Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 02-13-2012, 08:35 AM
  #7696  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the info guys .....im not in the mood to change all that stuff so what im gonna do is just take everything out servo and everything ....and mount the servo per manual and just use the full front end from my f104W.....that way when my Rsector stuff comes in i can just directly put my f104 X1 front end back in with the servo mounted the way i like. I dont have the longer turnbuckles except for the flimsy steering links that come with the W kit so it just makes sense to do it this way.
theatriks is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 09:07 AM
  #7697  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
wwddww34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,560
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

.

Last edited by wwddww34; 02-14-2012 at 08:45 AM.
wwddww34 is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 09:36 AM
  #7698  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,906
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Thanks for the info guys .....im not in the mood to change all that stuff so what im gonna do is just take everything out servo and everything ....and mount the servo per manual and just use the full front end from my f104W.....

Wait, you already have the F104W frontend? It is the same as the F103.
Just bolt it on, adjust the servo if needed afterward.
There are only 2 frontends, 103 and 104.
The 103 assembly is what turns the 104 into the "W"/wide car.
The 104W uses the same servo mounts as the 104.
Still need long turnbuckles.
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 11:11 AM
  #7699  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F N CUDA View Post

Wait, you already have the F104W frontend? It is the same as the F103.
Justs to see bolt it on, adjust the servo if needed afterward.
There are only 2 frontends, 103 and 104.
The 103 assembly is what turns the 104 into the "W"/wide car.
The 104W uses the same servo mounts as the 104.
Still need long turnbuckles.
Ya sorry for the confusion basically my only problem was those turnbuckles ,,,,and i didnt want to go buy longer ones so thats why i was asking for pic to see if anybody made it work without buying longer turnbuckles. I should have explained myself better
theatriks is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 11:59 AM
  #7700  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (22)
 
gtfour93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 657
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Ya sorry for the confusion basically my only problem was those turnbuckles ,,,,and i didnt want to go buy longer ones so thats why i was asking for pic to see if anybody made it work without buying longer turnbuckles. I should have explained myself better
Just pick up one of these and your problem is solved.

gtfour93 is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:27 PM
  #7701  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 33
Default

ok, remember when we talk about wider axle... let's say I found one at home and I also found some 50mm rear tires... which means that I can't wait until next race... 206mm front and 215 mm rear axle... I have homemade reduction for 50mm tires (they use 4 screws) but we are gonna to buy a new part of the diff itself to use 4 screws tires... (one set to try it) so i should end with about 205 mm rear axle...
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya F104 Pro!-p1080840.jpg  
SquirrelCZE is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:47 PM
  #7702  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gtfour93 View Post
Just pick up one of these and your problem is solved.

Ya thanks i probably will order those just to have but i race on sunday and i needed a solution by then .....and i know my LHS wouldnt have those.
theatriks is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 01:29 PM
  #7703  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,906
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I'll bet your hobby shop has 3mm threaded rod that you can cut to length and screw the ball cups on to.
Only downside is that you will need to pop one end off to make adjustments when necessary but I've done this and it aint all that terrible.
Gets you on the track right now.
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 02:47 PM
  #7704  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

To get a wider car for the time I have been using shims from my old corrally don't know if this is as good as converting but has assisted me in getting better stability on asphalt.
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 02:48 PM
  #7705  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

The 3 racing titanium turn buckles are very good also I got these on all my cars at the moment and not had any problems with them if your looking for longer ones
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 04:14 PM
  #7706  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,621
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by F N CUDA View Post
I'll bet your hobby shop has 3mm threaded rod that you can cut to length and screw the ball cups on to.
Only downside is that you will need to pop one end off to make adjustments when necessary but I've done this and it aint all that terrible.
Gets you on the track right now.
Well im gonna check ...good idea.....are the f104w steering links that bad to race with?
theatriks is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 06:28 PM
  #7707  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

It doesn't even have to be 3mm...4-40 will work as well. Typically I use standard Lunsford turnbuckles and AE ball cups and just replace the ball studs with standard ones. Even some metric ones are close enough to use the AE ball cup.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 07:37 PM
  #7708  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,906
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Well im gonna check ...good idea.....are the f104w steering links that bad to race with?
If they have those lame s hooks on the servo saver end then yeh, that's pretty weak.
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 03:57 AM
  #7709  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (26)
 
rays_tt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys, in terms of rubber tyres would you recommend getting Ride or Shimizu's?

I'm after the best gripping rubber tyres.

Or is there something better than ride'/shimizu's I should be looking into?

Thanks in advance for the help & apologies if this has been answered before
rays_tt is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 04:43 AM
  #7710  
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by SquirrelCZE View Post
...and I also found some 50mm rear tires... which means that I can't wait until next race...
Don't know Your local track rules, but in some other championchips is this illegal. The rules are usualy like only F1 tires allowed and max. width 45mm (F103 size)...
dfx is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.