Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Robitronics dyno vs Fantom facts machine >

Robitronics dyno vs Fantom facts machine

Robitronics dyno vs Fantom facts machine

Old 12-19-2003, 05:55 AM
  #16  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Default

The Yokomo MMS is not a dyno period!!!!!!!!
ksrcracing is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 05:56 AM
  #17  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,039
Default

The Yokomo is just a checker, the figures it gives are under no load. Dynos put the motor under load to better replicate a car being driven along.

The Yokomo is good for running in motors, finding out whether they need rebuilding, and ROUGHLY comparing motors in the pit box. A Dyno will give a much truer impression of how good the motor is.
sosidge is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 06:27 AM
  #18  
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Smile

Thanks Sosidge for your INFORMATIVE and intelligent reply ... Thanks!!!
acutts is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 07:11 AM
  #19  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Default

ksrcracing is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 08:29 AM
  #20  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 140
Default

FYI... If you have any doubts about what some of us have said for a long time... that is that Fantom Facts can't be trusted all that much... You should take a look at some recent comments that Todd Putnam has made recently over at Hobby Talk, in the Oval Racing/general_discussion section... The topic is 'new trinity 4 magnet stock motors', on about the 4th page Todd starts talking about his recent observations regarding the Binary2 'outlaw' and what his Fantom told him vs. what the track told him...

http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showthread.php?t=70238
DynoMoHum is offline  
Old 01-15-2019, 09:48 AM
  #21  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Default Rollout on the fantom

I recently purchased a fantom dynamometer and the roll out program doesn't work properly is there a way to go to the settings on that program the track I run has 121 feet run grove when I put it in for roll out it tells me I need a 67 pinion 86 spur any help would be gravely appreciated
dirtracer 83t is offline  
Old 01-17-2019, 04:16 AM
  #22  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 1,204
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Sorry to tell you but the Fantom's program's are based on older brushed motor tech. They were a little sketchy at best back them. Just use it for the data on the motor it gives you and work from there. I have used one of these for 20 years bridging brush to brushless technology and that is all I use it for now. It is a useful tool for comparing motors and motor setups if you can get the software to work. The Windows version requires a key which only works on the computer it was issued to. I have not been able to get the older DOS version to work on a newer computer.
old_dude is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.