Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 10-02-2009, 04:14 AM
  #1081  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default Servo Recommendations?

Just got my F104. I haven't started building yet, and I need a servo. How much torque and speed does an F1 car require?

I'm using a Futaba 9551 in my TC. I think that it cost me $80. I'm hoping that I don't have to spend quite that much on a servo for my F104.

Suggestions?
Geppetto is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 05:57 AM
  #1082  
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Originally Posted by veecee View Post
I've added some notes in my post. If you want a more detailed explanation, try the Xray link MaxSp97 posted. This is an excellent, comprehensive guide and will answer most of your questions in detail. And most of the adjustments are very similar to the F104.

Setup is about getting a good compromise so you can drive the car to do the best laps possible. So you are partly right in that a stiff car does have less traction in general but if it is too soft, you can also wash off corner speed and be difficult to drive.
Thank you a lot!

Originally Posted by PIRONI View Post
Thanks, I am thinking starting with the basic no-frill chassis and work upward would be the way to go. This way I can evaluate the impact of any upgrade I make....
Steve
My next "hop-up" will be the rubber tires of the f60.
Oortael is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 06:47 AM
  #1083  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 93
Default

Originally Posted by Geppetto View Post
Just got my F104. I haven't started building yet, and I need a servo. How much torque and speed does an F1 car require?

I'm using a Futaba 9551 in my TC. I think that it cost me $80. I'm hoping that I don't have to spend quite that much on a servo for my F104.

Suggestions?
futaba s3001 will be fine.
but you can use small servo so it can be mounted at an angle, it will reduce bump steer.
look at page 24 (horizontal) and 39 (angled).
krat is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 07:14 AM
  #1084  
Tech Master
iTrader: (35)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by krat View Post
futaba s3001 will be fine.
but you can use small servo so it can be mounted at an angle, it will reduce bump steer.
look at page 24 (horizontal) and 39 (angled).
Thanks Krat. That helps a lot. My biggest concern was knowing where to begin with regard to servo speed and torque specifications.

I would like to take the angle mounted servo approach. When you say small servo, what size (or model) should I look at? There are some really small servos available.
Geppetto is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 07:58 AM
  #1085  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
InZane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 269
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Servos suitable for 1:12 pan cars works fine with the F1 cars - I'm using a JR-Racing Z3550.

InZane is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 10:28 AM
  #1086  
AWK
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
AWK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,021
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Here is a new article by David Jun about his F104 Pro: http://www.tamiyausa.com/articles/fe...article-id=442
AWK is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 11:22 AM
  #1087  
Tech Fanatic
 
akura2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Paramount, CA
Posts: 822
Default

Here's my 104 Pro that I built for the big F1 day at Tamiya last weekend, but couldn't make it due to illness in the family..

And where I notched the chassis so I could use my Orion 3400 LiPo

Super Autobacs...

excuse the crappy photo, I was in a hurry this morning... but I'll get better photos later (you would think that being a professional photographer that I would have taken a better photo... but that will come later)
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-super-autobacs.jpg   Tamiya F104 Pro!-notches.jpg  
akura2 is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 03:02 PM
  #1088  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,277
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Geppetto View Post
Just got my F104. I haven't started building yet, and I need a servo. How much torque and speed does an F1 car require?

I'm using a Futaba 9551 in my TC. I think that it cost me $80. I'm hoping that I don't have to spend quite that much on a servo for my F104.

Suggestions?
KO PROPO
2511,2512 or 2413
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 05:13 PM
  #1089  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know where I can get Brawn GP decals from I am looking all over and nothing. Can anyone make some?
gashuffer is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 05:52 PM
  #1090  
Tech Fanatic
 
akura2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Paramount, CA
Posts: 822
Default

Originally Posted by gashuffer View Post
Does anyone know where I can get Brawn GP decals from I am looking all over and nothing. Can anyone make some?

http://d-drivesportsenglish.com/inde...roducts_id=435
akura2 is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 06:00 PM
  #1091  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 2,113
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Gashuff ...second the ddrive stuff.
I will be at cs tomorrow pushing my rally agenda. You have a f-1?
bring it to wellington one day...we can have a throw down
fat500 is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 06:57 PM
  #1092  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (48)
 
gashuffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: RcVille
Posts: 5,230
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Have one on the way.Where's Wellington? Is that Royal Palm? I wont be able to make it tomorrow to CS I have work, but I am going on Sunday with my M-05.
gashuffer is offline  
Old 10-02-2009, 07:04 PM
  #1093  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 2,113
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

yes that is RP. later, fat
fat500 is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 04:13 AM
  #1094  
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 361
Default

I have an F103 which I almost never ran, although I bought some spares and extra wheels for it.
I'm thinking about getting serious with racing with the F-cars and about selling the F103 and replacing it for a new F104 (pro).
I think I read somewhere that the F104-wheels differ in dimensions (slimmer but more important; also another diameter)

Is it possible to use some parts/spares from the F103 on the F104 and even more particular will the F103-wheels fit the F104?

thx for all info/advice
Low_E is offline  
Old 10-03-2009, 07:04 AM
  #1095  
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Originally Posted by CarKing View Post
Here is a new article by David Jun about his F104 Pro:[/url]
The part about the diff was very intressting. I could now fix my problems on low grip tracks.

@low_e: rear tires should fit F104. Anywhere in this thread is a solution for your front tires.
Oortael is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.