Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree130Likes

TA-05 ver.2

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2009, 02:16 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Ah, are Sorex the king of TC asphalt tires? What sort of things do I look for in a set of slicks for asphalt?

I'm a total newb with on-road tires... I can tell you about off-road tires all day, but couldn't tell you the difference with the various touring slicks I see out there...
Old 12-24-2009, 02:22 AM
Tech Addict

With the competition slicks like the Sorex/Sweep/Jaco Rubberz you need to use the correct compound for the track temp to get the optimal performance from them, I think the best all round compound to go for is 32 with a 28 for when it gets colder (Autumn/Winter) and possibly a 36 when Summer is at it's hottest. Yes Sorex is the King of Rubber Racing
Old 12-24-2009, 03:02 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Originally Posted by tom_chang79
gashuffer is asking for less than that, and his TA05v2 is worthy of having the prefix "TRF."

I finally installed the Kimbrough servo saver into this little beast. The Kimbrough servo saver feels 1000000000000% better than the Tamiya one...

It's very protective of the drivetrain, and it has excellent memory of returning to the original location (very crucial at high speeds down the straight)...

One thing though, the middle upper hole is very close to the edge once you bore out the hole to 2.3-2.4mm, mine started to develop a small crack right above the ball stud. I gooped it with some CA over it, hope it'll hold...

Can't wait to get this bad boy back on the track. Last time, it was no fun having to adjust the steering trim every few laps, and then having to remove the servo to recenter the servo horn every battery pack...

Hopefully, this is the cure...

Just curious, what rubbers are you guys using for asphalt? The rubber of choice at my local track seems to be a tire called Sorex? I'm still using the kit tires and it seems to be ok...