Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya F104 Pro! >

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Like Tree12Likes

Tamiya F104 Pro!

Old 01-18-2012, 04:40 AM
  #7426  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
mattwoodcraft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: perth / australia
Posts: 2,747
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dfx View Post
How do You guys measure caster when building custom made link setup? Is there any accurate and simple solution?
i measure it now with a camber gauge no wheels and measure the angle of the hub, before a made the conversion i measured what i had and then done the TRG conversion that was posted a few pages back. it has really made a positive difference with the set up i have i use 9 degrees with the way i measure it at the moment
mattwoodcraft is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 05:21 AM
  #7427  
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
I have seen people use there TC setup system with a adaptor for the f1 axle.
Other use a camber gauge when the tires are mounted.
Caster adjustment is another thing.
regards Roy
But TC front caster is adjusted by changing hub carrier (C-hub), isn't it? I need to measure angle of a king pin (from horizontal line) to make the wide link setup as much as possible similar to my narrow F104 setup. With plastic camber plate it should be 0,5 of camber and 3-4 of caster. I'm not sure about caster.

BTW trying to build something like this...
dfx is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 08:36 AM
  #7428  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

With that setup and you change one of the links it will affect the other settings also.
You can check caster with the camber gauge.
Put the car on a flat surface with the axles in the air without wheels.
Put the camber gauge next to the side of the car and adjust it to the point that it is parrallel to the kingpin.
That is how you read it in degrees
Simple and effective

regards Roy
Pro10noob is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 10:02 AM
  #7429  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,829
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use??? Any recommendations!!
Thanks
idbdoug
idbdoug is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 10:40 AM
  #7430  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,160
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

I've got a reedy 628 in mine. 5500 mah.
Odin544 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 11:07 AM
  #7431  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 962
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use??? Any recommendations!!
Thanks
idbdoug
All depends on the shape of the Lipo; I am running a more squared off Gens-Ace 5000mah but I have to remove screws to get it in and out of the chassis.

If you dont mind taking out 3 screws then I'm sure up to a 5600mah batter will fit.
nrtv20 is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 01:06 PM
  #7432  
dfx
Tech Adept
 
dfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 131
Default

Originally Posted by mattwoodcraft View Post
i measure it now with a camber gauge no wheels and measure the angle of the hub...
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
You can check caster with the camber gauge.
Put the car on a flat surface with the axles in the air without wheels.
Put the camber gauge next to the side of the car and adjust it to the point that it is parrallel to the kingpin.
That is how you read it in degrees
I'll give a try. Only thing is that I'm not sure how many degrees my setup sys shows...



Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use???
IP 5800 T-plug hard case might fit stock setup but I'm not sure about changing battery. Our club member has this battery in car and said no mods needed. BTW post are 26mm so max. height of a pack is 26mm and 47mm case fits in between stock post from left to right (cutting some plastic from trays or sticking electronics to battery needed).
dfx is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 01:14 PM
  #7433  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
idbdoug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Above FltLevel300
Posts: 1,829
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nrtv20 View Post
All depends on the shape of the Lipo; I am running a more squared off Gens-Ace 5000mah but I have to remove screws to get it in and out of the chassis.

If you dont mind taking out 3 screws then I'm sure up to a 5600mah batter will fit.
Ok, thanks
idbdoug
idbdoug is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 03:07 PM
  #7434  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default Gearing

Hi guys,

Just a quick question, I've been looking around trying to find out but I'm not having much luck..

What pitch is the gearing on the F104W? Is it 48dp or MOD 4 or MOD 6 or something else?

Any help much appreciated,

Thanks,

Joe.
Joe_K is offline  
Old 01-18-2012, 03:43 PM
  #7435  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
texastc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Forney Texas
Posts: 1,657
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by idbdoug View Post
With a stock f104pro, what is the largest mah lipo that i can use??? Any recommendations!!
Thanks
idbdoug
Did you get it? Let's see it! Hope you have it out Saturday
texastc is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 12:07 AM
  #7436  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 15
Default

a nice video from xtremespeedways @ Heraklion/Crete.

Tamiya f104 x1 shimizu tires 8.5T BL 3.2 Gear Ratio

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
jlask is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 01:13 AM
  #7437  
Tech Regular
 
tudor_47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 345
Default

Originally Posted by jlask View Post
a nice video from xtremespeedways @ Heraklion/Crete.

Tamiya f104 x1 shimizu tires 8.5T BL 3.2 Gear Ratio

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
Very nive!
Refreshing to see someone driving with a little more motor in the cars... reading the forums you could easy come to think that it is only 21.5 or 17.5t motors in these cars...
And driving in the wet too!

What type of ESC are you using and is it waterproof?
tudor_47 is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 01:23 AM
  #7438  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
jake95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: sydney
Posts: 669
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

hi
i got a standard f104 i wanted to know if the f109 diff will fit in it
thanks
jake
jake95 is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 03:27 AM
  #7439  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Default

hey. y is it that every f1 uses foam tyres but touring cars are better with rubber?
mitchie is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 04:13 AM
  #7440  
Tech Master
 
NiMo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Luton, England
Posts: 1,704
Default

Originally Posted by mitchie View Post
hey. y is it that every f1 uses foam tyres but touring cars are better with rubber?
2wd and 4wd.
TC used to run foam here in early days (late 90's) but then the rules got change to rubber to reduce costs (yeah right).
2wd not so easy to use on rubber (not actually rubber anymore) outdoors and the current rules have not yet said we cant use foam.

Nitro TC runs Foam, but electric TC runs pretend Rubber (Latex I think it is now)
NiMo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.