R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2003, 02:49 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default Advantages of the 16x9v6 over the 16x7

What are the advantages of the 16x9v6 over the 16x7 and 16x7v6, other than the obvious larger power supply, slightly higher charge rate, and cell count? Do you think its worth the extra money over the 16x7 or 16x7v6?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2003, 03:14 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

yes...if you're serious about racing get the 16x9v6
in the future you might get a lathe, dyno, or even another charger. they X9 can power it up. the 7 you can not...
1 advantage of the 16X7V6 is that is has a 30amp discharge rate.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 12:28 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 302
Default

Does the 16x7v6 have a 12V output? I know it's power supply is weaker, but can I still use it to power fans and stuff?
Potato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 04:57 AM   #4
Company Representative
 
Tres's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

16x7v6 doesn't have DC out.

You could crack the case and tap the 12v in there if needed.
__________________
Tre's
TnT-Fx Custom Graphics
www.tnt-fx.com
Tres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 09:24 AM   #5
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Potato
Does the 16x7v6 have a 12V output? I know it's power supply is weaker, but can I still use it to power fans and stuff?
why do that...just get the 16x5V6..and you can use any power supply you want.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 01:53 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Anybody know of a place in the US that sells the 16x9v6 or 16x5v6 in the US cheaper than speedtech rc? I dont want a CDC version because it will have no warrenty and it seems like some of them come with faulty parts, so Id just like to be safe.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 01:55 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

16x9v6 ebay $225.00 + s/h
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 02:47 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Id pay the Extra $25 to buy it from speedtech, I dont feel comfortable buying on ebay.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 02:50 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Oh also will I need a motor dyno to run a lathe off of the 16x9v6, or is there any other way I can run a lathe off of it?
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 02:53 PM   #10
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
Oh also will I need a motor dyno to run a lathe off of the 16x9v6, or is there any other way I can run a lathe off of it?
yes you need the motor dyno if you're running a lathe.

but if you have the Cobra Mod lathe...just get the powerbase module...same with some of the Integy lathes as well...
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 09:20 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Do you think I should get the 16x9v6 or a 16x5v6 with one of those $17 13amp power supplies off of ebay. Id guess the 16x9v6 has a better power supply built in? I dont have great electrical skills so I dont know if one of those p/s's would be a good Idea for me anyway. I just like the size and looks of the 16x5v6 better.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 09:28 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
JusBox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central VA
Posts: 2,170
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
Do you think I should get the 16x9v6 or a 16x5v6 with one of those $17 13amp power supplies off of ebay. Id guess the 16x9v6 has a better power supply built in? I dont have great electrical skills so I dont know if one of those p/s's would be a good Idea for me anyway. I just like the size and looks of the 16x5v6 better.
The supplies off ebay are high quality. You don't need electrical skills, just the ability to screw three wires onto posts for the power cord.
JusBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2003, 10:21 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
SOuthernFRIED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Olive Branch,MS
Posts: 1,234
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Ok, so what kind of power supply do we look for on Ebay? Most of the computer power supplies are listed in watts.What specs should we look for?
SOuthernFRIED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 12:12 AM   #14
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Is this the one you're talking about? Do you have one so you can vouch for its quality? Do you think its up to par with the 14 Amp intergy one in the 16x9v6? Can you show us a pic of your wiring configuration?

Thanks
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2003, 09:40 AM   #15
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AE Racer
Is this the one you're talking about? Do you have one so you can vouch for its quality? Do you think its up to par with the 14 Amp intergy one in the 16x9v6? Can you show us a pic of your wiring configuration?

Thanks
I have one of those and the Integy as well... It will work fine.
I use it for home...and use the Integy at the track.
you'll need 3 prong wiring... Black is hot, white is neutral, and green is ground.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advantages of on-road kjkiller Nitro On-Road 15 08-03-2006 07:59 PM
advantages of ESC upgrade, Rod M Electric On-Road 5 08-30-2005 07:03 AM
WTB 16x7 pro, 16x7v6, or 16x9v6 corvettecrazy R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 07-20-2004 10:28 PM
What truly is the BEST Touring Car, and what are the advantages of each??? fastcarz Electric On-Road 16 12-10-2003 09:30 AM
AAC set-advantages EdwardN Nitro On-Road 15 07-03-2003 01:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:44 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net