Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 06-25-2012, 12:59 PM
  #8566  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dfx View Post
Sorry for the stupid question but does it mean drill the 1mm hole through the whole plastic part (damper cap)? Don't own V2 yet but it should help in the future...
Thanks
The cap is marked with a dot, the instructions show how, hard to explain more without a picture
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 01:51 PM
  #8567  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,098
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
The cap is marked with a dot, the instructions show how, hard to explain more without a picture
I have been wondering this too, I see the instuctions shows the dot and where to drill. What I don't get is do you drill ALL the way through the cap or do you just drill depth until it hits a channel in the cap?
JayL is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 01:59 PM
  #8568  
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Yes, I do have pdf manual of V2 which shows how build that shock but my first thought was doesn't it make that part weak? So make a 1mm hole through or make the hole of some depth? I know that the second "theory" maybe sounds weird but...

EDIT: JayL desribed it nicely with the channel for the damper shaft.
dfx is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 03:14 PM
  #8569  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JayL View Post
I have been wondering this too, I see the instuctions shows the dot and where to drill. What I don't get is do you Drill ALL the way through the cap or do you just drill depth until it hits a channel in the cap?
This ^
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 04:10 PM
  #8570  
Tech Master
 
malcnz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: CHRISTCHURCH, NewZealand
Posts: 1,339
Default

I drilled mine all the way thru and wondering now what difference it will make?
my hole probably wasnt a 1mm hole if that matters..probably .5mm if that.
malcnz is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 07:18 PM
  #8571  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

looking for steel shaft for tamiya f104, anybody selling? preferable brand new
vintage boy is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 08:12 PM
  #8572  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vintage boy View Post
looking for steel shaft for tamiya f104, anybody selling? preferable brand new
yeah racing have a new spring steel shaft. which are like $4 usd from rcmart
I)arkness is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 08:43 PM
  #8573  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,906
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vintage boy View Post
looking for steel shaft for tamiya f104, anybody selling? preferable brand new
Here ya go.

http://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/produ...on_id=&pg_no=1
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 06-25-2012, 11:07 PM
  #8574  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info fn cuda and darkness
vintage boy is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 03:21 AM
  #8575  
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
This -> just drill depth until it hits a channel in the cap
Thanks! If I didn't asked I would drill it all the way through...
dfx is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 07:24 AM
  #8576  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (226)
 
skengines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Blah Vegas
Posts: 5,296
Trader Rating: 226 (100%+)
Default

Here is my F104 Pro. As you can see I didn't mount my electronics like shown in the manual. I actually saw pics of RedBull's car and mounted all my electronics inline. I also stood my servo up, using a Kimbrough servo saver. Car is really fun to drive.

RedBull- If there is anything you can think of that needs improvement. Please let me know! I added a few ball stud washers to level out the arms, but not sure if there is anything else I'm missing.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-img_20120625_204657.jpg  
skengines is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 09:50 AM
  #8577  
R/C Tech Elite Member
 
JayL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 3,098
Default

guys running the tamiya alum rear body mounts with the F60 body:
http://www.tamiyausa.com/product/ite...oduct-id=54200

How much shimming do you have under the mount? I have been running 4mm but just went to 5mm to try.

Rubber, asphalt
JayL is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 10:11 AM
  #8578  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (18)
 
dfiantii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Arlington, Tx
Posts: 820
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by skengines View Post
Here is my F104 Pro. As you can see I didn't mount my electronics like shown in the manual. I actually saw pics of RedBull's car and mounted all my electronics inline. I also stood my servo up, using a Kimbrough servo saver. Car is really fun to drive.

RedBull- If there is anything you can think of that needs improvement. Please let me know! I added a few ball stud washers to level out the arms, but not sure if there is anything else I'm missing.
All you need now is the new nose brace that Exotek released.
dfiantii is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 04:39 PM
  #8579  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

skengines, i like your setup, is that a shorty lipo?, ill make my f1 just like yours
vintage boy is offline  
Old 06-26-2012, 05:00 PM
  #8580  
Tech Elite
 
theDover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ROAR Region 8 Kansas
Posts: 2,995
Default

One thing I've never understood..
I noticed in skengines photo, some people mount the Shock inverted or up-side-down. Would someone please elaborate or explain the change or the difference in the rear performance?
theDover is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.