Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 12-17-2012, 05:25 PM
  #9076  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
The Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Pics. I had removed 2 of the chassis standoffs during practice to see if I got any more flex, but didn't really notice much of a difference.



The Captain is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 12:09 AM
  #9077  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia.
Posts: 1,097
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yeah sorry everyone, got confused with all my other R/C race cars. You are all right, you cannot adjust the rear camber.
-Adz- is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 01:56 PM
  #9078  
Tech Adept
 
5VoltDetonator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 163
Default

Originally Posted by The Captain View Post
Pics. I had removed 2 of the chassis standoffs during practice to see if I got any more flex, but didn't really notice much of a difference.
]
I'm new the F104 pro also. I was having alot of problems with spinning out get on power coming out of corners.

First thing that helped was getting the diff set correctly like this- ( Texastx explained it like this ) - make sure that the diff action is smooth, spin one tire while holding the spur still should spin the other tire the opposite direction. And if you hold both tires have the diff just tight enough to where you cannot move the spur with your thumb. There is a fine line between too loose and too tight. I like to tighten all the way, and then loosen it a quarter turn at a time, until I can barely move the spur, and then tighten it back about 1/8-1/4 a turn. You don't want it to slip, but it has to be loose enough to where its not binding.

The other thing I did was to set the front wheels with about 2-3 deg toe out. I read it somewhere, cant rememberr where ? Maybe an Australian F1 site. This helped my spinning out problems the most I think.

Also try to make sure the pod is built perfect.

I also removed the middle screw on the t-plate it gave me more rear movement.
5VoltDetonator is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 04:30 AM
  #9079  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
jsr555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Aus.
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default 3Racing rear wing

I am new to F1 and was just wondering if somebody could confirm for me if the 3Racing F1 rear wing set, this one

http://www.rcmart.com/3racing-lexan-...h=595_744_1390

Will fit the F104 Pro..? I was just concerned over the width of it.

thanks.

Last edited by jsr555; 12-20-2012 at 12:29 PM.
jsr555 is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 01:20 PM
  #9080  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Plz PM If ne1 got f104x1 for sale. Thx.
edhchoe is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 04:29 PM
  #9081  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 1,015
Default

Originally Posted by jsr555 View Post
I am new to F1 and was just wondering if somebody could confirm for me if the 3Racing F1 rear wing set, this one

Will fit the F104 Pro..? I was just concerned over the width of it.

thanks.
It's a repackaged Cross/TRG wing so it is pretty huge. My TRG version which clears the tyres easily on an F103 was tried on an F104 and rubbed against the inside of the tyres so the wheels might need a little bit of spacing apart or the sides of the wing trimmed to clear the tyres.
terry.sc is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 11:15 PM
  #9082  
Tech Regular
 
kneedeeppow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: new zealand
Posts: 307
Default

Originally Posted by 5VoltDetonator View Post
I'm new the F104 pro also. I was having alot of problems with spinning out get on power coming out of corners.

The other thing I did was to set the front wheels with about 2-3 deg toe out. I read it somewhere, cant rememberr where ? Maybe an Australian F1 site. This helped my spinning out problems the most I think.
if your using kit foam tires,they are a softer compound and the fronts can generate alot of grip to the point of out turning the rear. alot depends on running surface and tire selection to get the most of car stuck. diff is definatly an important factor but tire choice is very big
kneedeeppow is offline  
Old 12-21-2012, 06:07 PM
  #9083  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default



Does this look right for 60mm diameter tire?

Last edited by edhchoe; 12-21-2012 at 06:26 PM.
edhchoe is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 01:01 PM
  #9084  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
The Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default



As you can see, I cannot run my battery all the way back, as the bullet connectors would be covered up by the upper deck. What I want to do is trim the upper deck just after the front standoff (in line with the "d" in reedy), so the bullets are not covered. Will this e ffect the handling in a negative way? I'm thinking it will cause more flex, which might be a good thing.

I dont want to buy a shorty lipo until I know the class will take off locally.
The Captain is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 02:05 PM
  #9085  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,180
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Yes you can.
Use the short upper deck and shorties or the full size lipo the other way around.

regards Roy


Originally Posted by The Captain View Post


As you can see, I cannot run my battery all the way back, as the bullet connectors would be covered up by the upper deck. What I want to do is trim the upper deck just after the front standoff (in line with the "d" in reedy), so the bullets are not covered. Will this e ffect the handling in a negative way? I'm thinking it will cause more flex, which might be a good thing.

I dont want to buy a shorty lipo until I know the class will take off locally.
Pro10noob is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 02:09 PM
  #9086  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (5)
 
The Captain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 954
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Yes you can.
Use the short upper deck and shorties or the full size lipo the other way around.

regards Roy
Ill be getting a shorty lipo if the class becomes consistent. So far no one has shown up to race them at my local track So in the meantime ill just cut off the front part of the top deck so my bullets are accessible and run it like that.

For future reference, what shorty lipos fit the f104pro well in stock form? I'd like to be able to run my esc (Novak edge) and rx (futaba) down the center of the chassis.
The Captain is offline  
Old 12-30-2012, 02:14 PM
  #9087  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,180
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I run my F104Pro wide with the silverback 4200MAH shorties they use on the ETS races.
This with the short topdeck and a little foam cushion between the lipo and battery holder at the rear.
I block the shorty by using some wheel balance lead or the ESC/reciever.
Works like a charm.

Regards Roy





Originally Posted by The Captain View Post
Ill be getting a shorty lipo if the class becomes consistent. So far no one has shown up to race them at my local track So in the meantime ill just cut off the front part of the top deck so my bullets are accessible and run it like that.

For future reference, what shorty lipos fit the f104pro well in stock form? I'd like to be able to run my esc (Novak edge) and rx (futaba) down the center of the chassis.
Pro10noob is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 01:03 PM
  #9088  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Looking for some help I bought the Aluminum spacer set for my F1R and I am trying to get it set to 5mm ride height in the front. Does anyone have the combination? Total F1 noob here.
dfiantii is offline  
Old 01-02-2013, 03:41 PM
  #9089  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 311
Default

Thats my semi Sybrand-F104X1 with 0571/0575 Shimizus for the cold winter weather. Pro10noob i see you use only the rear tire warmers, i have seen this with proten pancars with foams, does it give good results also with rubbers?

[IMG][/IMG]
rokosam is offline  
Old 01-07-2013, 08:28 AM
  #9090  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (14)
 
rimracker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southington CT
Posts: 686
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Can anybody post up a pic or two of the X1 body, I would like to see how you cut the body for the side damper. I would just like an idea before I take my dremel to it. It looks like I need to do both sides?
rimracker is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.