GP LIPO battery

Old 04-20-2009, 01:37 PM
  #16  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
It's not a typo.If it is a 4000 2S2P pack that means that there are 2 cells X2000mAh in parallel (that gives a total of 3.7v 4000mAh) and 2 more cells X2000mAh in parallel ( other 3.7v 4000mAh).Those two groups in series gives a pack of 7.4v 4000mAh.No need of 5 wires for balancing but only of 3 just because balancing can be done only for cells in series not in parallel.
Interesting. I didn't know you could balance cells in parallel.

BTW: Here's the specs for all of GP's current lipos:
http://www.gpbatteries.com/html/techinfo/LithPly.asp
94eg! is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:00 PM
  #17  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 94eg! View Post
Interesting. I didn't know you could balance cells in parallel.

BTW: Here's the specs for all of GP's current lipos:
http://www.gpbatteries.com/html/techinfo/LithPly.asp
so which cell is in their 4300?
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:07 PM
  #18  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KnR-Racing View Post
Ummm.....OK, so i am not getting my undies all in a bunch over this.
Whats the problem???
It's another lipo pack, no big deal.
GP cells where the cells to have a while back ago (during the 3300 era) and they have somewhat fell off of the map ever since EP and IB started pumping out the 4200's.
a_main_attendee is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:17 PM
  #19  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

hey A-main... I took a 6 year break or so from RC.. and when I left, GP 3300s were it. Now looking around, I see there was a period of time where sedan guys went from 6 cell, to 5. What is taht about? Woudlnt that decrease voltage and make the cars all slower? What did I miss there?
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:25 PM
  #20  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
a_main_attendee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Colorado, USA, The land of the free and the home of the brave!
Posts: 2,880
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
hey A-main... I took a 6 year break or so from RC.. and when I left, GP 3300s were it. Now looking around, I see there was a period of time where sedan guys went from 6 cell, to 5. What is taht about? Woudlnt that decrease voltage and make the cars all slower? What did I miss there?
That's more or less a European thing, but the idea was to limit the speeds in the modified classes as well as to limit the stress on electronics and whatnot due to the stress of running 7.2 volts vs. 6. It basically deminished the raw, nasty rip that mod cars had, yet they where still plenty fast. As far as i know, that was only for the mod class.
a_main_attendee is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 02:27 PM
  #21  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I see i see.. thanks
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 03:54 PM
  #22  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
94eg!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 832
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cpt.America View Post
so which cell is in their 4300?
I don't think it's any of those cells listed. They must have developed something new to keep up with the high discharge current. I suppose it would have to sustain 70amp of continuous discharge to reach their claimed 35c rating (for a 2S2P pack).

I just figured it was good for people to know they actually do produce Lipo cells...
94eg! is offline  
Old 04-20-2009, 04:04 PM
  #23  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Cpt.America's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Washington State
Posts: 11,084
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Yep... I guess we have to assume that the cells inside their lipo pack are actually GP cells. It doesn't seem very "gp" like to outsource the cells in the pack. I think im going to try them out.
Cpt.America is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 03:19 PM
  #24  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Has anyone used these batteries? How do they perform?
JR007 is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 03:29 PM
  #25  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (22)
 
gtfour93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 657
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I was going to get this when shopping for batteries, but went with Intellect 5000mAh instead.
gtfour93 is offline  
Old 11-26-2009, 06:18 PM
  #26  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I used the 4300's all summer and they were great for the price. I won a regional event and some club races with those packs....they are off a bit performance wist to the Thunder Power packs that I am using now but the GP packs are half the price....definately worth the $$
tandman is offline  
Old 10-10-2010, 06:57 AM
  #27  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

i bought one of these, i charged it for the first time and only got 3200mah in it
charged at 3.2 amps

it got half why then started charging really slow

any ideas?
rhysdejager is offline  
Old 10-10-2010, 11:31 AM
  #28  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

Ith either already had charge in it, so you were topping it up only, or your charger is set to cut off at a pre-determined voltage.
I have 2 of these packs. They are the most solid and reliable packs I have used in RC racing.
JR007 is offline  
Old 10-10-2010, 06:40 PM
  #29  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Default

ahhh thank you

my speedy cuts it off at 3.0v how many mah do you think would be left in it?

thanks for the reply btw
rhysdejager is offline  
Old 10-10-2010, 09:46 PM
  #30  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

It's hard to say, as each pack (between and within brands) will have a slightly difference voltage curve. I have never run my packs more than 3000mAh as I only race, and never more than that out by the end of a race.
I'd say most packs should be able to deliver a good 80% of the capacity before a drop off, but that's only my guess based on what i've read.
JR007 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.