Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree16Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 07-31-2018, 06:19 PM
  #9421  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default

Any help on the caster you guys run? Mostly
5th wheel is offline  
Old 11-18-2018, 05:48 PM
  #9422  
Tech Master
 
5th wheel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,084
Default

I need to raise my ride height in the rear I have the front at 5 1/2 mm but the rear I can’t get over 4 1/2 what am I missing here F104 asphalt track some what rough bumpy. Any help thanks.
5th wheel is offline  
Old 12-02-2018, 05:06 PM
  #9423  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
Default

All, hoping someone can help with a build issue...this is an F104 v2 pro. when I build the rear axle/diff there is a wobble on the drive side, very noticeable with the wheel on. I've tried just going back through the build steps over to see if I perhaps missed something with no luck. Looks like everything is seated correctly. Any thoughts/suggestions are welcome.
JerseyGTS is offline  
Old 12-02-2018, 05:44 PM
  #9424  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (51)
 
fat500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Boca Raton, florida
Posts: 2,396
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

check to make sure that your diff rings are seated properly. this would cause this. hard to notice but easy to do( put a dab of grease in the diff ring b4 you assemble it. this will hold it to the drive hub)

Last edited by fat500; 12-02-2018 at 05:46 PM. Reason: add
fat500 is offline  
Old 12-03-2018, 12:41 PM
  #9425  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,908
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 5th wheel
I need to raise my ride height in the rear I have the front at 5 1/2 mm but the rear I canít get over 4 1/2 what am I missing here F104 asphalt track some what rough bumpy. Any help thanks.
If you've got the proper adjuster inserts installed and you are maxed out it seems it would come down to tire diameter, some being smaller than others but not too much difference.
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 12-03-2018, 01:47 PM
  #9426  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 2,313
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So, who knows anything about tuning a damper pad car, instead of one of the damper tube cars? I have a F104w, and I would love to know tips on how to make it work well.
Nerobro is offline  
Old 12-03-2018, 07:39 PM
  #9427  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,908
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I've had a good running 104 a time or two.
I went with this:
Soft feel in the rear, firm in the front.
Car wants to over steer
Damper pad set very loose, just enough spring tension to take play out of spring.
Put an o ring on top of the threaded post or AW grease on the threads to keep nut from coming off causing you to take the walk of shame to go find it on the track.
Light dab of AE diff grease on lower pad only.
Slinky gold shock spring, light 20 w oil.
That's how I ran my damper pad setup
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 12-09-2018, 01:04 PM
  #9428  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 48
Default

question for everyone...I need to replace the frotg upper suspension arms (long story), part tree F in the kit. i'm not finding it available in searches (TQ racing seems to have the best availability and they are out of stock). anyone know if the TRF103 arms will work? Or any other suggestions?

found at liquid rc

Last edited by JerseyGTS; 12-09-2018 at 01:18 PM. Reason: found answer
JerseyGTS is offline  
Old 03-12-2024, 10:58 AM
  #9429  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Scionara05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South nj
Posts: 1,338
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just got a f104 pro vll to run f1 after 6 yrs. What is a good start setup for asphalt. Track is jackson nj where tcs is at

Last edited by Scionara05; 03-20-2024 at 02:29 PM.
Scionara05 is offline  
Old 03-18-2024, 08:25 PM
  #9430  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Scionara05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: South nj
Posts: 1,338
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How are you all setting up your electronics package. I have a hard time putting a standard stick pack let alone a shorty using the electronics wing mounts installed. Pics would help tia
Scionara05 is offline  
Old 03-18-2024, 10:47 PM
  #9431  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 76
Default


It’s a bit of a puzzle..
LordSchnert is offline  
Old 03-18-2024, 11:04 PM
  #9432  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 76
Default

The plastic wings are actually in the way when you try to use a shorty pack.. so I removed them.. the front right standoff is now held in with a thumb screw to keep the shorty in place.. removing the standoff allows you to swing in/out a shorty pack..
LordSchnert is offline  
Old 03-18-2024, 11:05 PM
  #9433  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 76
Default


LordSchnert is offline  
Old 03-18-2024, 11:06 PM
  #9434  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 76
Default


angrymelon and tommy911t like this.
LordSchnert is offline  
Old 03-19-2024, 09:46 PM
  #9435  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 2,357
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

On my F104 cars with the movable electronic mounting points, I am using a Protek 5000mah "stick pack" lipo. Because the pack is rouned, the battery clears the lock nut on the bottom right side of the chassis. There is a picture of my car earlier in this thread. Here is a link...

1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever...
IndyRC_Racer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.