hope the synthisizer module and receiver comes out soon...so I can get rid of my crystals all together.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 12:19 PM   #26
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

Where did you get 27mhz crystals for the 3PK ? I know some guys at the track have some weird crystals (maybe from Japan) that are on unique frequencies.
__________________
RCScoringPro.com

Official software of: ROAR Nationals, IIC, Cactus Classic, Indoor Champs, Reedy Race and Trackside Hobbies in Brookfield, WI!
RC Scoring Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 12:26 PM   #27
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC Scoring Pro
Where did you get 27mhz crystals for the 3PK ? I know some guys at the track have some weird crystals (maybe from Japan) that are on unique frequencies.
You can order them from HK or Japan.
I've got both US and overseas channels.
the overseas channels are available as well that fall inbetween the US channels (A#)...

Here's the complete list of 26mhz channels available:
RC01 26.975
RC02 26.995 A1 BROWN
RC03 27.025
RC04 27.045 A2 RED
RC05 27.075
RC06 27.095 A3 ORANGE
RC07 27.125
RC08 27.145 A4 YELLOW
RC09 27.175
RC10 27.195 A5 GREEN
RC11 27.225
RC12 27.255 A6 BLUE

it's nice having the non US channels at the track... No other racer will have it...so no conflicts...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2003, 02:15 PM   #28
Tech Fanatic
 
ilaybrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: bealeton VA
Posts: 955
Default

I have a set of crystals but are on 27.315 and cant find on any chart
ilaybrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Futaba 3pm synthesizer new crystals Rasmus TbEvo IV Electric On-Road 2 12-25-2005 04:25 PM
synthesizer system in the 3 pm Rasmus TbEvo IV Electric On-Road 0 12-25-2005 04:19 PM
F/S airtronics mx-3S synthesizer losixxxs R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 12 03-24-2005 03:16 PM
Synthesizer Futaba 3PM-FS rc-car-net Electric On-Road 5 01-31-2005 10:16 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net