Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
[NewBie needs help] What kind of tires best for Carpet racing >

[NewBie needs help] What kind of tires best for Carpet racing

[NewBie needs help] What kind of tires best for Carpet racing

Old 04-27-2009, 11:42 PM
Tech Rookie

Default [NewBie needs help] What kind of tires best for Carpet racing

Hi everyone,

I am new to the rc scene and have a question. I need to know what kind of tires are best for my 1/10th scale electric car for carpet racing. Also what online stores are reputable, where I could buy them (in the US)

Thanks

[updated request, see post #5]

Last edited by nukl; 04-28-2009 at 08:02 AM.
Old 04-28-2009, 05:10 AM
Tech Rookie

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Your Best bet is to ask and buy them at your track.
Old 04-28-2009, 05:13 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Depends on what class you would like to run. Rubber TC Stock is quite popular up here, and is run at most large events in the US.

I would check with your local club and see what classes they run and then go from there.

Stormer Hobbies out of Montana would be a good place to get tires.
Old 04-28-2009, 05:29 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

For foam tire class, Parma Magentas on Pro53 wheels were pretty popular.

For rubber tire class, we had a spec tire rule... everyone had to run Jaco greens or blues. If you're going to run rubber tire class, check to see if the track where you'll be racing has a spec tire rule before you buy any tires. If at all possible buy them at the track where you'll be racing. If you don't support your track, you'll save a lot more money than you think when the track closes and you find yourself with no place to race...

If you need anything and your local track can't get it in time, I can highly recommend Stormer Hobbies as a terrific place to do business with.
Old 04-28-2009, 08:01 AM
Tech Rookie

Thanks for all the replies.