Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 02-12-2012, 02:49 PM
  #7681  
Tech Initiate
 
ioyasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: chatham ont canada
Posts: 40
Default

Originally Posted by Howler View Post
Hey all, I have what seems to be a HUGE dilemma. I destroyed my X1 today with a lick to the wall(Broken T-plate, Pod, and Damper tube), and I was trying to find a part number for the inner roll damper piston(the white plastic portion) that I shattered. Unfortunately, my parts listing shows the part with a code of BC18 w/o a number, accept for a small clover underneath it. (don't know if that means good luck finding one, lol).

I've looked on ebay, googled it, and looked on several other parts sites without any luck . Am I going to have to order an entire top deck plate from tamiya just to get this part, or does anybody know where I can just get the damper assembly by itself? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
the only way to get that tube is to get a hole new upper kit .i have broken mine to .what you can do is get the tube kit from crc gen x car kit and shortin the aluminim tube cut one ring of plastic and drill out cup holder for tamiya threads ,is a lot cheaper ,or like me dont hit shi. so hard
ioyasm is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 04:46 PM
  #7682  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yep would agree my car not like hitting stuff either I certainly don't blame my driving I just question who put the obstical there to start
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 04:51 PM
  #7683  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Stockport, UK
Posts: 1,015
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Well my concern is more with servo mounting ...ive got mine facing up to eliviate bump steer ....do i need to remount mount it because the height of the f103 front end seems lower....and is there any camber adjustement with the f103 front end?
Never liked mounting it facing up myself because of what it does to the ackermann, but each to their own. The F104 servo is supposed to be mounted vertically like the F103, so if you have mounted it flat then the linkages should line up much the same as on the F104 or easily adjusted by shims if necessary.

There is no adjustments at all on the F103 front end, all you can do is change the springs and preload. Keeps things nice and simple. If you want adjustment get the 3Racing F109 front end and alloy caster mount, has both caster and camber adjustments. I used to run an F109, but mounted the F103 front end on it as it was more consistent then the F109 one.
terry.sc is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 05:33 PM
  #7684  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by terry.sc View Post
There is no adjustments at all on the F103 front end, all you can do is change the springs and preload. Keeps things nice and simple. If you want adjustment get the 3Racing F109 front end and alloy caster mount, has both caster and camber adjustments. I used to run an F109, but mounted the F103 front end on it as it was more consistent then the F109 one.
Did the same, too many adjustments and too much play.
texastc is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 06:25 PM
  #7685  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
KidFrost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 84
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

sweet
KidFrost is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 06:47 PM
  #7686  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

having run on the weekend using a friends f104x1 and ended up winning. i was amazed as i don't really have that much of an idea on how to setup the chassis.

i was chasing corner entry turn-in all day. went from gold to silver springs, helped a little, also tried more camber. but was still lacking.

is there something i can do to achieve this, or should i just run a softer front tyre
I)arkness is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 08:45 PM
  #7687  
Tech Fanatic
 
Howler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wi
Posts: 882
Default

Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
having run on the weekend using a friends f104x1 and ended up winning. i was amazed as i don't really have that much of an idea on how to setup the chassis.

i was chasing corner entry turn-in all day. went from gold to silver springs, helped a little, also tried more camber. but was still lacking.

is there something i can do to achieve this, or should i just run a softer front tyre
I raised the rear ride height of the car. Was amazed at how much better it tracked into the corner on power.
Howler is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 09:26 PM
  #7688  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (26)
 
mkennedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: las vegas
Posts: 506
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
having run on the weekend using a friends f104x1 and ended up winning. i was amazed as i don't really have that much of an idea on how to setup the chassis.

i was chasing corner entry turn-in all day. went from gold to silver springs, helped a little, also tried more camber. but was still lacking.

is there something i can do to achieve this, or should i just run a softer front tyre
try raising the center of the car(spring pre-load) and make sure the diff isnt too tight
mkennedy is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 11:06 PM
  #7689  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,906
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mkennedy View Post
try raising the center of the car(spring pre-load) and make sure the diff isnt too tight
This helped me last weekend and also kept the rear grip, thanks Mike.
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 02-12-2012, 11:24 PM
  #7690  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,906
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Well my concern is more with servo mounting ...ive got mine facing up to eliviate bump steer ....do i need to remount mount it because the height of the f103 front end seems lower....and is there any camber adjustement with the f103 front end?
Leave the servo as it is, same side plates and you can use the same front battery brace, as in the pic shown a few posts back.
Can use the same uprights/spindles (or the 3.5 offsets you asked about)but will need to shorten or replace the kingpins as also mentioned recently.
And of course the longer tierods, just unscrewing the ballcup ends will be sketchy cuz the threads will be nearly all the way out.
There's really not much involved, take a close look at all the recent info listed here in the past couple pages.
F N CUDA is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:45 AM
  #7691  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 15
Default

@I)arkness

hudy setup

at the last pages there is a diagram with everything you should do with priority level depending on the problem you have.

wet
height front 3
height rear 4
silver (soft) springs front
red (soft) spring rear a bit tight, 600silicone
a bit loosen tbar middle screw (1.5mm tbar)
camber 1.5
toe 0 to +1 depending on the track (chicanes, S etc)
& diff grease RB
diff not blocked (not too tight)

sunny
everything the same except front springs gold (medium)
and diff a little bit blocked

ps: Softer front tires, helps for sure.
ps1: now that is cold and wet we use at the track shimizu ps 0561 front ps0565 Rear on ride wheels. Works great! Above 20C forget it. Ideal conditions. temperature 5-15C and wet track.

Last edited by jlask; 02-13-2012 at 01:10 AM.
jlask is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:52 AM
  #7692  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jlask View Post
@I)arkness

hudy setup

at the last pages there is a diagram with everything you should do with priority level depending on the problem you have.

wet
height front 3
height rear 4
silver (soft) springs front
red (soft) spring rear a bit tight, 600silicone
a bit loosen tbar middle screw (1.5mm tbar)
camber 1.5
toe 0 to +1 depending on the track
& diff grease RB
diff not blocked (not too tight)

sunny
everything the same except front springs gold (medium)
and diff a little bit blocked
yeah i know about setting up touring cars and minis, but dont have a clue on f1's

thanks everyone for the tips/ advice.

at least i now have somewhat of an idea of what to do.

cheers
I)arkness is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 12:55 AM
  #7693  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Default

agree
procomphys is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 02:13 AM
  #7694  
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
Well my concern is more with servo mounting ...ive got mine facing up to eliviate bump steer ....do i need to remount mount it because the height of the f103 front end seems lower....and is there any camber adjustement with the f103 front end?
This picture from Exotek should help... You'll need post in place of the rear part of F104 lower arms.

dfx is offline  
Old 02-13-2012, 04:56 AM
  #7695  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (67)
 
Taman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GC, Aust
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Howler View Post
Hey all, I have what seems to be a HUGE dilemma. I destroyed my X1 today with a lick to the wall(Broken T-plate, Pod, and Damper tube), and I was trying to find a part number for the inner roll damper piston(the white plastic portion) that I shattered. Unfortunately, my parts listing shows the part with a code of BC18 w/o a number, accept for a small clover underneath it. (don't know if that means good luck finding one, lol).
Hi mate, not sure if this will help but the new damper that fits the RM-01 apparently also fits the F104X1 - 54342 RM-01 Aluminum Roll Damper Set. It's an oil filled damper so it's not exactly the peice your after but it may be a better option.

Stellamodels.net has it on their web pages, great place to shop with good prices.
Taman is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.