Like Tree8Likes

TC3 Forum

Reply

Old 10-08-2002, 01:18 PM
  #2626  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

hey Trinityracinnut--Shoot me that setup or post here. Thanks in advance--Al [email protected]

So are you guys saying that now we should use losi knuckles as well as the rear tower up front?? We're gonna have frankenstein cars pretty soon.
big al is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2002, 05:31 PM
  #2627  
Tech Master
 
psycho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 1,520
Default

TPhalen

Hmmm... ok, thanks. I have a XXX-S, so it will be easy for me to test this out. Thanks for the explaination.
psycho is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2002, 07:56 PM
  #2628  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,340
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Another great thing to use with the XXX-S knuckles, is the use of Exponential on a computer radio, you can use end point adjustment to set your maximum throw on the TC3 ( till the steering rack just barely hits left/right) then use negative Expo say -20%- 50% to de-tune the amount of steering throw during the initial turning of the steering wheel. That way if you do need maximum throw its there to use, just means you have to turn the steering wheel more........it actually wont limit the servo's throw, just the amount it travels versus wheel movement.
hobbipro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2002, 08:21 PM
  #2629  
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,348
Default

I have to use a certain amount of neg-exp because when I do well I start to shake. . .it's actually quite comical. If I'm in the lead, about the only things that aren't shaking are my head and my left hand. . .

I'm not so bad now, and, for some reason, I don't shake at all when I'm driving Nitro - must be the fumes!
Boomer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2002, 08:38 PM
  #2630  
Tech Apprentice
 
gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: k-town
Posts: 85
Default re:

why doesn't associated put pivot ball on the elect. tc3 or do they already have the option to do so ?
gator is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2002, 10:31 PM
  #2631  
Tech Adept
 
Craig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Kansas City Mo
Posts: 231
Default

There is no need for pivot balls on a electric tc.
Craig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 05:37 AM
  #2632  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3
Default tc3tuning guide

can somebody say where i can download the tuning guid or if some body can sent it to me .mij email is [email protected]
asenna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 06:56 AM
  #2633  
Tech Fanatic
 
redsand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicane.
Posts: 855
Default

Originally posted by hobbipro
Another great thing to use with the XXX-S knuckles, is the use of Exponential on a computer radio, you can use end point adjustment to set your maximum throw on the TC3 ( till the steering rack just barely hits left/right) then use negative Expo say -20%- 50% to de-tune the amount of steering throw during the initial turning of the steering wheel. That way if you do need maximum throw its there to use, just means you have to turn the steering wheel more........it actually wont limit the servo's throw, just the amount it travels versus wheel movement.
I'd rather tune the chassis and let the radio settings 100% linear.
I would use the radio to tune the car as a last minute resort, though.

Last edited by redsand; 10-09-2002 at 07:02 AM.
redsand is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 08:06 AM
  #2634  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,928
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

gator: its proably the same reason that X-ray now offers a conversion to get rid of the pivot ball.
Jack Smash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 12:04 PM
  #2635  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hi guys, i just got a tc3.... have any of you tried the rally conversion on it? is it worth the price? Can it be used as an "offroad" 4wd buggy? Can it handle the big jumps?
Aluma is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 01:21 PM
  #2636  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 1
Angry factory team bearings

Hello everybody I am new to the forum I race over in england
and have only one complaint about the car the factory team bearings are rubbish they have only lasted me 6 months even though I only race indoors they became gritty and one even slit down the middle and b4 u ask I am not a wall banger.
Has anybody else had this problem ????...
does anybody else race in england if so where so we can compare setups
ASSOCIATED is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 01:38 PM
  #2637  
Regional Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,329
Default

Which bearings are you refering too? I have the FTTC3 and the only problem I had with the bearings was self induced. I took the seals off the front/rear hub carriers, not a good move. I replaced them with the rubber sealed bearings and haven't had any trouble with them. I do clean them out every other race just to make sure they still flow freely. I also took the seals off the diff bearings and they are still working great for me.
Mike F is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2002, 01:56 PM
  #2638  
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,348
Default

Me as well - I ran, for a time, with no seals and had to do a LOT of maintenance constantly.

I got a new set of the stock AE bearings and have just cleaned them every week (just sprayed and a drop of lube) - the wheel bearings, not the diff ones - and they've been really good. I haven't done much at all to the diff bearings - just cleaned them any time I have reworked the diff (not often. . .) and they've been great.

Are you running outdoors in any kind of dusty environment? If you are, then you will have to do more maintenance. 6 months does not sound like an unreasonable amount of time. I usually replace mine about twice a year. . .They are moving parts and will wear out and do require maintenance. . .
Boomer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2002, 04:30 PM
  #2639  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada.
Posts: 484
Default

After working on my new FT TC3, I have noticed that there is quite a bit of binding between the diff gear and gear that connects the long shaft. Can spare some knowlledge on how to get bind free gears.

I have also noticed that the swaybars pop out of the mounts quite easily. The screws seem quite small to hold it in and there is quite a bit of play aswell. Any help with this would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
rcpilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2002, 05:59 PM
  #2640  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (78)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,178
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

a small washer prevents the swaybar from slipping out of the allen screw head. you may have to grind one side a bit to clear the side of the gearbox cover.
marvi is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service