Like Tree1Likes

TA-05 ver.2

Reply

Old 10-19-2016, 06:29 PM
  #2671  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (13)
 
tobyzhang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: chino hills/Irvine
Posts: 624
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KA2AEV View Post
Okay need some advise and suggestions
On my TA05V2 Im running yellow front springs with the red sway bar
The rear springs are yellow also and using the yellow sway bar in the back
The tires were Solaris Slicks on a rubber surface. But the surface
doesn't seem to matter. I gotta find some more grip up front
Its pushing madly!!!
Any suggestions on what to change suspension wise to get more grip?
Mike
TA05v2 has some inherent understeer for some reason. I suggest use shorter front upper link positions to see what it does and also look into BB from blocks or even AA front blocks. Also make sure you don't have excessive rear toe in and rear diff is tight enough. Also more rear droop might be helpful.
tobyzhang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:16 PM
  #2672  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,050
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tobyzhang View Post
TA05v2 has some inherent understeer for some reason. I suggest use shorter front upper link positions to see what it does and also look into BB from blocks or even AA front blocks. Also make sure you don't have excessive rear toe in and rear diff is tight enough. Also more rear droop might be helpful.

What bodies is he using ,may have too big of the rear wing!
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:24 PM
  #2673  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,980
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys, thanks for being so fast!!!
Sorry for replying so slow, Im on my Evening tour and it was busy last night!
Anyway I don't think the wing had anything to do with it, but I gotta replace it anyway. We were running at a brand new facility and I got too close to a marshall and when he jumped over my car to avoid the collision, he clipped my wing and broke it anyway!
Im going to try all of the suggestions that you posted one at a time and will see what does and doesn't make a difference. Im gonna try the wing first, since I gotta do that anyway!!!
OVA would the actual height come into play or just the physical size??? (Just thought of this!!!)
KA2AEV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:51 PM
  #2674  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,050
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KA2AEV View Post
Hi Guys, thanks for being so fast!!!
Sorry for replying so slow, Im on my Evening tour and it was busy last night!
Anyway I don't think the wing had anything to do with it, but I gotta replace it anyway. We were running at a brand new facility and I got too close to a marshall and when he jumped over my car to avoid the collision, he clipped my wing and broke it anyway!
Im going to try all of the suggestions that you posted one at a time and will see what does and doesn't make a difference. Im gonna try the wing first, since I gotta do that anyway!!!
OVA would the actual height come into play or just the physical size??? (Just thought of this!!!)
Wing size and shape make a big difference......I am running Tamiya BRZ bodies /with tamiya option racing rear wing , this bodies it is perfect balance for steering and rear end is very stable....
question : Are you running the spool or Gear diff? gear diff will give you more steering for sure
I can shares you my set up..lmk
If your track is small and low grip..I would converter to lay down shock( IFS )
works for me, cause ifs set up is softer and it make the car turn in easy..

Last edited by OVA; 10-20-2016 at 02:04 PM.
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 12:20 AM
  #2675  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,050
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

sorry

TTT
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 06:52 PM
  #2676  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,980
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, Just an Update
I haven't had a chance to do squat on my car lately!
I did get the wing tho! Hopefully this won't get too involved!!!

Mike
KA2AEV is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 12:24 AM
  #2677  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 161
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quick question, i messed up my front end during a crash and I need to replace the arms. Currently I have the short reversible arms. Will the 418/419 arms work?
jessele is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 01:19 AM
  #2678  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,050
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jessele View Post
Quick question, i messed up my front end during a crash and I need to replace the arms. Currently I have the short reversible arms. Will the 418/419 arms work?
The 418 or 419 arms will work ,only if you use the upright shock tower, NOT the IFS ..
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 10:00 PM
  #2679  
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 130
Default

Did anyone look into getting a floating servo holder in TA05?
Since I'm still awaiting mine to arrive, I'm getting extremely curious!

I'm not sure if there is a extra hole free next to the hole where stock servo holder sits?
If I ever get, which I'm sure I will raceberry chassis for it, it will be modified to fit EXO 5 servo stay

Cheers
vlad_sa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 10:02 PM
  #2680  
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 130
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
The 418 or 419 arms will work ,only if you use the upright shock tower, NOT the IFS ..
Really? So you have to go back to original TA05 arms in order to have the shocks in ISF?
vlad_sa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 11:48 PM
  #2681  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,050
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vlad_sa View Post
Really? So you have to go back to original TA05 arms in order to have the shocks in ISF?
yes...that is correct...

Original arm have three places for ball connector.. one for the shock ,sway bar and IFS pushrod
The 418 only have two places ball connector( shock and sway bar)
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 12:18 AM
  #2682  
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 130
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
yes...that is correct...

Original arm have three places for ball connector.. one for the shock ,sway bar and IFS pushrod
The 418 only have two places ball connector( shock and sway bar)
Bummer, I'd have to get some carbon re-enforced parts as I plan to run the shocks in ISF.
vlad_sa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 11:56 AM
  #2683  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (80)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,050
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vlad_sa View Post
Bummer, I'd have to get some carbon re-enforced parts as I plan to run the shocks in ISF.
sorry bud....

why do you prefer IFS?
IFS is an excellent for low grip or small track layout
OVA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2016, 12:22 AM
  #2684  
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 130
Default

Originally Posted by OVA View Post
sorry bud....

why do you prefer IFS?
IFS is an excellent for low grip or small track layout
Because I drive mostly on the small technical track in the local club.
vlad_sa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 05:25 PM
  #2685  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Default

Hey guys ive really been interested in upgrading the chassis im using that came with my ta05 v2r kit. I was noticing there really arent any options online anymore, the 3racing stuff is pretty much all out of stock and the only usable one i found was like $100 and i believe id have to convert my setup to a mostly vdf based design to even use that kit.

Ive been interested in cutting out my own chassis for a custom build setup and it seems relatively easy to pull off. Since i dont see anyone selling or remaking the exotek ex05 for my kit i was thinking i could instead cut a plate of carbon fiber to match that if anyone had a way for me to get a hold of a print out to use for reference points in cutting the CF. I was originally gonna use my stock chassis but id be in heaven if i could setup something more like the ex05.

Does anyone know of a way i could get a hold of something to use as the exotek ex05 reference for me to use to cut out of carbon fiber?
TheMadHatta is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service